156 Matching Results

System maintenance June 24th between 9:00AM and 12:00PM CDT may cause brief service disruptions.

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Pan American Recreation Center Library

Description: Photograph of children reading at the Pan Am Rec Center library. Three children sit at a child's table with books covering the tabletop in front of them. Older children browse books from a shelf in the back. An adult looks on. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: November 1966
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Pan American Recreation Center Library

Description: Photograph of children in the stacks at the Pan Am Rec Center library. The shelves are packed with books. Two girls reach for books on shelves within reach. A third boy stands on a child's chair for reach. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: November 1966
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Storytime at the Pan American Recreation Center library]

Description: Photograph of a young woman reading a story to five children at the Pan American Recreation Center library. The woman and five children sit at a circular table with full stacks in the background. A second book lies unopened on the tabletop. An illustration of an elephant reading a book decorates the library wall. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: [1959..1969]
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

O. Henry's Wedding

Description: Original copy of statement by Lawrence K. Smoot, as recorded by Ralph Bickler, a court reporter, and furnished to [Trueman] O‘Quinn, relating the events surrounding the marriage of William Sydney Porter and Athol Estes at the Smoot home one July evening in 1887, with Lawrence as an “unofficial” witness when he was about 12 years of age. The date of the wedding was actually July 1, 1887 as a notice of the marriage appeared the next day in the Austin Daily Statesman.
Date: unknown
Creator: Bickler, Ralph A. & Smoot, Lawrence K.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

O. Henry

Description: Poem in honor of O Henry's death, first published by Mr. Christopher Morley in the "New York Evening Post", June 5, 1915.
Date: unknown
Creator: Morley, Christopher
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Cabbages and Kings

Description: This work is O. Henry's first published volume and is considered to be his only novel. The plot is composed of several short stories, which were inspired by the author's six-month stay in Honduras in the late 1890s.
Date: 1904
Creator: Henry, O., 1862-1910
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Rolling Stones

Description: This work is a collection of short stories, sketches, letters, and poems by O. Henry. The volume was named after the periodical the Rolling Stone, of which O. Henry was editor. It was published posthumously and includes a photograph of O. Henry, taken in 1909 shortly before his death.
Date: 1912
Creator: Henry, O., 1862-1910
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library