6,951 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Confirmation Certificate, 1989]

Description: Confirmation Certificate to Mark Weiner. (Torah Quotation in left hand corner) "Ye shall be holy for I the Lord your God am Holy" - Lev.19:2 (Corresponding text in Hebrew in opposite corner) "CONFIRMATION CERTIFICATE THIS IS TO RECORD THAT Mark Weiner WAS CONFIRMED IN THE FAITH OF ISRAEL ON June 2 1989 29 Iyar 5749 IN THE PRESENCE OF THE CONGREGATION Beth-El Fort Worth, Texas" Signature 1 Signature 2 Signature 3 (Torah quotation on bottom) "All that the Lord hath spoken we will do and we will obey" - ex.24:7
Date: unknown
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives

[Façade, Beth-El Congregation, 1949]

Description: Exterior photograph of the facade of the Beth-El Congregation synagogue at 207 W. Broadway Avenue in Fort Worth. The building was restored after a fire. The congregation occupied the building from 1920 until 2000. It is still standing.
Date: 1951
Creator: Lawrence Thomas-Allen Co.
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives

Confirmation Bible of Rose Levenson, Beth-El Congregation

Description: Confirmation Bible, Beth-El Congregation. Presented to Rose Levenson for Confirmation on Shevuoth, May 26, 1909 at Fort Worth, Texas by Rabbi George Zepin. Title page and inscription of the bible states that this volume contains "the Twenty-Four Books of the Holy Scriptures, carefully translated according to the Massoretic text, after the best Jewish authority by Isaac Lesser."
Date: May 26, 1909
Creator: Rabbi George Zepin
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives

[Henry and Julia Faulk Gernsbacher. 1930]

Description: Henry and Julia Faulk Gernsbacher (1859-1935) pose for their 50th wedding anniversary photo in 1930. Henry Gernsbacher (1858-1936), a kitchen-supply merchant, was the founder of Fort Worth's Beth-El Congregation. The couple had six sons. Their family business remained in operation until the end of the century.
Date: unknown
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives

[Ahavath Sholom Minutes]

Description: Handwritten list of the thirty one members of the Ahavath Sholom Congregation in 1895 in Fort Worth, Texas. The front of the document lists the members of the congregation, and the back of the document lists the officers. When the list was created, Ahavath Sholom was the only synagogue in Fort Worth.
Date: October 6, 1895
Creator: Levenson, Ben
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives

[Congregation Ahavath Sholom and its Hebrew Institute]

Description: Exterior photograph of Congregation Ahavath Sholom and the Hebrew Institute in the 800 block of Taylor Street in Fort Worth. The building on the right with the arched windows is the synagogue of Congregation Ahavath Sholom, which was constructed in 1906. Next door is the Hebrew Institute, constructed in 1910. From 1910 until 1951 the Hebrew Institute served as a place for Hebrew School classes and meetings. It also had a gymnasium and a banquet hall. There are two "For Lease" signs on the front of the building. Adhered to the front of the photograph is a typed piece of paper which says "By 1950, downtown skyscrapers dwarfed Ahavath Sholom Synagogue and the Hebrew Institute at 819 Taylor Street." In 1951, Ahavath Sholom sold the downtown properties to the Danciger family. The synagogue was razed to create a parking lot. The Hebrew Institute was renamed the Danciger Building and converted into office space. The Federal Building now occupies this stretch of Taylor Street.
Date: unknown
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives
Back to Top of Screen