8,474 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Preacher shaking hands with the congregation]

Description: Photograph of a preacher reaching over his podium to shake hands with congregation. A young girl on the left side of the image shakes his right hand and is barely in frame. A table sits in front of the podium and has two baskets filled with cloth napkins, a pile of rags and a bible sits next to them. A man stands behind the preacher, and the rest of the congregation stand behind the podium on the left side of the image.
Date: [1939..1989]
Creator: Clark, Joe
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The American Church in Paris]

Description: The American Church in Paris, 65 Quai D'Orsay - This is a postcard that was mailed to Mrs. Jayne May Brooks - 9 rue Falquierre, Paris, France. she was the sister of Mrs MacPherson. Postcard is from the William Blackshear collection, which was donated to the Palestine Public Library.
Date: unknown
Partner: Palestine Public Library

[Preacher and congregation]

Description: Photograph of a preacher standing at the pulpit as he addresses his congregation. The church is divided with the women sitting on the left side of the image and the men seated on the right.
Date: 1941
Creator: Clark, Joe
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

First Presbyterian Church in 1896

Description: Handwritten notes on this old newspaper clipping indicate that it was given by M. J. Graham to A. F. Weaver, and correctly reports that the church structure burned August 25, 1908. The article erroneously states that it burned July 4, 1914. The article appears to have been published in the Mineral Wells Index. The caption reads: "Crowd attends dedication of the wooden church as it nears completion in the summer of 1896, when the edifice was dedicated to the Lord and mankind. On July 4th, 1914, the church was destroyed by one of the most disastrous fires in the history of Mineral Wells, when 34 residences and hotels, for two blocks east and west, and four blocks north--from Hubbard St. to NW 4th Street--burned. Every place from Hubbard north to 4th Street except the Tygrett home. "The present church was constructed some two years after the wooden church burned, on the same site--the corner NW 2nd Street and NW 4th Avenue. Perhaps some of the youngsters in the picture are living in the community today [2013]. Picture made available by M. J. Graham from his file of papers and pictures on the history of Presbyterianism in this community. "Until the present domed brick church was completed, the Presbyterians held Sunday School and church on the lower floor of the Odd Fellow Building in the 200 block on North Oak." The domed brick church mentioned in the article was built in 1909, (at a cost of $15,000, according to the El Paso Morning Times of 1909) and was replaced by a third church at this location in the 1980's due to structural deterioration. Please note: The picture in this article has been slightly cropped from it's original form, which is also in the A. F. Weaver Collection with the title [First …
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Baptism in Stock Tank

Description: Copy negative of two images showing a baptism in a stock tank. The top photograph shows several people lined up in the water and more sitting and standing on the shore. The bottom photograph shows three men chest-deep in the water, one with his hand raised.
Date: unknown
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

[Photograph of Murphy Baptist Church Pastor Surrounded by Congregation Members]

Description: Photograph of a man in a dark suit with a blue dress shirt and red tie standing and holding a brown paper bag with a red gift-bow. He is surrounded by children, teenagers, and a few adults, all turned to look at the man. Some of the other people in the room are holding other gifts in their hands. The group is gathered in a small, low-ceiling room. Handwritten notes on the back of the photo indicate the man in the suit is the pastor of Murphy Baptist Church.
Date: unknown
Partner: Murphy Historical Society Inc.

St. Mary's Catholic Church

Description: Photograph of the congregation of St. Mary's Catholic Church in front of the church. According to accompanying information, they are celebrating Rev. C. J. Benes's twenty-fifth anniversary. The priests are in the front, and there is a band behind them to the right. Some people throughout the crowd are holding flags, and there is a windmill and a water tower. Horse-drawn carriages are lined up around the side of the church. Written on the left side of the photograph, toward the bottom, is "'Braunig' Hallesttsville, Texas" and "Rev. C. J. Benes 25th Anniversary Oct. 28, 1915." On the back is written "Property of Bob Ahrens Hallettsville, TX."
Date: October 28, 1915
Creator: Braunig, H. J.
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

[Photograph of Baptism of Dorothy Kirkwood]

Description: Photograph of a middle-aged man wearing glasses, a white t-shirt, and a tie standing in waist-deep water in a very small room. A young brunette girl wearing a white robe is also standing in the water, with her arms crossed over her chest. Handwritten notes on the back of the photo indicate the man is Reverend Joe Hough, and is baptizing a girl named Dorothy Kirkwood.
Date: unknown
Partner: Murphy Historical Society Inc.

Baptism in Stock Tank

Description: Copy negative of two images showing a baptism in a stock tank. The photograph on the left shows three men chest-deep in water, one with his hand raised. The image on the right shows several people gathered in the water and others on the shore.
Date: unknown
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

[Photograph of Baptism]

Description: Photograph of a baptism, showing two lines of men and women standing in the middle of a pond with one women about to be dunked by the pastor. On the back of the photograph, Inez Norton is written as well as the following, "The baptism at 6 mi. crossing, [?] San Angelo, July 3, 1910. During Bro. Skaggs and Bro. Baker's meeting at Wall."
Date: 1910
Partner: Abilene Christian University Library

Jones Chapel Methodist Church

Description: Photograph of Jones Chapel Methodist Church, an African American church that has served the African American community of Beeville for more than 100 years. The church is located on 115 North Leverman Street. Jones Chapel Methodist met in an old school house until they built a sanctuary in 1889, on land donated by Captain A. C. Jones to three former slaves, who served as trustees of the new church. Charter members included Classie Douglas, Ann Felix, Felix Garner, Lawson Glenn, Serena Hodge, Ellen Jones, Ben Lott, Leanna Lott, Mose Lott, J. J. McCloud, Carrie McCampbell, P.M. McCarty, Kimmie Nancy, Elvira Newton, Rebecca Simms, Wesley Simms, I.E. Starnes, George Steward, Katy Ware, Sam Ware, Harriet Williams and Mary Williams. Many of the early members were former slaves. In 1926, the present frame church was built on the original site, where the congregation fervently serves the African American community of Beeville.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

[Photograph of Murphy Baptist Student Union]

Description: Photograph of four young men and women standing around a piano in a wood-paneled room. A young man in glasses and a light blue dress shirt is sitting down at the piano, and the group is looking at the camera. The two young women are wearing floral, long-sleeve shirts with vests and matching skirts. Handwritten notes on the back of the photo indicate the group is part of the Murphy Baptist Church Student Union.
Date: unknown
Partner: Murphy Historical Society Inc.

[Family Records]

Description: Photograph of a page of the family record in Reverend Anthony Garnett Smith, Sr.'s Bible. This page details marriages in the family throughout the years.
Date: unknown
Creator: Smith, Anthony Joseph
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

[Family Records]

Description: Photograph of a page of the family record in Reverend Anthony Garnett Smith, Sr.'s Bible. This page details births in the family throughout the years.
Date: unknown
Creator: Smith, Anthony Joseph
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis
Back to Top of Screen