2,718 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Site of Fort Stockton Monument, Pecos County

Description: "Site of Fort Stockton Monument. Established on the Comanche Trail, March 2, 1859. As a protection to the San Antonio - San Diego mail route - named in honor of Commodore Robert Field Stockton, 1795-1866, who captured California for the United States. A state stand on the San Diego line, 1858-1861. Evacuated by federal troops during the Civil War. Reoccupied July 1867, permanently abandoned June 30, 1886."
Date: August 4, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Partner: UNT Libraries

Exterior Building

Description: Copy negative of Phantom Hill in present day Jones County. Today it is part of the Texas Forts Trail in West Central Texas. The fort was occupied by the U.S. Army from 1851 until 1854.
Date: unknown
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

U.S. Military Post, Officers' Quarters

Description: Photograph of Officers' Quarters at the U.S. Military post in San Antonio. The building is a slanted, two-story row of rooms in four segments. A brief, printed history of San Antonio is provided on the back of the photograph.
Date: unknown
Creator: Jacobson, M. E.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Fort Bliss, Tex.

Description: Photograph of the refugee camp at Fort Bliss, El Paso. Patrolmen are seen on duty outside of a fenced off camp with rows of tents. A sign on a pole advertises "Horas de visita" Inscription on the back reads "Refugee Camp where 600 Mexican Federal Soldiers are kept."
Date: April 5, 1914
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Fort Bliss, El Paso]

Description: Photograph of Fort Bliss, El Paso. A soldier is shown patrolling a fenced area. Inscription on the back reads "Showing Salazaar who objects to having his picture taken. El Paso, Ft. Bliss Refugee Camp. 4-5-14. I got this picture anyway by pressing the bulb with my foot. -F.C."
Date: April 5, 1914
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Layout of a Fort]

Description: This photograph shows a fort from a distance so that the buildings' layout is clear. There are rocks and some buildings that appear unattached to the fort in the foreground and mountains in the distance.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marfa Public Library

Fort Parker

Description: Old Fort Parker is a reconstructed fort that pays tribute to the Parker family and other pioneers who paid a high price to settle in Texas. The Parkers and other members of their church came to Texas from Crawford County, Illinois in 1833. In 1832, Daniel Parker, a staunch theologian, had gained permission to settle in Texas. After organizing those who wanted to go to Texas into the Predestinarian Baptist Church, they all left Illinois in July of 1833 in ox- drawn wagons. Daniel and the majority of his followers settled near the present City of Elkhart, where a replica of their Pilgrim Baptist Church still stands in their memory. Other members of the group preferred to settle farther west, near the Navasota River. Elder John Parker and three of his sons (Silas, James, and Benjamin) began in December 1833 to clear land and to construct "Parker's Fort." On May 19, 1836, Comanche Indians attacked the fort; 5 were killed, 5 were captured, and the 21 survivors made their way to where Palestine is today. The most famous of the captives was Cynthia Ann Parker. She adapted to Indian ways and later married Chief Peta Nocona. Quanah Parker, the last great Comanche chief, who was involved in the Battle of Palo Duro Canyon, was the most famous of their three children.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

Fort Parker

Description: Photograph of a corner section of Fort Parker. This segment appears to be constructed entirely of logs including the fence and corner tower. Old Fort Parker is a reconstructed fort that pays tribute to the Parker family and other pioneers who paid a high price to settle in Texas.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

Fort Parker

Description: Portion of the interior of the fort is shown. Old Fort Parker is a reconstructed fort that pays tribute to the Parker family and other pioneers who paid a high price to settle in Texas. The Parkers and other members of their church came to Texas from Crawford County, Illinois in 1833. In 1832, Daniel Parker, a staunch theologian, had gained permission to settle in Texas. After organizing those who wanted to go to Texas into the Predestinarian Baptist Church, they all left Illinois in July of 1833 in ox- drawn wagons. Daniel and the majority of his followers settled near the present City of Elkhart, where a replica of their Pilgrim Baptist Church still stands in their memory. Other members of the group preferred to settle farther west, near the Navasota River. Elder John Parker and three of his sons (Silas, James, and Benjamin) began in December 1833 to clear land and to construct "Parker's Fort." On May 19, 1836, Comanche Indians attacked the fort; 5 were killed, 5 were captured, and the 21 survivors made their way to where Palestine is today. The most famous of the captives was Cynthia Ann Parker. She adapted to Indian ways and later married Chief Peta Nocona. Quanah Parker, the last great Comanche chief, who was involved in the Battle of Palo Duro Canyon, was the most famous of their three children.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

[Fort Davis]

Description: Postcard of a black and white picture of about eleven houses in a row with a large hill behind the houses covered in trees and dirt road in front of the houses. The writing on the bottom reads: "Old Fort Davis and Sleeping Lion Mountain - Fort Davis, Texas. 6-P-279."
Date: unknown
Location Info:
Partner: Permian Basin Petroleum Museum, Library and Hall of Fame

Fort Thomas Arizona

Description: Copy negative of Fort Thomas in Arizona. There are several long buildings surrounded by a perimeter of trees. In the background, there is open land. Text written on the photograph says "SCS Camp 10A Ft. Thomas, Ariz."
Date: unknown
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library