65 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[New Edition to the Timothy Wall at the First Christian Church]

Description: Photograph of Edward Anderson, the new Timothy at First Christian Church, honored by having his photo hung on the Timothy Wall in the narthex of the sanctuary. In photo, left to right: John M. Hughes, Minister; Mary Jane Anderson, Eddie's wife; Glynn Lowther, Deacon; Edward Anderson receiving a congratulatory handshake from Charles Poston, Chairman of the Official Board; Miss Verna Evelyn Johnson, Minister of Education; and E.M. Reeder, Church elder.
Date: August 31, 1958
Creator: J.C. Watkins Photography
Partner: First Christian Church of Port Arthur

[First Christian Church Chuck Wagon Supper]

Description: Photograph of the First Christian Church Chuck Wagon Supper on grounds of the historic home, Rose Hill, adjacent to the Sabine-Neches Waterway and at foot of Woodworth Blvd. at Lakeshore Drive. A large number of people are congregating around several picnic tables and chairs.
Date: August 30, 1957
Creator: J.C. Watkins Photography
Partner: First Christian Church of Port Arthur

[Postcard of a Flooded Street in Port Arthur, Texas, August 1915]

Description: Postcard depicting a group of men standing in a flooded street in Port Arthur, Texas. The waters rise over the knees of the men gathered at the intersection of Austin and 5th Street. Two telephone lines and two buildings loom above either side of the street; the building to the right is the Port Arthur post office. Trees and several other buildings can be seen in the background.
Date: August 17, 1915
Creator: D & H Photo
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Photograph of Aerial View of Port Arthur, 1945]

Description: Photograph of Port Arthur, Texas, with an aerial view of the courthouse, bridge, Pleasure Island, and YMCA. The courthouse stands in the stone building in the center of the photo, surrounded by streets that are lined with cars. The bridge is raised for a passing boat. Beyond the bridge, a roller coaster can be seen. The Watkins Studio mark is in the bottom right corner.
Date: August 1, 1945
Creator: Watkins Studio
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Photograph of Aerial View of Rainbow Bridge, 1957]

Description: Photograph with aerial view of the Rainbow Bridge spanning the Neches River near Port Arthur, Texas. Shadows of several clouds dot the landscape. A ship is passing underneath the bridge. Several canals branch off from the river on its way to Sabine Lake, which encompasses much of the background. The other side of the photo has a handwritten note saying that this was a gift of A. W. Catanach, 1992.
Date: August 2, 1957
Creator: Watkins Studio
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Flooding Outside Post Office]

Description: Photograph of people pushing boats and standing in high flood waters in front of the post office in Port Arthur, Texas. Several people sit in a horse-drawn wagon to the right, and a large group of people stand on the post office's steps.
Date: August 18, 1915
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Refugees Leaving T. T. Co. Plant]

Description: Photograph of several people wading through high waters after a flood to leave the T. T. Co. plant in Port Arthur, Texas. A man drives a wagon pulled by two horses through the water, and a boat follows behind him. There is a train to the right, and buildings in the background.
Date: August 20, 1915
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[People in Flood Waters]

Description: Photograph of a large group of people standing in flood waters after a hurricane in Port Arthur, Texas. Two boys push a boat to the left, and a carriage is visible to the right. A group of people stand on the steps of the building in the background.
Date: August 18, 1915
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[People Standing in Flood Waters]

Description: Photograph of a group of people standing in knee-high water in front of a building after a flood in Port Arthur, Texas. An overturned tree is visible to the left in front of the building, and there are several other buildings in the background.
Date: August 1915
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast