25 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[John Dollinger, Jr. Inc. barge]

Description: Photograph of the first barge purchased by John Dollinger Jr., Inc., anchored at the Port of Beaumont. The barge was purchased from U. S. Steel in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1949. It is loaded with steel products that include beams and sheet metal. Several men are standing on the dock on the far left. In the background are warehouse buildings, a crane, and a watertower. The Neches River is the body of water on the right. The back of the photo is stamped "BM Photograph Business Men's Studio Beaumont, Texas"
Date: 1949
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Calder Place house]

Description: Photograph of a house on Calder Place that was designed by Steinman and Golemon, Architects. The ornamental steel seen on the windows and patio were designed and provided by John Dollinger Jr., Inc. The back of the photo is stamped "Business Men's Studio 201 Main Street Beaumont, Texas"
Date: [1940..1949]
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[John Dollinger, Jr. Inc. barge]

Description: Photograph of the first barge purchased by John Dollinger Jr., Inc., anchored at the Port of Beaumont. The barge was purchased from U. S. Steel in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1949. Several men with the help of a crane are in the process of loading it with products from the steel factory. The Neches River is on the left with a tugboat at the left edge. A ship can be seen docked in the left background. Stamped on the back of the photograph is "BM Photography Business Men's Studio Beaumont, Texas"
Date: 1949
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Magnolia Petroleum Company smokestack]

Description: Photograph of a smokestack built for the Magnolia Petroleum Company during installation. The unit was built and installed by Alcorn Combustion Company out of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, using materials provided by John Dollinger Jr., Inc. Several men are amongst construction materials that are in the foreground. Two cranes are lifting the stack into place. To the left is a second smokestack that says "Steel by Dollinger." Stamped on the back of the photograph is "BM Photography Business Men's Studio Beaumont, Texas"
Date: November 1953
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[John Dollinger, Jr. Inc. barge]

Description: Photograph of the first barge purchased by John Dollinger Jr., Inc., anchored at the Port of Beaumont. The barge was purchased from U. S. Steel in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1949. A group of men are in the process of loading it with steel products with the help of a crane. A railcar on the far left has brought materials from the factory that are to be loaded on to the barge. In the background are warehouse buildings, a crane, and a watertower. The Neches River is the body of water on the right. Stamped on the back of the photograph is "BM Photography Business Men's Studio Beaumont, Texas"
Date: 1949
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[John Dollinger Jr., Inc. barge]

Description: Photograph of the first barge purchased by John Dollinger Jr., Inc., anchored at the Port of Beaumont. The barge was purchased from U. S. Steel in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1949. A group of men are in the process of loading it with steel products with the help of a crane. In the background are warehouse buildings, a crane, and a watertower. The Neches River is the body of water on the right. Handwritten on the back of the photo, "1st barge load steel ever received for John Dollinger Jr Inc. May 22, 1950" Stamped on the back of the photograph is "BM Photography Business Men's Studio Beaumont, Texas"
Date: May 22, 1950
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[One hundred year church marker]

Description: Photograph of the one hundred year history marker for the Westminster Presbyterian Church in Beaumont, Texas. The celebration and dedication of the historic marker took place on March 1 to 2, 1980. Former pastor, Reverend Dr. John R. Hendrick was the guest speaker for the event.
Date: March 2, 1980
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Magnolia Petroleum Company building construction]

Description: Photograph of construction of a Magnolia Petroleum Company building, being built by Alcorn Combustion Company, showing a steel structure by John Dollinger Jr., Inc. Two men are standing near the structure on the left and another is on the far right side of the photograph. Two workers can be seen within the building on the left, each wearing a hard hat. A crane at the top of the structure says "The Lummus Company." Several stacks of lumber are seen scattered in areas around the site. John Dollinger Jr., Inc. also provided breechings and a stack for a heater for the project. Handwritten on the back of the photo, "H catin Steel - Magnolia Petroleum Co. Alcor" Stamped on the back of the photograph is "BM Photography Business Men's Studio Beaumont, Texas"
Date: November 11, 1953
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Rice threshing near Beaumont, Texas]

Description: Postcard of rice threshing near Beaumont, Texas with at least seven African American men, a mule-drawn carriage, bags, rice, and machinery. On the right side of the postcard can be seen the threshing machine separating the grain from the stalks. Men are standing near the thresher as well as on and near a mule drawn cart between a pile of grain and bags. Another cart can be seen on the right side of the postcard. On the top right of the postcard is printed "Rice Threshing near Beaumont, Texas." Rice production is a key agricultural commodity for the area situated around Beaumont, Texas.
Date: 1926
Creator: D. J. Hicks
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Magnolia Cemetery]

Description: Postcard of Magnolia Cemetery in Beaumont with gate that says "Magnolia Cemetery." Printed at the top is "Magnolia Cemetery, Beaumont, Texas." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "9744."
Date: October 6, 1915
Creator: D. J. Hicks Book Store
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Downtown and Port of Beaumont]

Description: Postcard of the Port of Beaumont on the Neches River with downtown Beaumont in the background. In the foreground, written in the grass, is "Port of Beaumont." At least five ships and a tugboat are visible at the port. The Kansas City Southern Lift Bridge is visible on the right side of the photograph and in the background downtown Beaumont buildings can be seen including the Jefferson County Courthouse. On the back of the postcard is printed the following: "The City of Beaumont is one of the Nation's most fascinating. It offers a wonderful climate and the warmest of Texas hospitality, blended with the salt tang of a major sea port and the brisk air of a mushrooming metropolis." The following companies are credited on the back of the postcard: "Color by Business Men's Studio" "The Edwards News Co., Beaumont, Texas" and "Plastichrome by Colourplate, Boston, Mass."
Date: [1940..1969]
Creator: The Edwards News Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Neches River Bridge]

Description: Postcard of the Neches River Bridge in Beaumont. A man is standing in the bottom left corner. The Neches River Bridge opened to the public on May 9, 1925. Printed at the top of the postcard is "Neches River Bridge, Beaumont, Texas." Printed at the bottom is "109451 - N." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "The Edwards News Co., Port Arthur & Beaumont, Texas" and "Genuine Curteich-Chicago 'C.T. American Art' Post Card (Reg. U.S. Pat. Off.)."
Date: [1925..1928]
Creator: The Edwards News Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Gilbert Building, Gulf National Bank]

Description: Postcard of the Gilbert Building on Pearl Street with Gulf National Bank in Beaumont. On the street are automobiles, women, and men, and in the background are other buildings. A sign on the corner of the building reads "Gulf National Bank." The Gilbert Building was built in 1903. Printed on the top left of the postcard is "Gilbert Building, Gulf National Bank, Beaumont, Texas." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Pub. by The Acmegraph Co., Chicago." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Dear Mrs. Steacy - I am perfectly desperate since you left from ?, otherwise and delight- fully situated at 1198 Hazel St. Let me hear from you soon. Your beau Jo Robertson." The card is addressed to Mrs. Harren Steacy 511 Harvard St Houston Heights Texas.
Date: December 9, 1915
Creator: The Acmegraph Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Shipyard in Beaumont]

Description: Postcard of a shipyard in Beaumont in the early 1900s, likely the Beaumont Shipyard Company. Seen on the left of the postcard is a ship with at least four men on and around the ship. On the ship appears to be written "...Beaumont." Printed at the top left of the postcard is "Ship Yard, Beaumont, Tex." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Made in Germany. D.J. Hicks, Importer and Publisher, Beaumont, Texas" and "122771." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Mary Lou - What are you all doing today - am sending you mama's slippers. had to wait for letter - did not have any things in small - we are all having a fine time - am exfectin a letter from you all ." The card is addressed to Miss Mary Lou Ginndy Goldthwaite, Tex.
Date: January 21, 1908
Creator: D. J. Hicks
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[A Beautiful Drive]

Description: Postcard of a road through trees in Beaumont, Texas with the caption, "A Beautiful Drive, Beaumont, Texas." In the far distance down the road is possibly an automobile.
Date: [1900..1952]
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Saint Anthony Catholic Church and Convent]

Description: Postcard of St. Anthony Catholic Church, later St. Anthony Cathedral Basilica, and convent located on Archie, Forsythe, Jefferson, and Wall streets. Printed at the top left of the postcard is "Saint Anthony's Catholic Church and Convent, Beaumont, Texas." On the back of the postcard is printed the following information regarding its creation: "Published by S.H. Kress & Co. Made in the U.S.A." and "A-470." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Beaumont Texas Box 39. Have been here two weeks today visiting Verda. Will be here several months write to me and it will be appreciated I can assure you. My love to the children and yourself. All well at home. Obera B." The card is addressed to Mrs. G. A. Taylor 917 Clarendon, St. Louis, Missouri.
Date: February 8, 1913
Creator: S. H. Kress & Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Beaumont City Hall]

Description: Postcard of Beaumont City Hall on Main Street between Gilbert and College streets. Two men can be seen standing on the right bottom of the picture. This building was built in 1909 to serve as a cooperative market by the City of Beaumont, but was used as a City Hall and Jail from about 1910 until 1926. Later in the 1920s it was used as a market and at one time went by the name of the Nancy Tevis Market. Printed on the top left of the postcard is "City Hall, Beaumont, Texas.--19." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding its creation: "E.C. Kropp Co., Milwaukee" and "27097N." The card is addressed to Mrs. C S Browne (?) 111 Long St, West Roxbury, Mass.
Date: [1909..1926]
Creator: E. C. Kropp Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Schools of Beaumont, Texas]

Description: Postcard of the South Park School, Ogden School, and Pennsylvania School, three schools in Beaumont. Printed on the front of the card is "Schools of Beaumont Texas" and the names of each school.
Date: [1910..1949]
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Beaumont Country Club]

Description: Postcard of of the Beaumont County Club house with pier and boathouse in the foreground. The Beaumont Country Club was formed in 1906 on a hill overlooking the Neches River on a hundred acres of land. Printed at the top left of the postcard is "Country Club House, BEAUMONT, Texas." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information related to the postcard's creation: "Made in Germany. D.J. Hicks, Importer and Publisher, Beaumont, Texas" and "G.A.P.C.M. Co., N.Y." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Dear Julia - This is Sunday and we are busy as ever. I will write a letter tomorrow Hoping this will find you well and happy Mamma." The card is addressed to Mrs. Julia Stafford, Meridian Mississippi (Meridian Norman's College).
Date: October 18, 1909
Creator: D. J. Hicks
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Central Fire Station]

Description: Postcard of Beaumont Fire Department's Central Fire Station at Mulberry and Walnut streets with horse drawn fire engines, carriages, and fire fighters. On the left side of the building is a sign for "Entrance, City Hall" and two children sitting near the entrance. At that time the fire department shared the building with city hall. On the right side of the building, on the second story, appear to be legs dangling out of the window. Other buildings can be seen in the background. Printed at the top of the postcard is "Central Fire Station, Beaumont, Texas." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Published by S.H. Kress & Co. Made in U.S.A." and "A-466." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Beaumont Texas July 26, 14 Mrs. M.E. Smith Dear Aunt How are you all Why don't some of you all rite I have written to you all several times and never received any reply All well Hope this will find you all the same We like here fine This is a fine place What is William doing What has gone with them and the boys very well E.F. Scott 470 Buford St Bmt, Tex." The card is addressed to Mrs. M.E. Smith c/o W.M. Beckworth Anderson Texas
Date: July 27, 1914
Creator: S. H. Kress & Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Home of J. Frank Keith]

Description: Postcard of J. Frank Keith's home, Arbol Grande, on Calder Avenue. In the foreground is a utility pole. Printed on the bottom of the postcard is " 'Arbol Grande" and printed at the top is "Beaumont, Tex." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Tom Jones, Cincinnati, O" and "For 'Szafirs,' Stationers, Beaumont, Tex." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Hello Miss V. & saw your brother this morning. Why didnt you come to (?) There is lots of excitement here now. Carnival, Race horses and Preachers. Howard" The card is addressed to Miss Virgie Reed Burnet Tex.
Date: [1900..1929]
Creator: Tom Jones, Cincinnati, O
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Magnolia Nursery]

Description: Postcard of Magnolia Nursery in Beaumont. Printed at the top of the postcard is "Magnolia Nursery, Beaumont, Texas." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "9728."
Date: [1907..1952]
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[First Baptist Church]

Description: Postcard of the First Baptist Church and Y.M.C.A., on the corner of Pearl and Forsythe streets, with three men and a carriage on Forsythe Street. In front of the First Baptist Church on the left side of the postcard is a signboard. In the foreground are street railroad tracks. This building was completed in 1903 and later was converted to the Tyrrell Library in 1925. Printed at the top of the postcard is "First Baptist Church and Y.M.C.A., Beaumont, Tex." Written on the bottom of the postcard is "65509." On the back of the postcard is printed the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Pub. by E. Szafir & Son Co., Beaumont, Tex."
Date: [1903..1923]
Creator: E. Szafir & Son Co.
Location Info:
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[Lover's Lane]

Description: Postcard of Lover's Lane and the Neches River in Beaumont. A walkway leading to a building is on the left. Typed at the bottom of the postcard is "Lover's Lane and Neches River, Beaumont, Texas." Beaumont's Lover's Lane was located near the Neches River between the Hotel Dieu and city docks. A note with the postcard states that the house in the background is the Paul Millard home. The Millard home, also known as the O'Brien home, sat on the corner of Blanchette and Orleans Street and marked as an entrance to Lover's Lane. It was demolished in 1962. Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Plate 2617."
Date: [1907..1919]
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library