4,193 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Unidentified group of people]

Description: Photograph of unidentified group of people standing outside of the new Haslet Fire Station. The mixed group of men, women and children are standing alongside FM 156. There is visible a side garage, trees and electric poles in the background. This building is currently still used and it is now Haslet City Hall and offices.
Date: [1980?]
Partner: Haslet Public Library

Elmo Cook, County Agent

Description: Man seated at desk reading a publication entitled "The Extensioner". In the 1949 Austin City Directory Elmo V. Cook is listed as Farm Agent, Travis County.
Date: January 6, 1949
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Motorized Fire Engine in 1916]

Description: Group of men standing in front of a new motorized fire engine at a fire station in Orange, Texas. George Rexes sits in the driver's seat. Others in the photo include: W.L. Adams, Mr. Caldwell, Mr. Spaull, E.P. Nies, Calvin Stakes, Shorty Gants, A.W. Barron, Wright Roan, George Caldwell, Jack Depew, Joe Crager, Jeff Guill and Dave Moskier.
Date: 1916
Creator: Hogan
Partner: Heritage House Museum

[The Mineral Wells Fire Department in 1975]

Description: Photograph of a group of firefighters posing in front of a firetruck. Shown in the top row are: Rene James, Weldon Hood, Jerry Kidwell, Walter Carter, Jerry Loftis. In the middle row: Eddie Bell, Eldred Fryer, Horace Roe, Bud Smith, Joe Knight, Kenneth Kinder. In the front row: B.H. "Tiny" Gilstrap, Eddie Fryer, Melton Brewton (Chief), Jerry Van Natta, Allen Fryer, Rickey Epperson, Larry Clutts, Louis Clutts, Butch Clutts, Gene Knerr, Davis Light, John Gilbert, Byron Kizziah, Bazil Wright, R.S. Purcell, W.G. Mullins, Sam Smith, Arthur Schulte, Cecil Holifield. Information for these names was taken from the back of photograph.
Date: 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

U.S. Post Office

Description: The front of the second main Fort Worth post office, built in 1933. This monumental civic building was designed by Wyatt C. Hedrick and features good architecture with icons of the city. The Texas Limestone structure is a mix of Beaux Arts and Classical styling. The classical columns capitals on the building feature Texas Longhorn and Polled Hereford cattle and the cornice is ornamented with lion heads. The most dramatic space within the Post Office is the lobby, which runs the entire length of the building. Although it was constructed as a part of the Texas and Pacific Railway Complex, Hedrick chose to turn away from the Art Deco Styling of the Passenger Terminal and the Warehouse. The Post Office opened two years after the Texas and Pacific buildings.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room