194 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Alamo

Description: Copy negative of the front of the Alamo with a Texas flag flying on the left, a courtyard in front, and a family standing by the entrance.
Date: unknown
Location Info:
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

[Man wandering the Alamo gardens]

Description: Photograph of a man walking down a path in the gardens of the Alamo grounds. Small shrubs line the pathway the man is walking on. A small building is visible inside the Alamo grounds. The Tower Life Building can be seen in the background.
Date: 193x
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), III
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Man wandering the Alamo gardens]

Description: Photograph of a man walking down a path in the gardens of the Alamo grounds. Small shrubs line the pathway the man is walking on. A small building is visible inside the Alamo grounds. The Tower Life Building can be seen in the background.
Date: 193x
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), III
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Alamo garden]

Description: Photograph of the garden at the Alamo. A large circular grass area is in the center of the garden. A stone well is visible behind the grass circle. The archways in the background are part of the Alamo Arcade.
Date: [1940..]
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), III
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Postcard of Alamo Museum]

Description: Postcard of the Alamo from the right side, a cannon sitting in the courtyard. The back of the postcard adds, "Museum at the Alamo San Antonio, Texas Erected in 1718 as a church and fortress, it became the symbol of Texas independence. During the Texas-Mexican Independence War in 1836, it was defended and lost to the last Texan. Soon "Remember the Alamo" became synonymous with Texas independence."
Date: unknown
Partner: McFaddin-Ward House Museum

[Postcard of Alamo Entrance 2]

Description: Postcard of the stone carved Alamo's face, with red flowers blooming from a large bush on the left side. The back of the postcard adds, "The Alamo. The sacred Alamo stands within the very heart of the business district of the city of San Antonio. It was erected in 1718 by the Franciscan Monks and was originally the Chapel of the Mission of San Antonio de Balera. It was within the gray stone walls of the quaint old Chapel, March 6, 1836, that Travis, Bonham, Bowie, Crockett, and 182 unsung heroes gave their lives in the defense of Texas liberty."
Date: unknown
Creator: Gene Aiken
Partner: McFaddin-Ward House Museum

The well at the Alamo

Description: Photograph of a well under a tree on the Alamo grounds in San Antonio, Texas. It is a square brick structure with wooden braces at the top. A group of unidentified persons is visible on a path in the background, as well as part of a building and a wall enclosing the grounds. The well was dug during the mission period and was in use in 1836.
Date: May 4, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

[Unknown Men at the Alamo]

Description: Photograph of two unknown men captured on the grounds of the Alamo. Both men are pictured wear patterned shirts and with dark colored pants. The younger of the men is standing to the left with the older on the right. They are positioned standing in the open gates with part of the Alamo seen behind them.
Date: September 21, 1958
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

[The Arcade at the Alamo]

Description: Photograph of the entrance structure at the Alamo grounds called the "Arcade." The Arcade was built in the 1930s as part of the Works Projects Administration program. The Arcade is a walkway between two rows of connected stone archways, with wooden logs connecting the two stone structures overhead.
Date: 193x
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), III
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Alamo Old Courtyard]

Description: Postcard image of the Alamo and the old courtyard in San Antonio, Texas. Text on back reads "Built in 1718 by Franciscan Friars who came over from Spain and established a chain of missions in which to educate the Indians".
Date: unknown
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

[The Arcade on the Alamo grounds]

Description: Photograph of the entrance structure at the Alamo grounds called the "Arcade." The Arcade was built in the 1930s as part of the Works Projects Administration program. The Arcade is a walkway between two rows of connected stone archways, with wooden logs connecting the two stone structures overhead.
Date: 193x
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), III
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The Arcade on the Alamo grounds]

Description: Photograph of the entrance structure at the Alamo grounds called the "Arcade." The Arcade was built in the 1930s as part of the Works Projects Administration program. The Arcade is a walkway between two rows of connected stone archways, with wooden logs connecting the two stone structures overhead.
Date: 193x
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), III
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections