713 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Post office in Casa Piedra, 1925]

Description: Picture of 1925 Casa Piedra post office. The post office was owned and managed by Conrado L. Vasquez. Four figures are in the photograph. From left to right: Santiago Ocon, Carmen Vasquez, Conrado Vasquez Jr., and Conrado Vasquez, Sr. To the right of the picture is a 1929 Buick owned by a shoe salesman.
Date: 1925
Partner: Marfa Public Library

U.S. Post Office

Description: The front of the second main Fort Worth post office, built in 1933. This monumental civic building was designed by Wyatt C. Hedrick and features good architecture with icons of the city. The Texas Limestone structure is a mix of Beaux Arts and Classical styling. The classical columns capitals on the building feature Texas Longhorn and Polled Hereford cattle and the cornice is ornamented with lion heads. The most dramatic space within the Post Office is the lobby, which runs the entire length of the building. Although it was constructed as a part of the Texas and Pacific Railway Complex, Hedrick chose to turn away from the Art Deco Styling of the Passenger Terminal and the Warehouse. The Post Office opened two years after the Texas and Pacific buildings.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

Dewees, Texas Post Office

Description: On the porch of the building is a man seated, a woman standing with another woman seated with child in arms. Water cistern on the left side of the building with a pipe attched to the roof gutter. It is a single story wood frame building with an attic window. Lower windows open.
Date: unknown
Partner: Wilson County Historical Society

Beeville Post Office

Description: In 1857, Michael Seeligson was the first postmaster at Beeville-on the Medio (originally Medio Hill in Goliad County), five miles northeast of the present town of Beeville. In the new county seat after 1889, the Beeville Post Office was moved several times. Opened on June 5, 1918, the present neoclassical building was built under Secretary of the Treasury William G. McAdoo, with Supervising Architect James A. Wetmore. During construction, on May 7, 1917, contractor Robert B. Brown shot and killed Drayman J.P. Hermes. Found guilty of homicide in federal court, Brown appealed. In 1921, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Homes ruled that Brown acted in self defense, thus establishing the right to stand one’s ground in federal law. With the WWII boom and Chase Naval Air Field, the Beeville Post Office was upgraded to a first-class post office in 1944. Other changes followed, such as the end of mail contracts for the railroads in December of 1952. In 1961, the size of the building was doubled by the matched addition of the north half of the present structure. Much needed parking space was provided on the south side of the building in 1989. One block from the courthouse, this historic building and its postal services continue to be vital to the life of the town.
Date: 1918
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

[Johnson City Post Office]

Description: Photograph of the Johnson City Post Office located in Johnson City, Texas. The close photo shows the double doors, tiled floors, and outdoor lights of the building. A plaque bearing the building's name and ZIP code is affixed to the wall on the right.
Date: unknown
Creator: Dietel, Norman
Partner: LBJ Museum of San Marcos