5,735 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Unidentified group of people]

Description: Photograph of unidentified group of people standing outside of the new Haslet Fire Station. The mixed group of men, women and children are standing alongside FM 156. There is visible a side garage, trees and electric poles in the background. This building is currently still used and it is now Haslet City Hall and offices.
Date: [1980?]
Partner: Haslet Public Library

[Motorized Fire Engine in 1916]

Description: Group of men standing in front of a new motorized fire engine at a fire station in Orange, Texas. George Rexes sits in the driver's seat. Others in the photo include: W.L. Adams, Mr. Caldwell, Mr. Spaull, E.P. Nies, Calvin Stakes, Shorty Gants, A.W. Barron, Wright Roan, George Caldwell, Jack Depew, Joe Crager, Jeff Guill and Dave Moskier.
Date: 1916
Creator: Hogan
Partner: Heritage House Museum

[The Mineral Wells Fire Department in 1975]

Description: Photograph of a group of firefighters posing in front of a firetruck. Shown in the top row are: Rene James, Weldon Hood, Jerry Kidwell, Walter Carter, Jerry Loftis. In the middle row: Eddie Bell, Eldred Fryer, Horace Roe, Bud Smith, Joe Knight, Kenneth Kinder. In the front row: B.H. "Tiny" Gilstrap, Eddie Fryer, Melton Brewton (Chief), Jerry Van Natta, Allen Fryer, Rickey Epperson, Larry Clutts, Louis Clutts, Butch Clutts, Gene Knerr, Davis Light, John Gilbert, Byron Kizziah, Bazil Wright, R.S. Purcell, W.G. Mullins, Sam Smith, Arthur Schulte, Cecil Holifield. Information for these names was taken from the back of photograph.
Date: 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Fire Extinguisher

Description: Patent for fire extinguisher improvements so as to use carbon dioxide to extinguish the flame.
Date: December 29, 1914
Creator: Parker, Howard R.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[Portrait of Dallas Fire Fighter]

Description: Portrait of Dallas Fire Department firefighter W. Turner, visible from the chest up, wearing a dark suit jacket and light-colored shirt, striped tie, and Dallas Fire Department hat. A hand written note on the back reads, "W. Turner, Dallas Fire Department."
Date: unknown
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

G&S Fire

Description: Photograph of a building ablaze with black smoke emitting from the roof, while a fireman takes aim at the fire through a window.
Date: unknown
Creator: Cochran, Jimmy W.
Partner: Midwestern State University

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 3 of 21: Baker Hotel in Background]

Description: The Damron Hotel (very popular in the resort city of Mineral Wells through the periods of the "Roaring Twenties", The Great Depression and World War II) was originally built as The Colonial Hotel in 1906 by J.T. Holt. Mr. Holt also owned a hardware store at the back of the hotel facing S. Oak Avenue, and a one-room buggy showroom between the hardware store and the hotel. The hotel was traded to Agnew and Bessie Damron around 1917 , and the name was changed to reflect the new ownership. Mr. Holt sold the hardware store to his manager, John Davidson. The Damron Hotel and Davidson Hardware burned completely on December 22, 1975. This picture of the fire was taken looking east on Hubbard Street. The Baker Hotel in the left middle of the photograph is to the north of most of the smoke.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 2 of 21: View South/Southeast ]

Description: The Colonial Hotel was built in 1906 by Mr. J. T. Holt for his second wife. Mr. Holt also owned a hardware store on S. Oak at the back of the hotel. The name of the hotel was changed to The Damron Hotel around 1917 when Mr. Holt traded it to Agnew and Bessie Damron. A hardware store, hard by, was sold to Mr. Holt's manager, John Davidson. The Damron Hotel, located at 109 W. Hubbbard Street, along with Davidson Hardware, burned completely on December 22, 1975. Please note the Christmas decoration, symbol of the season, on the telephone pole above the fire truck. The main entrance to the hotel is faintly visible through the dense smoke to the rear of the fire truck. The Crazy Hotel can be seen at the lower left edge of the picture.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 6 of 21: Bystanders Observing the Fire]

Description: The Damron Hotel was destroyed (on December 22, 1975) in a spectacular fire that received extensive photographic coverage. The hotel was located at 109 W. Hubbard. This is another picture of that immense conflagration. All the firemen answered a call that came in at 9:08 on the morning of the fire. The City of Weatherford also sent men and equipment over to help. Volunteers who were not themselves firemen also helped. Other buildings that suffered damage were Pemberton's (an appliance store across the street and west of the hotel), and the hardware store (Bought by Bob Sturtivant) next to the hotel. Note the height of the flames in this picture taken in the later stages of the fire.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library