273 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Photograph of a Historic Building in Fredericksburg]

Description: Negative of an unidentified historic building in Fredericksburg, Texas. This is a small building with decorative columns and railing on the front porch. There is a Texas historical marker to the right of the entrance. There is a flag pole in front, to the left, and the building is behind a stone wall with an iron gate.
Date: unknown
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church Historical Marker

Description: Photograph of the historical marker for the Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church in front of the modern day Bethlehem Baptist Church. The church was organized in 1884. Behtlehem Baptist is the oldest African-American congregation in Beeville. Charter members included Matthew Broadus, Peter Flannigan, L. Broadus, Martha Bess, M. Peters, Salanas Davis, and Edna Canada. Served originally by a circuit pastor, the congregation held Sunday services in a schoolhouse donated by Captain A.C. Jones. The church purchased land from Jones and built its first sanctuary in 1893. In 1926, the original white-frame structure and its two towers were replaced by a larger, but similar structure. The church has been replaced several times since then, including its most recent construction in the 1980’s. It is located at 108 North Burke Street.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

Jones Chapel Methodist Church Historical Marker

Description: Jones Chapel Methodist met in an old school house until they built a sanctuary in 1889, on land donated by Captain A. C. Jones to three former slaves, who served as trustees of the new church. Charter members included Classie Douglas, Ann Felix, Felix Garner, Lawson Glenn, Serena Hodge, Ellen Jones, Ben Lott, Leanna Lott, Mose Lott, J. J. McCloud, Carrie McCampbell, P.M. McCarty, Kimmie Nancy, Elvira Newton, Rebecca Simms, Wesley Simms, I.E. Starnes, George Steward, Katy Ware, Sam Ware, Harriet Williams and Mary Williams. Many of the early members were former slaves. In 1926, the present frame church was built on the original site, where the congregation fervently serves the African American community of Beeville. It is locate at 115 North Leverman Street.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

The Campo Santo

Description: Located off the Refugio Highway 202, the Campo Santo burial ground is not accessible to the public. The old cemetery is located on the head right of 1829 settler Jeremiah Toole of New York. Toole’s isolated oak-log home stood on the San Patricio-La Bahia Road. His family was in constant danger of attacks from Indians and invading armies.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

The Westside School for Mexican Americans Historical Marker

Description: Photograph of the historical marker dedicated to the West Side School for Mexican Americans. The West Side School for Mexican Americans, also known as Jackson School, was built in the early 1900’s. A two-room frame building served students until 1932, when it was replaced with a brick schoolhouse that stands today. In the 1940’s, the American GI Forum and League of United Latin American Citizens fought against inequality in schools. Their cases in Texas courts and the U.S. Supreme Court decision Brown v. Board of Education ended the legal segregation of schoolchildren. However, by 1938, high school students from the West Side School had already been integrated with A.C. Jones High School. Integration of all Mexican American students was peacefully completed by the mid 1950’s. Long after this second school’s ipso facto case of segregation was remedied in the 1970’s, the building continues as the Adult Education Center and as a reminder of the teachers and students who worked to improve the lives of the Mexican-American population.
Date: unknown
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

[Photograph of a Historic Building in Fredericksburg]

Description: Negative of a historic building in Fredericksburg, Texas. This is a brick or stone building with a covered front porch with decorative wooden trim. There is a Texas historical marker to the right of the front door. There is a flag pole in front of the building, and there is a driveway on the left.
Date: unknown
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

[Photograph of a Texas Historical Marker]

Description: Negative of the Texas State Historical Marker for the First Methodist Church of Fredericksburg, Texas. It says the following: "Oldest Methodist Church in the Hill Country. Founded 1849 as a German Mission by the Rev. Eduard Schneider. The charter members: Melchoir and Rosine Bauer; Johann and Margaretha Durst; Friedrich and Sophie Ellebracht; Ernst and Dorothea Houy; Ferdinand and Maria Kneese, Ludwig Kneese, Friedrich Kneese, Louise Kneese; Heinrich and Catharine Stiehl; Jacob and Catharine Treibs; Fritz and Friderika (Mary) Winkel. In 1855, during pastorate of the Rev. C. A. Grote, a 40 x 60-foot native stone church was built; it still serves after 1912-14, 1923, and 1948-49 remodelings." The sign was placed in 1972.
Date: unknown
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

[Photograph of a Texas Historical Marker]

Description: Negative of the Texas State Historical Marker for the First Methodist Church of Fredericksburg, Texas. It says the following: "Oldest Methodist Church in the Hill Country. Founded 1849 as a German Mission by the Rev. Eduard Schneider. The charter members: Melchoir and Rosine Bauer; Johann and Margaretha Durst; Friedrich and Sophie Ellebracht; Ernst and Dorothea Houy; Ferdinand and Maria Kneese, Ludwig Kneese, Friedrich Kneese, Louise Kneese; Heinrich and Catharine Stiehl; Jacob and Catharine Treibs; Fritz and Friderika (Mary) Winkel. In 1855, during pastorate of the Rev. C. A. Grote, a 40 x 60-foot native stone church was built; it still serves after 1912-14, 1923, and 1948-49 remodelings." The sign was placed in 1972.
Date: unknown
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

[Photograph of a Cabin in Fredericksburg]

Description: Negative of a cabin in Fredericksburg, Texas. It is a stone building with wooden shingles on the side. There are two windows on the side and one in front, and there is a wide wooden front door. There is a Texas historical marker on the right side of the front wall.
Date: unknown
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

[Photograph of the First Methodist Church State Historical Marker]

Description: Photograph of the Texas State Historical Marker for the First Methodist Church of Fredericksburg, Texas. It says the following: "Oldest Methodist Church in the Hill Country. Founded 1849 as a German Mission by the Rev. Eduard Schneider. The charter members: Melchoir and Rosine Bauer; Johann and Margaretha Durst; Friedrich and Sophie Ellebracht; Ernst and Dorothea Houy; Ferdinand and Maria Kneese, Ludwig Kneese, Friedrich Kneese, Louise Kneese; Heinrich and Catharine Stiehl; Jacob and Catharine Treibs; Fritz and Friderika (Mary) Winkel. In 1855, during pastorate of the Rev. C. A. Grote, a 40 x 60-foot native stone church was built; it still serves after 1912-14, 1923, and 1948-49 remodelings." The sign was placed in 1972.
Date: unknown
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society