2,554 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Angelina County Lufkin Texas

Description: Photograph of the Texas Historical Committee marker that marks the location of the 1913 depot explosion in downtown Lukin. Located in the old "Cotton Square". The marker is near the south end of the square.
Date: January 27, 2010
Creator: Bell, Jim
Partner: Private Collection of Jim Bell

Crockett Memorial, Ozona, plaque

Description: Photograph of a plaque at the foot of the Crockett memorial in Crockett County. It reads: "William Mozart McVey. 1905-1995. A versatile sculptor of people, animals, birds and religious symbols, McVey attended the University of Texas and taught art there and at Rice University. He played football at Rice under the legendary coach John Heisman in 1924. McVey studied and taught at Cranbrook Art Institute, graduated from the Cleveland Art Institute, was a U. S. Air Force Major in World War II and taught plane and ship silhouette recognition to allied forces. Outstanding sculptures include: Winston Churchill, British Embassy, Washington D.C.; the frieze at the base of the San Jacinto Monument, Houston; James Bowie, Texarkana, Texas; bronze doors, University of Texas Memorial Museum, Austin; bronze doors, Federal Trade Commission, Washington, D.C. and sculptured niches, National Cathedral, Washington D.C. This Art Deco style sculpture of David Crockett, hero of the Alamo, was done in 1938."
Date: August 3, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

[Photograph of Tenney House on Pace Park Road]

Description: Photograph of light-colored stone house with a raised foundation and small slit-windows at the basement level. A short flight of wood and stone steps lead up to a wood door with a small glass window, and glass panels around the frame. Drawn curtains can be seen through the windows surrounding the house. The house has two stone chimney-stacks, one on either end of the roof, and a small addition on the far right side. Handwritten notes and a sticker on the back of the photo indicate the name of the house's owners, and that the building was put on the National Register of Historic Places in the 1980s.
Date: 1977
Creator: Friedrick, Egon
Partner: Salado Public Library

[Photograph of Salado Landmark Plaque]

Description: Close-up photograph of a metal sign with a circular portion at the top and a rectangular portion at the bottom. The circular portion has a star in the middle, with text around the circumference that reads "Salado Historical Society," While the rectangular portion reads, "Salado Landmark." A red brick wall is visible in the background. Handwritten notes and a white, rectangular sticker on the back of the photograph identify the placard as a Salado Historical Society Award.
Date: unknown
Location Info:
Partner: Salado Public Library

[Historic Marker at Indianola, Texas]

Description: Photograph of a historic marker in Indianola, Texas which served as an entry port for German immigrants in the mid 19th century. The marker is made of stone and is surrounded by bluebonnets and other miscellaneous foliage.
Date: May 1957
Creator: Streng, Evelyn Fiedler
Partner: Texas Lutheran University

[Historical Marker Dedication Program for the East Sweden Presbyterian Church, Texas]

Description: Historical Marker Dedication Program for ceremonies held 1990-03-24 that recites the history of the church, including the fact that most of the East Sweden settlers in the 1880s were Lutherans but, because they could not find a Lutheran minister, they responded to a traveling Presbyterian minister, became Presbyterians, and then built the original East Sweden Presbyterian Church in 1891.
Date: March 24, 1990
Creator: Hurd, Bobbye
Partner: McCulloch County Historical Commission

[Los Nogales Historic Marker]

Description: Photograph of the historic marker for the Los Nogales structure located in Seguin, Texas. The historic marker describes the history behind both the property and structure, including who owned it, and when it was designated as a landmark.
Date: March 1991
Creator: Streng, Evelyn Fiedler
Location Info:
Partner: Texas Lutheran University

[WASP Plaque]

Description: Photograph of what appears to be a historical marker plaque with a few paragraphs of the history of WASP. The plaque begins, "Women Airforce Service Pilots Jacqueline Cochran, one of the most famous women pilots of the twentieth century..." A note written on the back of the photo reads, "Sweetwater Tex 22 May 93".
Date: May 22, 1993
Partner: National WASP WWII Museum

Crockett County Courthouse, Ozona, historic plaque

Description: Photograph of a historic marker on the Crockett County Courthouse building. It reads: "Crockett County Courthouse, built 1902. Second courthouse for county. American Gothic architecture, planned by Oscar Ruffini, San Angelo. Material is fine stone quarried nearby on Meyer and Couch Properties. Cost $30,000. Early day community social center. Used for cowboy dances, box suppers, Christmas trees, roundup celebrations. In 1909 Arc light was added to steeple to signal sheriff and guide travelers to town. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1966."
Date: August 3, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

Hood County Jailhouse, Historic Plaque

Description: Photograph of a historic plaque at the Hood County Jailhouse. It reads: "Second County Jail. Celebrated in early local ballad. Build to succeed 1873 log jail at time when lawlessness was rampant. Main building is late Victorian in style. Separate stone kitchen was added upon completion. The tall front section was to have a gallows, but no hangings have occurred here. Jail admits some 55 prisoners yearly. "Uncle" Andy Walters, a local character, once locked sheriff in this jail, but left key with judge on way home. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1970."
Date: August 1, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

Brownwood Harvey House, Historic Plaque

Description: Photograph of a historic plaque for the Brownwood Harvey House. It says: "Built in 1914 immediately east of Brownwood Sante Fe railroad depot, this was one of a series of restaurants operated along the Santa Fe line by the Fred Harvey Company, products of railroad agent Fred Harvey's idea to provide superior food and lodging for travelers. The Harvey House was popular from its opening day. The restaurant and hotel closed in 1937, but reopened to serve military personnel when Camp Bowie was established in World War II. It closed permanently in 1945 as passenger railroad travel declined in the era of prosperity following the war. Typical of railroad structures built in the southwest during this period by the Atchison, Topeka & Sante Fe Railroad, the structure features elements of Spanish mission revival style with its red tile hipped roof and decorative brackets." There is another plaque above the historic marker, which says: "Santa Fe Railroad Harvey House has been listed in the national register of historic places by the United States Department of the Interior. 1976."
Date: August 1, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries