2,600 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Engraving of the International Hotel - Palestine]

Description: Engraving of the International Hotel, which was once located at 313 Spring Street, Palestine. In 1873, following the coming of the railroad to town, the Laclede Hotel was built on this site, but was destroyed by fire in 1876. The following year, a Dr. Manning of Oakwood erected a brick building known as the International Hotel on that location. It was purchased in 1882 by Col. George Burkitt who turned over operations to Mrs. Emma Nolen. During her tenure, the property was known as the Nolen Hotel, but when she moved to St. Louis, Col. Burkitt himself took over the management. That building was razed in 1922 and the "new" O'Neill Hotel was built here. After many years of use, the hotel was sold a number of times. Despite halfhearted attempts to restore it, the condition of the building went downhill. It was demolished in August 1983 and the property is remains vacant today.
Date: 1880~
Partner: Palestine Public Library

[Capitol Hotel, Marshall]

Description: The Capitol Hotel in Marshall existed from 1857 to 1971 at the corner of Houston and Bolivar Streets in Marshall. It was predated by the Adkins House and was succeeded by the Hotel Marshall, which still stands. The Capitol was financed by George A. Adkins and built by two slaves, Dick Land and Green Hill. The hotel had a colorful history due to the momentous times of the Civil War and visits by noted Texans. After the Hotel Marshall was built next door, owner Sam Perkins bought the Capitol and made it an annex of the larger hotel. The Capitol was razed in 1971. A historical marker on the lawn west of the Hotel Marshall records the hotel's history.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Capitol Hotel, Marshall]

Description: The Capitol Hotel stood from 1857 to 1971 at the corner of Houston and Bolivar Streets in Marshall. It was predated by the Adkins House and was succeeded by the Hotel Marshall, which still stands. It was financed by George Adkins and built by two slaves, Dick Land and Green Hill. These expert masons made the bricks that went into the 12-inch walls of the five-story structure. The hotel had a colorful history. It was the scene of important Confederate meetings during the Civil War. Noted Texans, actors, and other VIPS visited there - including the notorious. After the Hotel Marshall was built, owner Sam Perkins bought the Capitol and made it an annex of the larger hotel. The Capitol was razed in 1971. A historical marker on the lawn west of the Hotel Marshall notes the hotel's history.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Marshall Hotel, Marshall]

Description: The multi-story Marshall Hotel is a landmark in downtown Marshall. It is located on E. Houston Street. The corner shown is E. Houston and Lafayette. The building to the left of the hotel is the Mahon Building, was an office building at the time of the picture, c1970. After many years of standing empty and neglected, the hotel is currently under restoration.
Date: 1970~
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[The Ginocchio Hotel and Restaurant]

Description: The Ginocchio Hotel and Restaurant is located at 700 North Washington Ave., across the tracks from the train depot in Marshall. Local entrepreneur Charles Ginocchio hired architect C. G. Lancaster to design the hotel and oversee its construction, which was completed in 1896. The structure is noted for the interior paneling and staircase of rare curly pine and other rare innovations. The hotel has undergone restoration and various uses since the heyday of railroad travel. The small brick building in the foreground is the AMTRAK ticket office. Passengers descend through a tunnel under the tracks to reach the depot and platform, which are out of sight in the picture. At the left of the picture, beyond the hotel, one can glimpse several victorian homes which add to the historic importance of the entire North Washington area.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[St. Elmo Hotel]

Description: St. Elmo Hotel. In photo: Frank Marshall, 3rd from left; N. Snearly, 5th from left; Tom Weldon, Man on horse; Sam Willis, extreme right. Photo taken in 1895: Henrietta, Texas.
Date: 1895
Partner: Clay County Historical Society

[Photo of a drawing of the Hunter House Hotel]

Description: Photo of a drawing of the Hunter House Hotel. David Clark Hunter bought a small house on Lot 8 block 9, original townsite map, in August 1848. By 1850, the hotel was a three storied building with an attic and an ell. According to Mary Kate Hunter, the old hotel burned and the prize register perished in the fire. It was located on the northeast corner of the intersection of Perry Street and the Rusk Road. It also acted as a stage coach stop during the mid 1800's. Among the famous guests were: Sam Houston, Roger Q. Mills, Judge Sexton, General Wigfall, Colonel Ochiltree and many others. The Delespine Hotel, which was located on the opposite corner across Perry street from the Hunter House, was also popular stopping place, and it is said that the old steps of which made a favorite place for Sam Houston to sit and whittle and talk to his constituents. Both buildings have been gone now for many years.
Date: unknown
Partner: Palestine Public Library

[O'Neill Hotel - 313 Spring Street]

Description: Photo of the O'Neill Hotel and Coffee Shop, which was located at 313 Spring Street, Palestine. It was actually the third hotel to sit on the site. In 1873, following the coming of the railroad to town, the Laclede Hotel was built there, but was destroyed by fire in 1876. The following year, a Dr. Manning of Oakwood erected a brick building known as the International Hotel on that location. It was purchased in 1882 by Col. George Burkitt who turned over operations to Mrs. Emma Nolen. During her tenure, the property was known as the Nolen Hotel, but when she moved to St. Louis, Col. Burkitt himself took over the management. That building was razed in 1922 and the "new" O'Neill, maiden surname of Burkitt's Irish born mother, was constructed on the site. The O'Neill boasted not only hot and cold running water in its guest rooms, it was also equipped with an electric Otis elevator and a radio receiving set on the mezzanine for entertainment of the hotel's guests. When Texas Gov. Ross Sterling declared martial law in the East Texas Oil Fields and ordered the National Guard to take it over and shut-in all wells, the O'Neill became the staging center where the command cadre spent its first night "in the field." During the oil boom, the hotel was a favorite meeting place for oil operators, lease hounds and geologists. Among the famous early day oil men who slept under its roof and conducted business out of its rooms were H.L. Hunt, Harold Byrd, Jack Frost and other wildcatters. Those were the "glory days" of the venerable hotel, but not the end. The hotel was sold a number of times, and despite halfhearted attempts to restore it, the condition of the building went downhill. It was demolished ...
Date: 1960~
Partner: Anderson County Historical Commission