226 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Portrait of unidentified family]

Description: Photograph of four unidentified men and four unidentified women. The woman are all wearing their hair up and wearing dresses, and the three younger men in the back are wearing suit jackets and neckties. The older man in the front has a mustache.
Date: unknown
Creator: Shaw
Partner: Denton Public Library

Cleburne, Texas Baseball Players, 1906

Description: Photo collage of the Cleburne baseball team in 1906. In the center of the collage is a studio photograph of the entire team with coach Doak Roberts seated in the center and young boy in front of him. Four members of the team are seated on the floor with the front two lying on the boy's knees. Surrounding the center photograph are thirteen studio portraits of the individual players with Coach Doak Roberts in the top center. Throughout the collage are cutouts of the players in action - catching the ball, batting and throwing. The players names are written illegibly underneath their pictures and the words, "Cleburne 1906" surround the center photograph. On the mat at the bottom is written, "In Group Doak Roberts, Bat Boy -"
Date: 1906
Creator: Shaw
Partner: University of Texas at Arlington Library

[Kendall-Bruce Literary Society]

Description: Photograph of a display card commemorating the founding of the Kendall Bruce Literary Society, ca. 1901. The card features the KB logo in each corner and oval portraits of J.S. Kendall, AM and W.H. Bruce, Ph.D. Between the portraits is the text: "Kendall-Bruce Literary Society Organized Saturday September 30, 1901. Named in honor of J.S. Kendall and W.H.Bruce first President and Vice President of the North Texas State Normal. Nulla Dies Sine Linea." Below text is artist's/photographer's stamp: "Executed by Shaw and Hargrove, Denton, Tex." Photographic print mounted on gray card mount. Mount embossed at lower right with photographer's stamp: "Shaw & Hargrove, Denton, Tex." Reverse of mount with faint transfer from another photograph image, and handwritten notation "St. 7.96-5". The Kendall-Bruce Literary Society was founded September 30, 1901, and named after Joel Sutton Kendall and William H. Bruce, who would each serve as President of North Texas State Normal College, and had been "beloved teachers". The name of the society was changed in 1908/1909 to the Robert E. Lee Literary Society at the request of then President Bruce.
Date: 1901
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Kendall-Bruce Literary Society, 1905-1906]

Description: Photograph of members of the Kendall-Bruce Literary Society, North Texas State Normal College, 1905-6. The photograph shows 49 young men seated and standing in rows facing the camera. The Kendall-Bruce Literary Society was founded September 30, 1901, and named after Joel Sutton Kendall and William H. Bruce, who would each serve as President of North Texas State Normal College, and had been "beloved teachers". Photographic print mounted on dark card mount. At lower right corner is embossed logo of photographer/printer "Shaw & Hargrove, Denton, Tex." Reverse of mount has transfer from another photographic image. Handwritten notes on reverse: "ST.7.96-3", "Kendall-Bruce Literary Society 1905-06" and "Jesse Legett".
Date: 1906
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[South Reading Room, Library, North Texas State Teachers College, 1929]

Description: Photograph of the North Texas State Teachers College Library in the spring of 1929. Seen in the photo is a large room with long tables at which are seated a variety of young men and women looking at various books. Along the back wall can be seen shelves of books. To the left can be seen sculptures. The photographic image is affixed to a pale gray mount with line borders. At lower right front corner is embossed photographer's mark: "Shaw / Denton, Texas". On the reverse of the mount are handwritten the following notes: "This picture was made in the spring of 1929, soon after the few books on the wall were moved from the stacks to this room (South Reading Room in old Library Building - now Historical Building). It represents the beginning of the Reference Dept. - L. Brashears." and "For Miss Brashears Compliments of the Shaw Studio." The photograph shows the Library Building (built 1912-1913) the first library building on the NT campus, which later would be called the Historical Building, and is presently the O.J. Curry Building ("Curry Hall"). Lottie Brashears started at NT in 1921 as Assistant Librarian, and worked at various positions within the NT Library until her retirement in 1958. She was one of the first heads of the Reference Department.
Date: Spring 1929
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections