41 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Governor's Mansion [under snow]

Description: Photograph of the Texas Governor's Mansion front and north elevations. It has a screen porch with steps. The front lawn is covered in snow. The mansion was built by Abner Cook in 1855 and continuously occupied since 1856. The mansion here was occupied by first female Texas governor Miriam A. Ferguson in 1925. The mansion was declared a Texas historical landmark in 1962 and a National historic landmark in 1970.
Date: 1925
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[School of Military Aeronautics Band]

Description: Copy print of a marching band facing the front of the photo and standing on a street with their cased instruments in front of a formation of students facing the right side of the image. Both the band members and the students are wearing uniforms, and standing in lines at attention, with leaders in front of each group. In the foreground, a dog is standing in front of the band and an automobile is partially visible; in the background, several large buildings are visible, including a church or cathedral.
Date: unknown
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Texas Ranger Captains]

Description: Four men standing behind a seated man on a porch. Back reads: "Texas Ranger Captains. Seated: Captain Dan Roberts. Standing L to R: Captain J. A. Brooks, Adjutant General W. W. Sterling, former Ranger Captain Frank A Hamer and Captain John R. Hughes."
Date: August 30, 1932
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Magnesium Plant]

Description: Two buildings connected by a covered conveyor belt. Future site of the Balcones Research Center, now known as the J. J. Pickle Research Campus.
Date: August 14, 1947
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Falstaff Beer Trucks]

Description: Beer trucks belonging to the Lightsey Carroll Company Distributors stand at the ready to deliver beer to thirsty Austinites. Featuring the Capitol in the background lends an air of legality to beer distribution, particularly considering that Prohibition had ended just five months before.
Date: May 25, 1934
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Gearing Hall, Painter Hall and Lily Pond]

Description: Looking northeast from the lily pond behind the Tower on the University of Texas campus. Gearing Hall, known then as the Home Economics building, on the left and the Painter Hall, then the Physics building, on the right, are in view.
Date: September 1936
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Seton Infirmary doctors]

Description: Group portrait of men on steps of building. Back reads: "1923 Seton Infirmary. Top row: 1. Richardson, Dalton, 2. Watt, William Elliot, -1961, 3. Hilgartner, Henry Louis, 1868-1937, 4. Granberry, Howard B., 1870-1942, 5. Kreisle, Matthew Ferninand, 1886-1964, 6. Gilbert, Joseph M., 1873-1951. Second Row: 7. Gibson, James W., 8. Kirk, Louis Harry, 1877-1938, 9. Black, 10. Hill, Homer Barksdale, 11. Weller, Cyrus Burford, 1881-1935, 12. Gilbert, G. Horace, 1879-1945, 13. Gregg, Frank (?), Third row: 14, Loving, James M., 1879-1948, 15. Hudson, Samuel Edward, 1860-1943, 16. Mathews, Claud, 17. Thomas, John, 18. Stroberg, 19. Beverly, Albert Fitzhugh, 1884-1943, 20. Scott, Zachary Thomson, 1880-1964. Fourth Row: 21., 22. Wooten, Goodall Harrison, 23. Key, Samuel N. Sr., -1956, 24. Wooten, Joe Sil, 1871-1949, 25. Harper, W. A., 26. Wickline, Robert M., 27. Boerner, Morris Hirshfield, 1885-1932, 28. Herd, Alan"
Date: 1923
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Flood waters on Shoal Creek]

Description: Looking south from the bend in Shoal Creek at the corner of Nueces and West 4th Street. The railroad bridge at West 3rd is in view. The back of Quality Mills can be seen slightly obscured by trees.
Date: September 1915
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library