31 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Photograph of abandoned building]

Description: Photograph of an old building where the cement is falling from the construction to reveal the brick underneath. There is a small sign posted on the doors of the building to prevent people from entering.
Date: [1970,1990]
Creator: Williams, Byrd M. (Byrd Moore), IV, 1951-
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Photograph of R. L. Smith School]

Description: Photograph of R. L. Smith School. An exterior staircase leads to a set of double doors, which has a red sticker placed on them. Overgrown shrubbery is visible on either side of the image, and there is a broken window near the top. The R. L. Smith Elementary School on Turner Street in East Waco was named for Robert Lloyd Smith (Jan. 8, 1861-July 10, 1942), an African-American who served in the Texas Legislature. He is buried in East Waco-Greenwood Cemetery. The building was razed in 2013.
Date: 2009
Creator: Willis, T. Bradford
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

[Photograph of R. L. Smith School]

Description: Photograph of R. L. Smith School. The building has broken windows, and the path to the entrance is overgrown with grass. A red tag has been placed on the front doors. The R. L. Smith Elementary School on Turner Street in East Waco was named for Robert Lloyd Smith (Jan. 8, 1861-July 10, 1942), an African-American who served in the Texas Legislature. He is buried in East Waco-Greenwood Cemetery. The building was razed in 2013.
Date: 2009
Creator: Willis, T. Bradford
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

[Photograph of R. L. Smith School]

Description: Photograph of R. L. Smith School. The building has broken windows, and the shrubs around the structure are overgrown. The R. L. Smith Elementary School on Turner Street in East Waco was named for Robert Lloyd Smith (Jan. 8, 1861-July 10, 1942), an African-American who served in the Texas Legislature. He is buried in East Waco-Greenwood Cemetery. The building was razed in 2013.
Date: 2009
Creator: Willis, T. Bradford
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

Baker Hotel, Mineral Wells

Description: Photograph of the Baker Hotel in Mineral Wells, built 1929 by architects Wyatt C. Hendrick and Co. Architects. It has been vacant since 1972. The building is at least twelve stories tall.
Date: April 14, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

[Photograph of R. L. Smith School]

Description: Photograph of Melvin Dotson in an orange shirt standing next to R. L. Smith Elementary School on Turner Street in East Waco. It was named for Robert Lloyd Smith (Jan. 8, 1861-July 10, 1942), an African-American who served in the Texas Legislature. He is buried in East Waco-Greenwood Cemetery. The building was razed in 2013. A red tag has been placed on the building's doors.
Date: 2009
Creator: Willis, T. Bradford
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

[Photograph of R. L. Smith School]

Description: Photograph of Melvin Dotson at R. L. Smith School. A red tag has been placed on the building's doors. The R. L. Smith Elementary School on Turner Street in East Waco was named for Robert Lloyd Smith (Jan. 8, 1861-July 10, 1942), an African-American who served in the Texas Legislature. He is buried in East Waco-Greenwood Cemetery. The building was razed in 2013.
Date: 2009
Creator: Willis, T. Bradford
Partner: Private Collection of T. B. Willis

Baker Hotel, Mineral Wells, colonnade

Description: Photograph of the colonnade near the front entrance of the Baker Hotel in Mineral Wells, Texas. It was built in 1929 by architects Wyatt C. Hendrick and Co. Architects. It has been vacant since 1972. The floor is made of red brick, and the walls of slightly lighter brick.
Date: April 14, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

Baker Hotel, Mineral Wells

Description: Photograph of the front of the Baker Hotel in Mineral Wells, built 1929 by architects Wyatt C. Hendrick and Co. Architects. It has been vacant since 1972. It is at least twelve stories tall.
Date: April 14, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

Baker Hotel, Mineral Wells, detail of doorway

Description: Photograph of the doorway to the Baker Hotel in Mineral Wells, Texas. There are double doors in white with glass windows. The door on the left has a sign warning against trespassing. The hotel was built in 1929 by architects Wyatt C. Hendrick and Co. Architects. It has been vacant since 1972.
Date: April 14, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

[News Script: Warehouse burns again]

Description: Script from the WBAP-TV station in Fort Worth, Texas, covering a news story about a city-owned warehouse in Dallas being set on fire by vagrants for the second time in one month.
Date: December 6, 1953
Creator: WBAP-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

Panoramic image of the remains of the Jermyn School in Jermyn, Texas.

Description: Photograph of the remains of the Jermyn School in Jermyn, Texas that was built by the Public Works Administration (PWA) in 1936. All that remains at this location is the school entrance and the foundation. This photograph is a stitched 360-degree panoramic image.
Date: April 4, 2018
Creator: Phillips, Mark Edward
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Digital Projects Unit

Panoramic image of the remains of the Jermyn School in Jermyn, Texas.

Description: Photograph of the remains of the Jermyn School in Jermyn, Texas that was built by the Public Works Administration (PWA) in 1936. All that remains at this location is the school entrance and the foundation. This photograph is a stitched 360-degree panoramic image.
Date: April 4, 2018
Creator: Phillips, Mark Edward
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Digital Projects Unit

Baker Hotel, Mineral Wells, detail of top floor - the "Cloud Room"

Description: Photograph of the top floor, called the "Cloud Room", at the Baker Hotel in Mineral Wells, Texas. There is a balcony around the wall. Several of the windows have been punched out. The hotel was built in 1929 by architects Wyatt C. Hendrick and Co. Architects. It has been vacant since 1972.
Date: April 14, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

[News Clip: FW arsons pkg]

Description: Video footage from the KXAS-TV/NBC station in Fort Worth, Texas, to accompany a news story. This story aired at 5 P.M.
Date: May 6, 1988
Creator: KXAS-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[News Clip: Fire investigation]

Description: Video footage from the KXAS-TV/NBC station in Fort Worth, Texas, covering a news story about a fire investigation about a massive fire caused by the homeless who created a fire to stay warm, killing one man. This story aired at 10pm.
Date: December 18, 1989
Creator: KXAS-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections