1,931 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Richardson Medical Center, B. B. Owen Memorial Hospital, Richardson, Texas

Description: White brick masonry multi-story, multi-level building. The tallest, center portion has a sign at the top, RICHARDSON MEDICAL CENTER B. B. OWEN MEMORIAL HOSPITAL. This center portion is flanked on both sides by the main portion of the building, which is shorter and has vertical columns of windows. In the front of the picture is the lowest portion of the building, with ground-level windows and one inset doorway. The doorway and windows are partially hidden by curving lines of low shrubs in the picture foreground. Portions of equipment, perhaps ventilation, are visible on roof areas. Additional information: Dallas Morning News, Dec. 18, 1975 "A 5-story hospital, scheduled for completion in August, 1977, will be built at 401 W. Campbell Rd. ... The building contract was given to J. A. Jones Construction Co." The hospital was dedicated Saturday, May 27, 1977. It was named in memory of Dallas businessman B. B. Owen. The hospital opened for business Tuesday, May 30, 1977. Bennie Bryan Owen was born on September 11, 1897, in Cisco, Eastland County. As a young man, he moved to Dallas County where he was principally involved with investments and investment loans. He was also involved in agriculture as he owned land in Dallas County. In the late 1960s, Owen moved to Collin County where he made his residence until his death on April 24, 1972.
Date: 1975/1977
Partner: Richardson Public Library

[Palestine Memorial Hospital]

Description: Photo of the old Memorial Hospital, which is located on the corner of S. Sycamore and Angelina Streets in the south side of Palestine. This building still stands, but no longer houses a hospital. It remains vacant as of the end of 2007.
Date: 1960~
Partner: Anderson County Historical Commission

[Palestine Memorial Hospital]

Description: Photo of the old Memorial Hospital, which is located on the corner of S. Sycamore and Angelina Streets in the south side of Palestine. This building still stands, but no longer houses a hospital. It remains vacant as of the end of 2007.
Date: 1960~
Partner: Palestine Public Library

[Sheppard-Watts Hospital and Nursing School in Marshall]

Description: A three-story brick building was the Sheppard- Watts Hospital and Nursing School which served the African-American community in Marshall. It was located at 606 S. Carter St. in the historic New Town Neighborhood. The hospital was constructed in 1925 by Dr. James R. Sheppard. It was later purchased and renovated by Dr. William Watts. On the Sanborn Maps, the original hospital was called Sheppard Sanitarium.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Sheppard Sanitarium, Marshall]

Description: Sheppard Sanitarium was established by Dr. James R. Sheppard in 1925 to serve the African-American community in Marshall. It was located at 606 S. Carter St. in the historic New Town Neighborhood of Marshall's western section. There was also a nursing school there. The five persons in the photo are unidentified, although the man may be Dr. Sheppard. Three of the women wear nurse uniforms. The fourth wears a utility apron. The building as shown was a three-story brick structure with window awnings. An early model car is parked at the right side. The hospital was later purchased and renovated by Dr. William Watts, who renamed it Sheppard-Watts Hospital. Dr. George T. Coleman, Dr. Frank Williams, and the Wiley College physician are known to have practiced there.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library