10,109 Matching Results

This system will be undergoing maintenance July 29th between 8:00AM and 11:00AM CDT.

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Display Rack

Description: Patent for a display rack for bananas and other fruits for improved mobility.
Date: August 14, 1917
Creator: Stoneham, John A.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Sam Aronsohn Dry Goods

Description: Photograph of Sam Aronsohn Dry Goods store. The building is two stories tall and has a porch on both levels. On the top of the building is a sign that reads, "Isaac Samusch's Block 1888," and the main sign reads, "Sam Aronsohn Goods, Dry-Goods, Clothing, Boots, Shoes, & Fancy." Men and boys are standing outside of the store and in the foreground is a dirt road.
Date: unknown
Creator: Fey and Braunig
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

Meyerhoff Building

Description: Postcard of the Meyerhoff Dry Goods Building. The building is on a corner lot and is two stories tall. A show window runs the length of the front of the building and continues around the corner. There are six men standing outside on the sidewalk.
Date: unknown
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

Hallettsville Hardware Company

Description: Photograph of the interior of Hallettsville Hardware Company. Inside the store are shelves stocked with supplies such as pocket knives and dishes. Three men are behind the counter and one man is at the cash register. A handwritten note on the back includes information about the hardware store.
Date: unknown
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

East Side of Lavaca County Courthouse Square

Description: Photograph of the east side of Lavaca County Courthouse Square. Buildings are lined up next to each other on the square and the building in the foreground is Smothers Grocery Store. Men, women, and children are scattered around the square. Accompanying information lists the location of the grocery store on the corner of LaGrange Street and Third Street.
Date: unknown
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

[The Yeager Block]

Description: This picture shows a white sandstone building on NE 1st Avenue named "Yeager Block." The original home of (what was often called) the Lion Drugstore, it once sported a metal statue of a lion mounted on the roof, which gave rise to the legend that the business was called "The Lion Drug." (Current living descendants of Dr. Yeager do not ever remember the drugstore being referred to by than name. However, a casual reference to it in 1912 refers to the store as "The Lion Drug.") It housed the Baker Medical Supply at the time of the photograph. A retail store in the left of the photograph is named "The Rural Route." A handwritten date on the back of the photograph gives the year as "1993." The coffee shop "H2J0" is located [in 2007] where "The Rural Route" used to be.
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Mead Bakery]

Description: Photograph on a cardboard of five members of the Mead bakery staff behind the counter in the store. Flower vases are arranged on a counter on one side of the store and another one is in the center.
Date: 193X
Partner: McMurry University Library

Hatch/Long Store in Papalote

Description: Photograph of M. Long's grocery and general store in Papalote, Texas. The store's first owner,William B. Hatch, originally from Tennessee and a veteran of the Confederacy, was one of the earlier merchants in Papalote. In 1873, he moved his family to the present townstite of Papolate to take over the management of a branch of the mercantile store he, and a partner, S. G. Borden, owned in Sharpsburg. Later he sold his interest in the Sharpsburg store for full ownership in the Papalote business. For many years his story served as post office and voting place. W. B Hatch operated the store until 1898 when he sold it to L.N. Scofield of Sinton. Mr. Schofield then sold the store to W.M. Long in 1901. Mr. and Mrs. Long operated the store until his death in 1929. Mrs. Long, and her son, W. C. Long, continued to operate the store and service station, which has been added to the business after the advent of the automobile. In 1946 Mr. Long closed the business for about six months after her son went into the cattle business. At the insistence of friends, Mrs. Long reopened the store and operated it until 1951 when it was closed for good.
Date: 1900~
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

The Raines Building, Mineral Wells

Description: The Raines Building located at 101 N.E. 1st Avenue, Mineral Wells, Texas, was once a drug store, then a department store, later Pemberton's Appliance Store; in 1975 it was Calhoun Furniture Company and in 2008 is the home of Downtown Video. This photograph is found on page 126 of "Time Was..." by A. F. Weaver. Note the clothing of the people, the absence of any traffic, and the bunting on the building. A legend in white ink on the lower left-hand corner of the photograph reads: Texas Trade Review."
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Inside a Howard Department Store

Description: This picture shows the interior of an A.L. Howard business that was located where the Baker Hotel stands today [2012]. Howard himself is shown standing behind the umbrella case. Please observe the clerk in the background. He is wearing a jacket. The lady in the mid-foreground is equivalently dressed. Please observe also the apparent dimness of the interior. The photograph apparently dates from the first quarter of the twentieth century.
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Improvement in Paper Bags.

Description: Patent for an improvement in paper bags with design specifications and a description of their functionality and usage, including illustrations.
Date: June 18, 1878
Creator: Alexander, Newton J.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department
Back to Top of Screen