The Fairfield Library first opened its doors August 2, 1954, in a small brick house on the Courthouse square with just 224 books. In 1957, the library moved to the rear of the History Club clubhouse with hours from 4:00-5:30 Thursday afternoon. The library had 400 books for children and was in possession of some shelving, printed stationery, a card catalog, and $10 in cash.

In 1974, the City of Fairfield began to support the Library and by 1977, the Fairfield Library had satisfied all the requirements for accreditation as a member of the Texas Library System. A matching grant of $125,000 from the Moody Foundation in 1979 enabled the construction of a new 5,300 square foot library building. In August of 1981, with a good deal of local support, a new library opened. Through generous efforts from many families in the community and a donation of the Moody Grant Foundation, the Fairfield Library became a place where families could spend time together reading and enjoying the abundant resources. In 2017, the Fairfield Library received a $50,000 award from the Tocker Foundation for a major furniture update.

In 2018, the Fairfield Library received a Tocker Foundation grant to partner with the Freestone County Historical Museum to add the Freestone County Area Newspapers to The Portal to Texas History.

Contact

Help Desk

903.389.3574

fairfieldtxlibrary@gmail.com

Address

350 W. Main
Fairfield, TX 75840



At a Glance



Cite This Partner

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

Fairfield Library, partner contributing to The Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. https://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/partners/FAIRL/ accessed August 10, 2020.