7 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[First Baptist Church of Longview]

Description: Photograph of the First Baptist Church congregation in Longview, Texas. The men, women and children in the photograph are standing in front of the church, located at the corner of South Fredonia and South Street. They are dressed in suits, hats and dresses. The pastor, Reverend J. E. Hughes, is standing left of center in a long, black coat.
Date: 1910~
Creator: Culpepper, Cody
Partner: Longview Public Library

[Reverend J. L. Terry]

Description: Photograph of Reverend J. L. Terry, who was one of the early pastors in Longview, Texas. Reverend Terry was born in 1831 and died in 1917. He is buried in Greenwood Cemetery, in Longview. The photograph is mounted on gray cardboard.
Date: 1880~
Partner: Longview Public Library

[First Christian Church]

Description: Photograph of the First Christian Church in Longview, Texas. The church was established in 1872 by nine resident members of the Old School Southern Presbyterian Church. There are several people walking on the sidewalk around the church. A salon, called Mi Lady Beauty Shoppe, is pictured to the left of the church.
Date: 1906
Creator: Culpepper, Cody B.
Partner: Longview Public Library

[Longview Volunteer Fire Company]

Description: Photograph of the first Longview Volunteer Fire Company in Longview, Texas. The fire company was organized in 1885 using horse drawn fire carts. The fire company was located on the south side of Tyler Street between Fredonia and Center streets. City Hall was located upstairs. Cumberland Presbyterian Church is visible on the far left of the photograph. There are three horse-drawn fire carts parked outside the station.
Date: 1885
Location Info:
Partner: Longview Public Library

[First Methodist Church of Longview]

Description: Photograph of the First Methodist Church of Longview, Texas. The church was founded around 1840 in the section of Longview that later became Earpville. In 1871, the church building was moved to a plot of ground given by the Texas and Pacific Railroad.
Date: 1930~
Location Info:
Partner: Longview Public Library