2,935 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[An Early View of Mesquite Street]

Description: This picture shows the D.M. Howard Block, on the lower end of Mesquite Street [2011], the intersection of Hubbard and SE 1st streets), facing west. The principal D.M. Howard building (farthest to the left in the photograph) survived to house various furniture establishments until 1975, when it was demolished. The three subsidiary buildings had been removed earlier. A legend on the base of the original photograph reads: "LOWER END OF MESQUITE STREET--Photo by McClure". Please note the absence of automobiles, the complete lack of paving, and the large traveling-bonnet worn by the lady in the foreground. The telegraph pole in the foreground appears to have been hand-hewn. The unpaved road supplies corroborating evidence that the photograph was taken before 1914. The identity of McClure, however, remains unknown. This picture appears in A.F. Weaver's "TIME WAS in Mineral Wells...." on page 122.
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Mineral Wells Hardware

Description: The sign painted on the side of the store proclaims that this building is the Mineral Wells Hardware Company. Located at 212 SE 1st Avenue, it was owned by Mssrs. Smith & Frost. It was later bought by L.E. Seaman. In 1975, it became the location of Widlake Motor Supply. The picture appears on page 126 of A. F. Weaver's "TIME WAS in Mineral Wells...."
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Construction of the Malsby Dairy]

Description: Construction of the Malsby Dairy is shown here, going on apace. Steel girders are being put in place, presumably to support a future roof. It was located at 300 SE 1st Street. Construction began (it is conjectured) in the late 1940's. The building once housed a newspaper (in the 1960's) called "The Advance", and then the "Mineral Wells Index." The "Index" still [2007] occupies the building. Please note that only half of the men in the picture are shown wearing hard hats. Please note also the derrick mounted on the back of a truck. A hand-written legend on the photograph reads: "Malsby Creamery"
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Hubbard Street: About 1925

Description: A picture of Hubbard Street, looking northwards to Oak Street is illustrated here. In the distance, the Crazy Hotel is being built. The photograph dates after 1925. It appears on page 135 of A.F. Weaver's "TIME WAS in Mineral Wells..."
Date: unknown
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Client Card: Mr. Wells Bosworth]

Description: Client card describing work completed at the Roman Bronze Works Foundry for Mr. Wells Bosworth, including a job number, brief description, monetary amount, and dates associated with each entry.
Date: unknown
Creator: Roman Bronze Works Foundry
Partner: Amon Carter Museum

A Watering Place

Description: Copy negative of two men and a horse-drawn carriage in front of a windmill, water tank and small wooden building. Written on the photograph is, "An attractive watering place where 56 families regularly secured their water supply. Government Starveout N.M."
Date: unknown
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library