167 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[University of Texas Old Main Building]

Description: Back of photograph reads: "University of Texas. This view shows the west wing of the present main building taken from about where Sutton Hall now stands. The erection of this was started in the fall of 1883 and finished in the summer of 1884. The University of Texas opened Sept. 1883 in the temporary Capitol building and moved to the west wing in the fall of 1884. Copy of old photograph."
Date: unknown
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Old Main Building

Description: Copy photograph of the exterior of Old Main Building on the campus of Baylor University. The building has several towers and arched windows. A handwritten note at bottom reads, "1910 Round-Up."
Date: unknown
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

[Old Main in Snow]

Description: Photograph of the Old Main building on the Texas Lutheran College campus during the snowfall of January 30th 1949. There are several palm trees, shrubs, and plants covered in snow in the lawn near the building. There is a light pole in the center of the photo. On the left of the photo a group of unidentified people can be seen in the snow.
Date: January 30, 1949
Creator: Streng, Evelyn Fiedler
Partner: Texas Lutheran University

[University of Texas Old Main Building at night]

Description: Photograph of the University of Texas Old Main Building at night. The foyer and the clock face are lit from within. All other windows remain dark and uninhabited. The main front staircase is lit from a street lamp that is out of left frame. Ivy covers the lower half of the main building. The Old Main Building was constructed in three phases and completed in 1899. It remained the main administrative and library building for 35 years until its destruction in 1934.
Date: [..1934]
Creator: Barnes, Walter
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[University of Texas Old Main Building, 1925]

Description: Photograph of Old Main Building at UT featuring vine growth on building. A number of students and faculty walk on the sidewalks and lounge on the grass in front of and on the sides of the lawn. Architect F. E. Ruffini of Austin designed this building in the Victorian-Gothic style. The structure was built in three stages: the west wing was completed in 1883 for The University’s first class of 221 students; the central section in 1891; and finally the east wing in 1899. Old Main featured wide corridors, high rotundas, a 2,000 seat grand auditorium, a library, a chapel, 9 spacious lecture halls, 30 classrooms, and even a dressing room for the ladies’ cloaks and bonnets. The Girl's Study Hall was furnished with wicker rocking chairs. In 1932, a mere 35 year after the building was completed, the University announced the raising of Old Main in favor of building a new administration-library building, much to the protests of faculty, students, and residents of Austin.
Date: 1925
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

University of Texas old main building and library

Description: Photograph of View of the University of Texas old Main Building and Library. The Old Main Building was constructed in three phases and completed in 1899. It remained the main administrative and library building for 35 years until its destruction in 1934.
Date: [1899..1934]
Creator: Bownds, Marlin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Old Main Building at TWU]

Description: Photograph of Old Main Building of Texas State College for Women, now known as Texas Woman's University. The three-story building is partially obscured by trees. The architecture includes columns and a dome.
Date: unknown
Partner: Denton Public Library

[Text of Old Main Description]

Description: Photograph and description of the Old Main at Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas. The origins and remodeling of the building are discussed. The campus as a whole is also talked about in relation to the other campuses in Abilene.
Date: unknown
Location Info:
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library