7,278 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Price T. Young School, Marshall]

Description: Price T. Young School is located on Sanford St. in Marshall. It is within the historic New Town Neighborhood. It was named to honor an influential African-American educator who was the first principal there. It was originally named Pemberton Junior High School when it opened in 1964 to house seventh and eighth graders. In 1971, the two grades were separated when the eighth graders were moved to Marshall Junior High School, a twin campus in east Marshall. In 1975 PJHS was renamed Price T. Young. In 1981 both seventh and eighth grades were reunited and moved to another campus. At present Price T. Young is a middle school for fifth and sixth grades.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Central School, Marshall]

Description: Central School was the first public school for African-American children in Harrison County. The building and its outbuildings were located on a hill bounded by Railroad Ave. (now Alamo), Border St. (now Travis), and Fannin. The buildings were torn down and the hill leveled after the school moved to another location. A historical marker notes the location. Central was renamed Pemberton after H. B. Pemberton, who was its founder and first principal. In the early years the elementary grades were included. After schools for those grades were built elsewhere, Central/Pemberton became a high school only.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Pemberton High School, Marshall]

Description: Students are gathered in the courtyard in front of Pemberton High School in Marshall. The school was traditionally African-American before integration. In 1970 MISD merged grades 10-12 with Marshall High School. Pemberton then housed the ninth grade until 1988, when the ninth grade went to Marshall High School. The campus was then sold to Wiley College. This photo is from the 1964-65 yearbook.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Pemberton High School Students, Marshall]

Description: A group of students is gathered in front of Pemberton High School in Marshall. The photograph appears to be from the 1960s. This facade shows the new wing which was added to the front of the old building, creating a courtyard between. Steps shown in front lead directly to Rosborough Springs St. Pemberton became a ninth- grade school in 1970 and was finally merged with Marshall High School in 1988. The building was sold to Wiley College, which is located across the street. Pemberton was named for H. B. Pemberton, the noted African-American educator (1867-1944) who was founder of Central School on Border St., the first public school in Marshall for African-American students. In 1925 Central was moved to the Rosborough Springs site, designated a high school, and renamed in 1941 to honor Pemberton, its first principal.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Booker T. Washington School in Marshall]

Description: Booker T. Washington Elementary School in Marshall is located at 1202 Evans St in the northwest part of the city. When it opened on Jan. 26, 1959, it was to serve African-American children in grades one through seven who would be transferred from four county schools. In the very next academic year, the school was reorganized to house grades one through three. Another merger occurred two years later when a small school in the community of Woodlawn sent its students. During the late 1960s, Washington was a kindergarten and special education center. From 1978 to 1989, it housed an alternative school, the district health and food services, and other special programs. In 1989 four rooms were added for the school's reorganization as Washington Early Childhood Education Center for prekindergarten and kindergarten children. A 1992 expansion included a multi-purpose room. In 1999, WECC became a Head Start campus, although it retained all district prekindergarten students. In 2002 another expansion added eight classrooms and a library. Now the school houses all of the district's Head Start students while continuing services to all prekindergarten children.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Park School, Marshall]

Description: Park School was an early elementary school for African-American children in Marshall. It was located at 600 Park Street. In 1902, local educator J. H. Moore was authorized by the school board to organize an elementary school for northwest Marshall. Classes began in the Odd Fellows Hall on West Grand Ave. They moved to the brick building on Park St. on Jan. 5, 1903. Moore was principal there for 22 years and was succeeded by L. E. Thompson. During Thompson's leadership, two additional classrooms, an auditorium, and four more rooms were added. P. E. Moon became the third principal in 1950, remaining there until the school was closed in 1954. A new campus named for J. H. Moore replaced Park Elementary, and the old campus no longer exists.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Marshall University, Marshall]

Description: Marshall University was one of Marshall's earliest schools. It was authorized by Sam Houston in 1842. In 1843 Peter Whetstone, founder of Marshall, gave ten acres of land for educational purposes. The plot is located on the corner of W. Houston and College St., where Marshall Junior High School stands today. The building shown in the picture was contracted in 1851. It served the community until 1910, when it closed its doors. The school was never a true university. It served educational needs of more youthful boys and girls. A historical marker on the campus recognizes the school's history and contributions.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Central High School, Marshall]

Description: Central High School was located on a hill at the conjunction of Railroad Ave. (now Alamo), Border St. (now Travis), and Fannin St in Marshall. It was built by Prof. H. B. Pemberton, using his own funds which were repaid by donations. It was the first public school for African-Americans in the city. In the beginning all grade levels were there. When elementary schools were built, those grades moved and Central became a high school. Later the high school moved to a new campus on Wiley Ave. (Rosborough Springs Rd.) The old building was torn down and the hill leveled. Today a historic marker stands on the site.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Central School, Marshall]

Description: Central School was the first public school in Harrison County for African-American children. It was located on a hill bounded by Railroad Ave. (now Alamo), Border St. (now Travis), and Fannin St. Founded by H. B. Pemberton, who was also its first principal, the school was later named for him. In early years the campus housed all grades; but when elementary schools were built, Central/Pemberton became a high school. When the school moved across town to a new site, the old buildings were razed and the hill levelled. A historical marker now commemorates the school.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Marshall University, Marshall]

Description: Marshall University was one of Marshall's earliest schools. It was authorized by Sam Houston in 1842. In 1843 Peter Whetstone, founder of Marshall, gave ten acres of land for educational purposes. The plot is located on the corner of W. Houston and College St. where Marshall Junior High School stands today. The building shown in the picture was contracted in 1851. It served the community until 1910, when it closed its doors. The school was never a true university. It served educational needs of more youthful boys and girls. A historical marker on the campus recognizes the school's history and contributions.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library
Back to Top of Screen