15,460 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Historic House, Marshall]

Description: The Fry-Barry house in Marshall has a Texas Medallion designating it as a Texas Historic Landmark. Built between 1853 and 1861 by Fidel Bercher, it is located at 314 West Austin Street very near the courthouse square. Architect W. R. D. Ward designed the raised-cottage plan. The main rooms are on the second level; but the lower level is enclosed with rooms also. Bricks were hand-made by local slaves. In 1872 the house was purchased by E. J. Fry, a member of the English Frye family that was associated with the family of Thomas Jefferson. E. J. Fry was in the Civil War before coming to Marshall where he was a successful businessman. A daughter married W. L. Barry and lived in the home until 1961; hence the name Fry-Barry. The house remained in the family for more than 110 years, and is still well maintained.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Victorian House, Marshall]

Description: Marshall has many stately Victorian houses, many of which are still occupied and have been restored, as this one has. This home is located in the 600 block of N. Washington Ave. In the distance the Ginoccho-Cook-Pedison house can be seen. Both structures are located in Marshall's historic train district.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Victorian Cottage, Marshall]

Description: This cottage in Marshall displays the classic Victorian lines found in many of Marshall's homes. It is located at 705 Sanford Street, within the historic "New Town Neighborhood." This area of African-American businesses, offices, schools, churches and residences was established by the 1930's around Wiley College. The construction date and original owner are unknown. One longtime owner with whom the home has become identified was Ruie W. Matthews, an employee of the Texas and Pacific Railroad. He owned the home from c1946 to c1988. His wife was Clementine.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Section of Downtown Square, Marshall]

Description: Houston Street (foreground) in Marshall encloses the courthouse square on four sides. At the time of this picture (1970's), there was a parking lot on the north side of Houston. Here a sign advertises Marshall National Bank which is located nearby. Christmas decorations on the light poles reveal the season. During business hours, the empty parking lot would have been full of vehicles because the square was the downtown governmental and commercial hub of the city. In the distance at right center are businesses on W. Austin Street. In the center and left are businesses on N. Wellington Street.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Historic House, Marshall]

Description: The Wigfall House in Marshall, Texas has a Texas Medallion designating it as a Texas Historic Landmark. It is located at 510 West Burleson Street. It was constructed between 1854 and 1856 by Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Jordan. During the Civil War it was owned by Louis T. Wigfall, a colorful lawyer and politician whose name endures with the house. It originally had the symmetrical, single-level plan of four rooms and a central hall that is typical of the early East Texas house. Subsequent owners have transformed it into a one-and-one-half story Victorian cottage.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Weisman-Hirsch-Beil House, Marshall]

Description: The Weisman-Hirsch-Beil house is located at 313 South Washington Street in Marshall. Completed in 1901 by Joe and Lena Weisman to replace an earlier house that burned, the twelve-room Victorian plan is by architect C. G. Lancaster. Daughter Valrie Weisman married Joseph N. Hirsch and eventually inherited the property. Joe Hirsch died in 1966, and the house was maintained by a caretaker until it was bought by Dr. Greg and Gail Beil in 1972. The Beils continue to do restoration and maintenance on their home, as well as sharing it with Marshall in various events. The Weisman-Hirsch families are notable in East Texas history for longtime ownership of the Weisman Department Store, which at one time was the largest department store between Dallas and the Mississippi River. These families also contributed to local philanthropies, to civic affairs, and to the Jewish community. Dr. Beil is professor at East Texas Baptist University. Gail Beil is a writer/journalist, historian and participant in local restoration issues.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[House in Marshall]

Description: This house in Marshal is located on a triangular lot where S. Grove St., University Ave., and Bomar St. intersect. It faces S. Grove St. It has a one-story side-gable wing with stone trim and large windows connected to a two-story, wood-sided, gabled wing turned perpendicular to the other.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Weisner Home, Harrison County]

Description: The U. R. Weisner home is located in rural Leigh, northeast of Marshall in Harrison County. Mr. Weisner was a leader and property owner who contributed to the community good. He also gathered local African-American history which has been preserved.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Historic Allen House, Marshall]

Description: The Allen House in Marshall has a Texas Medallion. It is located at 610 N. Washington Ave. in the Marshall Historic District, which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The residence was built in 1879 by the Rev. Walker Montecue Allen. Ordained by a Mississippi Presbytery in 1848, Rev. Allen and his wife moved to Marshall in 1876, where they served their faith until death. The home remained in the family estate until 1944, when it was sold. Eventually sub-divided into apartments, the house began a slow deterioration until it was rescued from demolition in 1972 by the Harrison County Historical Society, which saw to restoration. Its adjunct, the H. C. Conservation Society, has maintained the house to the present time. The house as pictured has a two-story frame structure with double galleries and a third-floor attic. Open to the public, it is always featured during the city's annual Christmas pilgrimage of homes.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[P. D. Johnson Bungalow in Marshall]

Description: The P. D. Johnson bungalow in Marshall received some changes during the last half of the twentieth century, such as the modern windows in the sun porch and the wrought iron on the front porch. The origin of the house is unknown. It is noted as the long-time residence of Pinky D. Johnson, Marshall educator. She purchased the house with her husband, Charley Johnson. They are known to have lived there during the 1940's and 1950's. After his death, she married Dr. F. E. Williams, and continued to occupy the house until her death in 1963. The house has had several other occupants since that time.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Sutton Home in Marshall]

Description: The Sutton bungalow in Marshall has been adorned with wrought iron columns and railings. It is located at 704 W. Grand. The house was first the home of Charles H. and Eva Patterson. He owned the Palace Pharmacy on the Marshall Square. By 1949 both the house and the pharmacy were owned by A. S. and Addie L. Jackson. From 1957 to the current year, the home's owners have been listed as Walter L. Sr. and Sammie Sutton, teachers in the public schools.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Modern House in Marshall]

Description: A modern ranch house in Marshall, from the 1950-1970 era. The house is brick, with a low brick wall at the front of the yard. The house has a hipped roof on the visible portion, a one-car garage, and a "picture" window near the entrance, which is shaded by a shed porch attachment. A Ford Mercury automobile sits in front of the garage. A lamp post and some other decorative objects are in the yard and around the entrance. Some bare tree suggest the winter season.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Women's Federation Club Building, Marshall]

Description: A Craftsman style bungalow in Marshall sits low on the ground and has a porch which wraps around the side. An early model automobile sits at the curb. The house is located at 1402 Grafton Street. Its origin is unknown; but the Women's Federation Club purchased it during the late 1940's for a meeting house. It is currently owned by St. James 0112 Masonic Lodge. Located in the New Town Neighborhood of Marshall, the house is a historic site for the African-American community.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library
Back to Top of Screen