39 Matching Results

Search Results

Train bearing Emilio Carranza's body in Austin July 21, 1928

Description: Photograph of a train bearing Emilio Carranza's body as it stops in Austin on its way back to Mexico. From verso: "Emilio Carranza was a famous Mexican 'Ace' who was killed in an accident in New Jersey just after he had taken off for Mexico City where his bride of four months awaited him. His father Sebastian Carranza accompanied the body. At various stops along the way from New York to Mexico, recognition was given the flying ace. In Austin members of state and city governments met the train as well as members of the Chamber of Commerce: Max Bickler, J.A. Nichols, A.D. Bolm, Sam Sparks, Horace Barnhart, John D. Miller, James W. Bass, Lynn Hunter, A.D. Boone, Walter Murray, Martin Andersen, Walter Seaholm, R. Niles Graham, H.H. Luedecke, J. W. Ezelle, and Walter E. Long."
Date: July 21, 1928
Creator: Boone's Photo Company
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Railroad tracks near Austin]

Description: Photograph of International and Great Northern railroad tracks outside of Austin. On the tracks in the distance can be seen the switch, and in the far distance, the city watertower is visible. Telephone poles and brush are dominant, though some houses and fences indicating residences are visible.
Date: July 22, 1966
Creator: City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Aluminum for Defense]

Description: Photograph of Aluminum for Defense collection point outside of the Texas Capitol building. A large chicken-wire bin holds aluminum cans. The Capitol dome is visible in the background.
Date: July 28, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Laboratory City of Austin, Texas
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Texas State Capitol Building During the Second World War]

Description: Photograph of the Texas State Capitol Building during the Second World War as seen from the intersection on Congress Avenue and 11th Street. Out front of the Capitol Building are collection bins for scrap metal, specifically aluminum, which feature the slogan "Aluminum for Defense, Let's Go Over the Top."
Date: July 31, 1941
Creator: Bureas of Identification Photographic Laboratory City of Austin, Texas
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

"Andrews Day"

Description: Photograph of the going away party for Andrew Bragg, janitor, 1950-1966, in the staff lounge in the basement of the Austin Public Library. L-R: Ann Bowden, Janett Varner, Mary Carter Rice, ?, Annette Evans, Bragg, ? Diane Moore, Tommy McCalla. Andrew Bragg stands in the foreground behind a cake with his back partially turned to the camera.
Date: July 21, 1966
Creator: Vaughn, Ronald
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Municipal Golf Course tool house]

Description: Photograph of the tool house at the Municipal Golf Course. Boards, concrete slabs, and sand are visible along the side of the house. A man stands near a truck on the right.
Date: July 19, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification, Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Municipal Golf Course tool shed]

Description: Photograph of the front of the Municipal Golf Course tool house with door open. Gravel. sand, and boards are visible on the right exterior under the windows of the tool house. The bottom rungs of a ladder are visible right inside the door of the tool house. Many tire tracks indicate how often the house is visited.
Date: July 14, 1939
Creator: Bureau of Identification Lab, Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Austin Municipal Golf Course] caretaker's house

Description: Photograph of the caretaker's house at the Austin municipal golf course. The house is made of white brick with several screened windows and a screen door facing a concrete patio. A wooden ladder leans on the side of the house to the roof. Construction debris litters the grassless yard. A shed sits behind the house. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 14, 1939
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

View [of club house] at Municipal Golf Course

Description: Photograph of Austin Municipal Golf Course and Club House and lawn. The grass is freshly mowed and the club house is partially obscured in the background by trees and shrubs. Club house entrance and right elevation are visible. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 19, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Hut at the Municipal] Golf Course

Description: Photograph of Small roofed structure with benches inside at the Austin Municipal Golf Course. The hut is surrounded by trees and uneven land. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 14, 1939
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Rear of hut at Austin Municipal Golf Course]

Description: Photograph of rear view of a small roofed structure with benches inside on the Austin Municipal Golf Course. The hut is surrounded by trees and uneven land with a green behind it on the right. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 14, 1939
Creator: Bureau of Indentification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

View at Municipal Golf Course

Description: Photograph of two golfers teeing off at the start of a drive on the Austin Municipal Golf course. Concrete arrows point the direction of the green. A Lions Club lion statue is visible behind the golfers. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 19, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Golfer teeing off at Municipal Golf Course]

Description: Photograph of a man teeing off at the start of a drive on the Austin Municipal Golf Course. His golf bag lies on the ground behind him. Trees are visible in the background. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 19, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Golfers putting on Municipal Golf Course green]

Description: Photograph of Four men at putting green on the Austin Municipal Golf Course. Their golf bags lie on the ground at the far edge of the green. Golfers are visible in the background. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 19, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Group teeing off at the Municipal Golf Course]

Description: Photograph of a group of golfers getting ready to tee off in front of the Austin Municipal Golf Course club house. Their golf bags are on the ground around them. The club house is visible in the background. The shadow of a tree is on the green in the foreground. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served its citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 19, 1941
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Water hazard on the number 8 hole

Description: Photograph of the view facing the green behind a water hazard on the number eight hole at the Austin Municipal Golf Course. Golfers are visible on the green in the background. The municipal Golf Course, constructed originally by the Lions Club in 1928 at 2901 Enfield Road, has served it's citizens since 1934 and has long been Austin's most popular course.
Date: July 14, 1939
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Beverly S. Sheffield at desk]

Description: Photograph of Beverly Sheffield sitting at his desk. He holds a fountain pen above some papers. Sheffield wears a short-sleeved, button-up shirt and has glasses. A phone sits at his left elbow. His desk sits near a wall with two windows and a radiator. His name plate reads "B. S. Sheffield."
Date: July 29, 1948
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab, Ausin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library