Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied. More filters are available in the left sidebar. You can search within this results list by adding or changing terms in the full-text search box, below.
Limit results using filters from the lower-left hand menu.

Veterans and Dames of 1846

Description: Group of men and women posing on the steps of the Tarrant County Courthouse, first row is seated and six rows standing on steps. Photograph taken by Charles L Swartz, May 22, 1902. Mrs. M. Moore Murdock, founder of The Dames of 1846, is seated in the center of the front row.
Date: 1902
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Bosque County Historical Commission

Judge J. A. Lynch

Description: Shown here is a reproduction of a steel engraving of Judge J. A. Lynch, founder of Mineral Wells. The source of the engraving remains unknown. A fragment of copy at the bottom of the picture mentions the "inconvenience of hauling it from the Brazos River." The initials "GSW" are visible to the left of the judge's lapel.
Date: unknown
Creator: Thomas Beauregard (?)
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Pioneer Reunion]

Description: Pioneer Reunion: Virgil and Miss Lulu Johnson. Photo taken in 1948: Henrietta, Texas.
Date: 1948
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Clay County Historical Society

Group of Pioneers Outdoors

Description: Copy negative of two rows of pioneers sitting and standing outside surrounded by trees. The back grow is standing up and the first row is sitting down in chairs or on the ground with crossed legs.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Hardin-Simmons University Library

[Group of Pioneers]

Description: Photograph of a group of men and women pioneers. L-R: Fay Turner-now Mrs. J.B. Chase of Boston, Ray Orgain-artist and designer in NY, Grace Elser-now Mrs. Hammett Hardy, May Tarlton and John Tarlton, with guitar, Bert Rose and Grace Hollingsworth behind, Gene Orgain, Lena Evans-now Mrs. Ed Callier of Dallas, Maurice Winfrey with parasol, Frances Tarlton-now Mrs. Lee Ellis.
Date: 1897~
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: University of Texas at Arlington Library

[Group of Men]

Description: Photograph of a group of 34 men. Most of them have mustaches and some have beards.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: University of Texas at Arlington Library

[Group of Men]

Description: Photographic portrait of ten pioneer men. They all wear suits and hats. Most of them have mustaches.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: University of Texas at Arlington Library

[Pioneer family]

Description: Photograph of an early pioneer family standing beneath a tree. There are three women in long white dresses and four men. They are behind a chicken wire fence, and there is a house behind them in the background.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Collingsworth County Museum

[An Early Couple]

Description: This picture is probably a photographic portrait of Col. and Mrs. W.R. Austin, mentioned on page 54 of "Time Was in Mineral Wells..." second edition. He established the Austin Well where "Blind Nellie" was employed. See also, [Col. and Mrs. W. Riess Austin]
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Col. and Mrs. W. Riess (W. R.) Austin]

Description: Colonel and Mrs. W. Riess (W. R.) Austin are depicted here, from an image taken from a 1902 photograph. Colonel Austin is mentioned on page 54 of "Time Was..." second edition. A. F. Weaver says, "...the Austin Well, established by Col. W. R. Austin, who came from Kentucky to Palo Pinto County about 1880. Austin settled on Staggs Prairie, where he farmed and ranched. Then he became interested in mineral waters when he had an eye infection that affected his sight. So he moved to Mineral Wells, and the constant use of the waters restored his sight. He engaged in the dairy business, at first; but later entered the mineral water production field, establishing the Austin Well, which was later operated by his son-in-law, Tom Sims."
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[Monserretta Street El Campo]

Description: Photograph of a large group of men standing in a row in front of several wooden buildings. The men are wearing suits and hats.
Date: 1894
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Danish Heritage Preservation Society

Dedication Stone

Description: Pinkish stone engraved with this message: “Dedicated to the -- Pioneers of West Tex. -- By Seniors 27.” The edges of the stone are not smooth, and a piece appears to be missing from the top.
Date: 1927
Partner: McMurry University Library

[Mr. and Mrs. George Tinkle Family]

Description: Mr. and Mrs. George Tinkle and family: Sybil, George, Carrie, Lowell, and Kenneth Tinkle. Photo circa 1900: Henrietta, Texas.
Date: 1900~
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Clay County Historical Society

[Pioneer Reunion visiting on Courthouse Lawn]

Description: Pioneer Reunion visiting on Courthouse Lawn: O.S. Worsham, Grundy Bryant, Cleve Hooper, Frank Hurn, Charley Smith, Charlie Worsham, and Henry Zachry. Photo taken in 1949: Henrietta, Texas.
Date: 1949
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Clay County Historical Society

The Yellowed Pages

Description: Newsletter-styled compilation of portraits and stories about Audubon, Texas and its people in the early 20th century.
Date: unknown
Creator: Howard, Mary
Item Type: Text
Partner: Alvord Public Library

[Entrance at Gillespie County's Pioneer Museum]

Description: Black and white photograph of a building with a stone facade. A sign in front says Gillespie County Historical Society: Pioneer Museum. The sign's posts flank a stone wall that extends from the foreground to the background. Behind the sign is a white building with a few stone-covered buildings in the rear.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

[Weber Sunday House at Gillespie County's Pioneer Museum]

Description: Black and white photograph of the Weber Sunday House at the Gillespie County Historical Society's Pioneer Museum. The house is a small building with two windows in front and a door in between those two windows. The covered porch has an awning that has a roof made of corrugated material. Four posts support the awning. A mailbox is in the front left of the building.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society

[Fassel/Roeder House at Gillespie County's Pioneer Museum]

Description: Black and white photograph of a one-story house known as the Fassel/Roeder House. It is a site at the Gillespie County Historical Society's Pioneer Museum. It has four elegant posts that support the covered porch in front. A bench sits on the porch underneath one of the two windows in front. A screen door is in between the two windows. A grassy lawn surrounds the house. Behind the house, a few trees and a telephone pole and wire are partially visible.
Date: unknown
Item Type: Photograph
Partner: Gillespie County Historical Society