1,475 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Dr. Howard Granberry

Description: Photograph of man standing in yard holding a cigarette. Dr. Granberry was a longtime Austin physician who had offices in The Scarbrough Building at the time this photo was taken. He and his wife, Frances, resided at 912 W. 6th Street.
Date: June 22, 1943
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Young Polio Victim

Description: Photograph of small child polio victim attempting to stand with assistance. Photo was taken in the office of Dr. Sandi Esquivel, pediatric surgeon.
Date: June 22, 1949
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Young Polio Victim

Description: Photograph of small girl polio victim seated in chair. This photo was taken in the office of Dr. Sandi Esquivel, pediatric surgeon, who had offices at 1306 Rio Grande.
Date: September 30, 1949
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Young Polio Victim

Description: Photograph of young child polio victim lying on examination table. Photo was taken in the office of Dr. Sandi Esquivel, pediatric surgeon.
Date: June 22, 1949
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Photograph of Bo King and Dr. King]

Description: Photograph of two men wearing light-colored hunting suits with dark socks, standing in a grassy lawn inside a fence perimeter. The man on the right is wearing a hat, and both men are looking down at the lawn. The photograph has dark spots, obscuring details.
Date: unknown
Partner: Murphy Historical Society Inc.

[Seton Infirmary doctors]

Description: Group portrait of men on steps of building. Back reads: "1923 Seton Infirmary. Top row: 1. Richardson, Dalton, 2. Watt, William Elliot, -1961, 3. Hilgartner, Henry Louis, 1868-1937, 4. Granberry, Howard B., 1870-1942, 5. Kreisle, Matthew Ferninand, 1886-1964, 6. Gilbert, Joseph M., 1873-1951. Second Row: 7. Gibson, James W., 8. Kirk, Louis Harry, 1877-1938, 9. Black, 10. Hill, Homer Barksdale, 11. Weller, Cyrus Burford, 1881-1935, 12. Gilbert, G. Horace, 1879-1945, 13. Gregg, Frank (?), Third row: 14, Loving, James M., 1879-1948, 15. Hudson, Samuel Edward, 1860-1943, 16. Mathews, Claud, 17. Thomas, John, 18. Stroberg, 19. Beverly, Albert Fitzhugh, 1884-1943, 20. Scott, Zachary Thomson, 1880-1964. Fourth Row: 21., 22. Wooten, Goodall Harrison, 23. Key, Samuel N. Sr., -1956, 24. Wooten, Joe Sil, 1871-1949, 25. Harper, W. A., 26. Wickline, Robert M., 27. Boerner, Morris Hirshfield, 1885-1932, 28. Herd, Alan"
Date: 1923
Creator: Ellison Photo Co.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Dr. Everett H. Leach, Harrison County Physician]

Description: Dr. Everett H. Leach, early African-American physician, was born in Marshall in 1879 or 1881 (tombstone date). He entered Bishop College at age twelve. He received his medical degree from Flynt Medical College in New Orleans. Later he studied at Illinois Post-Graduate School in Chicago. He settled in the rural Leigh community east of Marshall, where he built a practice, erected a drug store and office, and owned two farms. Later he moved to Marshall and commuted to Leigh by automobile. According to his tombstone, he died March 31, 1946, and was buried in the Powder Mill Cemetery on FM 1997, Marshall.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Dr. Everett H. Leach, Harrison County Physician]

Description: Dr. Everett H. Leach, African-American physician, was born in Marshall in 1879 or 1881 (tombstone date). He entered Bishop College at age twelve. He received his medical degree from Flynt Medical College in New Orleans. Later he studied at Illinois Post-Graduate School in Chicago. He settled in the rural Leigh community east of Marshall, where he built a practice, erected a drug store and office, and owned two farms. Later he moved to Marshall and commuted to Leigh by automobile. According to his tombstone, he died March 31, 1946. He was buried in the Powder Mill Cemetery on FM 1997 in north Marshall.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Medical Accounts Ledger]

Description: Handwritten ledger containing a list of patients seen by Dr. Pound with an accounting for services and medications. Names are indexed at the front of the book.
Date: 1896/1898
Creator: Pound, Joseph
Partner: Dr. Pound Historical Farmstead

[Newspaper Clipping: Humanics of Medicine]

Description: Newspaper clipping of an article about doctor-patient relations, and physicians' responsibility to make patients feel welcome and important. Included are a few suggestions on how physicians can improve. The article was inspired by a Canadian Supreme Court Justice's suggestion that medical schools should teach medical students the "Humanics of Medicine." On the back of the clipping is part of an advertisement for For Motor Company, Lincoln-Mercury Division.
Date: December 12, 1960
Creator: The AMA News editors
Partner: Texas Medical Association

[Photograph of Dr. Carroll Kendrick]

Description: Photograph of a man with a thick, curly beard and mustache, as well as an untidy, receding hairline. The man is wearing a light-colored shirt under a medium-colored coat and waistcoat. He is shown from his chest upwards, against a blank, medium-colored backdrop. The photograph has an oval border around it., and a handwritten note on the back of the photograph identifying the portrait's subject as Dr. Carroll Kendrick.
Date: unknown
Partner: Salado Public Library

[Dr. G. T. Coleman Home in Marshall]

Description: This bungalow in Marshall, possibly Craftsman in its original form, has several later additions. It is located at 606 Sanford Street in the "New Town Neighborhood," a historic African-American community that developed around Wiley College from 1910-1950. The home was the residence of Dr. George T. Coleman. The physician also had a structure across the street at 607 Sanford that he used as a hospital for his patients. Some of his patients went to the Sheppard-Watts Sanitarium on S. Carter Street. Dr. Coleman's office was located first on W. Houston and later on S. Wellington. According to Dr. Coleman's obituary, he was born in Ft. Worth to Mr. and Mrs. P. Coleman. He received his early education in El Paso. He completed his college and professional training in Illiinois. In 1910 he moved to Marshall and began a practice that lasted 53 years. He performed numerous professional, church and civic duties; but notable was his involvement in establishing the first tuberculosis hospital in Kerrville. His first wife, Edith, died in 1949. He later married Willia, a union which lasted until his passing on June 10, 1963. He is presumed to be buried in the Powder Mill Cemetery, in a plot with a Coleman family marker having no individual names or dates.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library