252 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

W. L. Smith Store

Description: W. L. Smith built one of the first business establishements in Irving in 1904. However, in 1905, he sold the building to the Miller brothers, who opened a general store. Chaney Miller, one of the proprietors of Miller Brothers, served as Irving's second mayor and was Justice of the Peace for the precinct from the 1920s-1940s. He had also been a Dallas County Commissioner during the 1890s. His brother, Fletcher Miller, served as mayor in the 1920s before moving to Dallas.
Date: 1904~
Partner: Irving Archives

Main Street, Irving, Texas

Description: This photo is taken looking north up Main Street. The town's water tower was over a well in the middle of the intersection of Main Street and First Street (today Irving Blvd.). Main Street dead-ended into the railroad depot. The depot can be seen behind the water tower.
Date: 1912~
Partner: Irving Archives

[A. Joost - Cheap Cash Store]

Description: This is a photograph of the first building constructed on the courthouse square. It was located where number 601 East Lacy is now located, but it extended over approximately halfway into the lot of the current number 603. This was Alexander Joost's store, known after the Civil War as the "Cheap Cash Store". Joost was an immigrant from France who had an earlier store at Fort Houston. As soon as the site was located for the county seat of the new Anderson County, he bought land there and prepared to moved. He rebuilt after the 1874 fire and again after the 1879 fire. Most of the conflagrations that were destroying entire blocks of the city of Palestine in the 1870s and 1880s were set by an incendiary who was eluding the police. Even though numerous merchants in New Town and Old Town suffered from these fires, Joost took them personally, especially when rumors were spread around town that he was having difficulty maintaining a good stock of merchandise. To combat this, he took out an ad in the Trinity Advocate to let his customers know he was still offering the best merchandise at the best prices. However, when his store was burned to the ground in a third disaster on December 5, 1882, he decided to retire from business and return to France for a visit. He did not rebuild, and the site remained vacant for over thiry years, except for a brief period in the 1890s, when a temporary tentlike structure was put up for the Sam Jones Tabernacle.
Date: 1875~
Partner: Anderson County Historical Commission

[A. Joost - Cheap Cash Store - 601 E Lacy]

Description: This is a photograph of the first building constructed on the courthouse square. It was located where number 601 East Lacy is now located, but it extended over approximately halfway into the lot of the current number 603. This was Alexander Joost's store, known after the Civil War as the "Cheap Cash Store". Joost was an immigrant from France who had an earlier store at Fort Houston. As soon as the site was located for the county seat of the new Anderson County, he bought land there and prepared to moved. He rebuilt after the 1874 fire and again after the 1879 fire. Most of the conflagrations that were destroying entire blocks of the city of Palestine in the 1870s and 1880s were set by an incendiary who was eluding the police. Even though numerous merchants in New Town and Old Town suffered from these fires, Joost took them personally, especially when rumors were spread around town that he was having difficulty maintaining a good stock of merchandise. To combat this, he took out an ad in the Trinity Advocate to let his customers know he was still offering the best merchandise at the best prices. However, when his store was burned to the ground in a third disaster on December 5, 1882, he decided to retire from business and return to France for a visit. He did not rebuild, and the site remained vacant for over thiry years, except for a brief period in the 1890s, when a temporary tentlike structure was put up for the Sam Jones Tabernacle.
Date: 1875~
Partner: Palestine Public Library

Cox Confectionary Store

Description: Photograph of the inside of Cox Confectionary soda counter. There are two men behind the soda counter with ties on. One customer appears to be holding or standing close behind a Coca-Cola cut out at the end of the candy counter. There is a fourth gentleman seated on a bar stool in checkered pants, linen shirt and cowboy hat with a soda glass in hand.
Date: unknown
Partner: Wilson County Historical Society

W.W. Rhode - One Price Cash Store

Description: Photograph of brick, two-story building located at 3rd and C Street in Floresville. One person is going into the store; another is standing at the corner of the building; and two men are unloading goods from a horse drwn wagon at the side of the building - one is on the wagon and the other walking toward the wagon. A fith person can be seen leaning on a post past the wagon. A True Value Hardware Store is currenty located in this building.
Date: unknown
Partner: Wilson County Historical Society

Lucas and Joffre Store

Description: Lucas and Joffre Store was founded by W. D. "Doug" Lucas and Fred Joffre in 1906 on the west side of Irving's Main Street. Lucas and Joffre split, but W. D. Lucas maintained a store on Main Street until he died in 1931.
Date: 1906
Partner: Irving Archives

R.H. Leetch & Bros. Day Book, Brazos Santiago

Description: Handwritten ledger from the business, R.H. Leetch & Brothers. Brazos Santiago, February 24, 1849. It includes a list of customers and their purchases, which include shoes, clothing, ham, rice, herring, raisins, claret, beef, Madeira, sugar, coffee, castor oil, and other products along with their prices.
Date: February 24, 1849
Creator: R.H. Leetch & Brothers
Partner: Star of the Republic Museum

[General Store, Harrison County]

Description: This general store is located in Jonesville, Harrison County. Jonesville was a crossroads and short-line railroad terminal during the county's early history. The store is still in existence. It carried a multitude of items for the home and farm, as this interior photo shows. The building was not modernized beyond electricity, and so has kept its nineteenth century flavor.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

Pierce and Ramsey Store - Interior

Description: Grover Pierce and Hershel Ramsey operated a grocery store along Irving's Main Street. In this photo, Grover Pierce is behind the counter wearing a white hat. Hershel Ramsey is in the chair on the right. The woman in black in the center of the photo is Fannie Tompkins Haley, the wife of Tom Haley.
Date: 1920~
Partner: Irving Archives

Doug Lucas Store

Description: W. D. Lucas operated a general store on Irving's Main Street from 1906 until 1931. After changing locations twice, he settled in this two-story brick building in about 1920.
Date: 1920~
Partner: Irving Archives