349 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Church Construction]

Description: Copy negative of the Danevang Lutheran Church being reconstructed in Danevang, Texas. There are construction workers and a large truck with equipment visible, as well as trees and shrubs in the background.
Date: 1946/1947
Partner: Danish Heritage Preservation Society

[Chapel]

Description: (Back of Photo) The Chapel - as you remember our old church, it is the east end of main church and is opened up for more seating - Really it is always open and a part of the church - but can be closed off for smaller services. From the William Blackshear collection, which was donated to the Palestine Public Library.
Date: unknown
Partner: Palestine Public Library

Minter's Chapel

Description: Soon after lay Minister Green W. Minter (1803-1887) moved here about 1854, he helped organize Minter's Chapel Methodist Church. His son-in-law James Cate set aside 4.1 acres here for a church and burial ground. The early log meetinghouse was replaced in 1882 by a frame structure.
Date: unknown
Partner: Tarrant County College NE, Heritage Room

The Chapel at Hampton Institute

Description: Color postcard depicting the Chapel at Hampton Institute. It is a brick building with a tall bell tower. The date 9-22-07 is hand written on the front. Information on the back reads, "The Chapel at Hampton Institute. The Memorial Chapel dedicated in May 1886 was a gift of the Frederick L. Marquand Estate. It is a perfect specimen of Italian Romanesque architecture and is built of red brick outside while the interior is cream brick." It is addressed to Miss Rosa Bassano, Paris, Tex. It is postmarked Fortress Monroe, Va. on Sept 22, 1907.
Date: unknown
Partner: Private Collection of Joe E. Haynes

Little Chapel in the Woods stained glass window

Description: A photograph of the Motherhood stained glass window of the Little Chapel in the Woods is shown. The stained glass window reads: "She looketh well to the ways of her house. Hold and eateth not the bread of idleness. She seeketh wool and flax and worketh willingly with her hands. She openeth her mouth with wisdom and in her tongue is the law of kindness. Strength and honor are her clothing and she shall rejoice in time to come. Her children arise up and call her blessed. Her husband also praiseth her. To the glory of God and in grateful [illegible] to Mr. and Mrs. W. R. Nicholson.
Date: unknown
Partner: Denton Public Library

[Bishop College Chapel, Marshall]

Description: This building was erected to be a temporary chapel for Bishop College when the campus was located in Marshall. Bishop was a historic Baptist college for African-American students that was established in 1881. In 1961 the campus relocated to Dallas. Falling upon hard times, Bishop closed in 1988. None of the original Marshall campus remains.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library
Back to Top of Screen