2,247 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Isaac Green Parker

Description: Frontal pose of Isaac Green Parker, nephew of Isaac Parker. He married Polly Driskill. He was born Dec. 22, 1816 and died Jan. 22, 1875. Parker Memorial Cemetery was donated by his widow in his honor.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

Judy Parker

Description: Portrait of Judy Parker, born Judy Farrar, daughter of Betty Ward Farrar and Bill Farrar. She married William Parker, son of John C. Parker and Betty Elizabeth Wallace Parker, on Oct. 5, 1898. She was the mother of 12 children, including Beatrice Parker Green.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

Tom Green County, historic plaque

Description: Historic plaque. "Original Tom Green County on transcontinental trail of California Gold Rush. Until 1846 a part of Bexar Land District, Republic of Texas. Private tracts were surveyed as early as 1847. German emigration company colony (90 mi. SE) had grants here, but in 1840s found Indians blocking settlement. Butterland Overland Mail managers lived in stands in area, 1858-61. R. F. Tankersley family established a permanent home in 1864 in future Tom Green County. By 1874 there were five settlements here, including Bismarck Farm, a colony of 15 German immigrants. The County (12,756 sq. mi., 10 1/2 times as large as state of Rhode Island) was created in 1874, and named for heroic Gen. Green (1814-64), a state official and gallant Texas soldier. After a decade of progress, the original Tom Green County began losing outlying areas. Midland County - halfway between Fort Worth and El Paso on newly opened Texas & Pacific Railway - was created in 1885. Settlers remote from San Angelo petitioned for new counties in 1887, and the Texas Legislature created Crane, Loving, Upton, Ward adn Winkler. Coke and Irion Counties were cut out of Tom Green in 1889. Ector and Sterling were created in 1891. Last diversions - Glasscock (1893) and Reagan (1903) - gave Tom Green its present size. It remains influential in the region. (1972)"
Date: August 2, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Partner: UNT Libraries

[Portrait of A.B. Green]

Description: Portrait of A.B. Green, visible from the shoulders up, wearing a dark-colored suit and overcoat with a black bow tie. His hair is sticking from the back of his head, and he has a prominent beard. His name is printed beneath the photograph.
Date: unknown
Partner: Abilene Christian University Library

[Interior of a Department Store]

Description: Photograph of the interior of a department store. Visible in the aisles are candy, bolts of fabric and other sewing needs, hosiery, cosmetics, and other various items. The store is located at 804 Congress Avenue.
Date: April 6, 1956
Creator: Mears, Dewey G.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Documents related to the case of The State of Texas vs. E. J. Godsey, cause no. 741, 1872

Description: Documents related to the case of The State of Texas vs. E. J. Godsey, accused of theft, filed March 14, 1872. Documents include a letter of indictment signed by grand jury foreman N. P. Coleman, a charge of the court, requests for witnesses, and capiases.
Date: 1872
Creator: Thompson, Jeff. E. & Holland, B. C.
Partner: Henderson County District Clerk's Office

Documents related to the case of The State of Texas vs. Lucinda Johnson, principal, F. M. Kennedy, and David Fletcher, sureties, cause no. 780, 1872

Description: Documents related to the case of The State of Texas vs. George Carver, accused of assault to kill, filed July 12, 1872. Documents include a letter of indictment signed by the grand jury foreman Phil W. Thompson, a capias, a bill of costs, and a request for witnesses.
Date: 1872
Creator: Thompson, Jeff. E.
Partner: Henderson County District Clerk's Office

[Hoskins Residence]

Description: Photographic postcard of the family home of Joseph M. Hoskins, located at 210 South Green Street in Longview, Texas, as noted on the back of the postcard. The front of the home is pictured. It was built in 1902.
Date: 1902~
Partner: Longview Public Library