29,712 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Dean and Virginia Davis]

Description: Photograph of boy and girl in cap and gown posing in front of sign at intersection of Edgecliff and Alta Vista Avenue. The Davis' lived at 1000 Alta Vista.
Date: May 28, 1947
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Alledo School

Description: Photograph of children in front of school house. Pictured in photo are left to right: Top Row; Clara Kinsey, Verna Teague, Gussie Cox, Emma Kinsey 2nd Row; Unknown, Unknown, Unknown, Alfonso Grassel, Garvey Odom, Bryan Teague, Euclid Peavey 3rd Row: Edith Teague, Unknown, Bessie Cox, Etwell Peavy 4th Row; Arthur Smith, Unknown, Raymond Peavy, Vincent Grassell
Date: unknown
Partner: Wilson County Historical Society

Floresville Academy Students (Literary Lovely)

Description: Photograph of Floresville Academy students. Pictured from left to right are: Top Left; Green Gillett Back Row; Zella Dickey, Annie Hassay, Kate Isviss, Jennie Bayles, Lola Gilleth, Eugene Dickey, Bob Seale Middle Row; Julia Agee, Morra Garrison, Osie Lawhon, Mary Houston, Carrie Evans, Maria Agee, Nannie, Houston, Garrison Front Row; Alonzo Franks, unknown, Grnest LeLivingson, Professor Lopas, Allie Murrary, Ebbie Agee, Claude Thomas
Date: 1884
Partner: Wilson County Historical Society

Floresville School Students

Description: Photograph of students in front of school house. The card held by the boy in the middle of the front row says; Floresville, Texas. The boy's name is Haywood McDaniel. The boy who is third from the right in the first row is Charlie Culpepper. The teacher on the top row, far left, is Miss Myrtle Hurley (Mrs. Ed Franklin).
Date: 1907~
Partner: Wilson County Historical Society

[Marfa's Private School, 1905]

Description: Photograph of school children in April 1905. They are outside the school building in Marfa, Texas. The teachers, Elena Lopez and her sister Fe Lopez, stand in the doorway. Written on the blackboard in the photo, "Marfa's Private School, April 6, 1905"
Date: April 6, 1905
Partner: Marfa Public Library

Public School in Pettus

Description: Photograph of public school in Pettus. In 1892 this one-room schoolhouse, 18’ by 24’, was built in Pettus. It had two windows on the north side and two windows on the south. The boards on the inside of the east end were painted black to be used for a blackboard. The only door was to the west. The benches were home-made and the children brought their own lunches and water to drink. Miss Evelyn Hardeman was the first teacher and she had 13 students in grades first through fourth. As the community continued to grow the school was classified as a third-class high school in 1912. In 1917 or 1918, a stucco school building was erected.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

[Students Having Lunch Outside]

Description: Photograph of Eanes Rock School House students about to eat lunch outside. The children are lined up and looking towards the camera and in the background of the shot there are trees. On the back of the photograph, "R58" is printed as well as "APR 1940".
Date: April 1940
Creator: Eanes Rock School House
Partner: Westbank Community Library District

[Photograph of Students]

Description: Photograph of a group of students standing outside and leaning on a wire fence. Behind the students there is a set of bleachers and a tree and on the back of the photograph "APR 1940" and "R 5 8" is printed.
Date: April 1940
Partner: Westbank Community Library District

Andrews Chapel School

Description: Portrait of students who attended Andrews Chapel School. There are three rows of male and female students posing outside in front of the school. The school is a wooden structure with windows on both sides and is situated in between trees. A fence is visible behind the students.
Date: unknown
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

Saint Mary's Academy 1916

Description: Photograph of the students that attend Saint Mary's Academy in 1916. Saint Mary’s Academy was opened in the fall of 1896 by the Sisters of Divine Providence as Beeville's first parochial school. Within a year a large two-story day and boarding school were added. Fire destroyed the academy building in December of 1930. St. Joseph’s School was built on the same location (400 N Tyler St). In 1996, Our Lady of Victory Catholic School and St. Joseph’s combined to form the new St. Mary’s Academy on the same location as the early founding school.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

Public School In Pettus

Description: Postcard of school children standing in front Pettus school. In 1892 this one-room schoolhouse, 18’ by 24’, was built in Pettus. It had two windows on the north side and two windows on the south. The boards on the inside of the east end were painted black to be used for a blackboard. The only door was to the west. The benches were home-made and the children brought their own lunches and water to drink. Miss Evelyn Hardeman was the first teacher and she had 13 students in grades first through fourth. As the community continued to grow the school was classified as a third-class high school in 1912. In 1917 or 1918, a stucco school building was erected
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

Skidmore School 1916

Description: The first school in Skidmore was a three-room wooden structure and Professor L.W. Bell was the superintendent. In about 1909 the old school building was abandoned and this large two-story red brick schoolhouse was built closer to the street. The building had four wings, built in the form of a cross. This red-brick building was condemned in the late 1920’s and razed in 1929. It was replaced with a seven-classroom that had a large auditorium and library. In the 1950’s space became a problem, and in 1953 a new high school and gymnasium was completed
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

Orangedale Public School 1913

Description: Photograph of children that appear to be playing in front of the Orangedale School in 1913. In the early 1900’s the Wangeman Ranch was divided into small tracts and sold mostly to people from Northeastern and Eastern States who wanted to settle here and produce citrus fruits, particularly oranges. From which they derived the name Orangedale, and it was lcated about five miles west of Beeville on the road to Mineral. Around 1906 the settlers began to arrive to Orangedale. Included among these settlers was W.C. Stevenson (Bill) of Niagara Falls, New York, who later formed an architectural firm with Fritz Heldenfels and drew the plans for the present county courthouse. Many of the families found that other fruits and vegetables do better than oranges. Others moved on. Friendship Baptist Church still serves many families of farmers and ranchers in the area.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission