435 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Thelma Doss Interviews Claude Gardner]

Description: Thelma Doss interviews the writer Claude Garner on KORC Radio. Looking on are (left) W. Lions; (center) Corcanges [founder & owner of the station]; (right)Orval Shore. KORC radio broadcast first on December 5, 1946. Its name was changed to KJSA-AM in 1973. This picture is featured in "Time Was in Mineral Wells" on page 185.
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[102 W. 8th]

Description: Photograph of a building taken on the corner of 8th Street and Main Street in Georgetown, Texas.The side of the building has three circular windows below five rectangular windows with rounded tops. The sign on the storefront reads "Kqtn. Fm 967, 1530 AM."
Date: unknown
Location Info:
Partner: Southwestern University

[Sam Whatley Presenting Check to Slogan Contest Winner]

Description: Sam Whatley (dressed in a Cadillac uniform), the Service Manager for the Young Motor Company (a local Cadillac dealership), presents a check to Mr. and Mrs. Evans Holland, winners of a slogan contest. The winning slogan was "Cadillac every time for better motor service." The microphone above them is labeled as belonging to station KORC, which opened December 5, 1946. It changed its name to KJSA in 1983, when the station was sold to Jerry Snyder. A colophon on the lower right identifies "SW Photo" as the photographer. (The picture occurs on page 185 of TIME WAS, second edition.)
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[A Man, A Woman and a Portrait]

Description: Ruby Shattles (Mrs. Jesse Shattles) presents a portrait of Achilles Corcanges to Mr. Corcanges, founder & owner of radio station KORC in Mineral Wells. Mrs. Shattles owned and operated Pavilion Studios at 412 North Oak. This picture may be found in "Time Was in Mineral Wells" on page 185.
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

KORC 1140 On Your Dial

Description: A picture of a KORC-KBS Microphone--"1140 on your dial" is shown here. Mineral Wells' radio history dates back to the 1930's when Mr. Hal Collins, owner of the Crazy Hotel, began sponsoring broadcasts originating in the hotel lobby. The radio station was founded and owned by Mr. Achilles Corcanges, and aired its first broadcast on December 5, 1946. Radio station KMWT-FM began broadcasting from Mineral Wells in 1970. The broadcasts were aired nationwide, at noon daily, over the Texas Quality Network. It advertised Crazy Water Crystals. Both stations' call letters were changed in 1983 to KJAS-AM and KYXS-FM. Many show business luminaries appeared on the shows. For instance, Mary Martin of Weatherford began her singing/acting career here.
Date: 1946
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Five men in KNOW Radio Station]

Description: Five men broadcasting at KNOW Radio Station. The men are wearing suits and ties. One man is standing next to a microphone holding a sheet of paper. The four other men are seated around a table.
Date: November 12, 1951
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[A Portrait Presentation at KORC]

Description: Mrs. Jess (Ruby) Shattles presents a photographic picture of Achilles Corcanges, founder and owner of radio station KORC in Mineral Wells to the same Mr. Corcanges. Mrs. Shattles owned and operated Pavilion Studio at 412 N. Oak Avenue. The picture was taken about 1946, when station KORC opened. The unidentified gentleman, with his back to the photographer,on the left is believed to be Mr. Shattles.
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[LeTourneau Radio Station]

Description: Photograph of Robert G. LeTourneau's Christian broadcasting radio station, called KLTI, which was located in Longview, Texas. In the photograph, the radio station is shown in the middle of a field, and there is a tall radio tower to the right of the station.
Date: 1950~
Partner: Longview Public Library

[Ham Radio QSL Card from William O. Ansley, Jr.]

Description: Contact confirmation card, or QSL, belonging to William O. Ansley, Jr. A radio call sign, along with transmitter and receiver specifications, are featured on the card. The card is decorated with a printed boarder image of farmers working in a field. The printed outline of the state of Texas surrounds the call sign in the center, with Abilene shown marked by a star within the state.
Date: unknown
Creator: Ansley, William O.
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

[Letter from John J. Herrera to D. F. Prince - 1947-07-09]

Description: Onionskin carbon copy of a letter from John J. Herrera to D. F. Prince in Washington, D. C. Herrera inquires about the call letters for Felix H. Morales's proposed station. Herrera informs Prince about Morales' concerns for the approval of his radio station permit.
Date: July 9, 1947
Creator: Herrera, John J.
Partner: Houston Metropolitan Research Center at Houston Public Library

[Group of people in WMIK studio]

Description: Photograph of a group of people standing in a studio for the Middlesboro, Kentucky radio station, WMIK. There is a man wearing a three button suit in the center of a photograph and a woman holding a guitar just behind him.
Date: 194u
Creator: Clark, Joe
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections