94,225 Matching Results

Search Results

[The Old Corner Drug Store]

Description: Photograph of a display booth at the Dr. Pepper Museum with a variety of items visible. The photograph was taken during the renovation of the Artesian Manufacturing and Bottling Company building in 1990.
Date: [1990-04-23,1991-04]
Location Info:
Partner: Dr. Pepper Museum

[Home of Dr. Pepper Building]

Description: Photograph of the exterior of the Dr. Pepper Museum building labeled as "1885 Home of Dr. Pepper 1906."
Date: [1989..1990]
Location Info:
Partner: Dr. Pepper Museum

[Display of Artifacts at Dr. Pepper Museum]

Description: Photograph of a display of various items on a wall at the Dr. Pepper Museum. The display is labelled as "1950 - 1970 Fifties & Sixties."
Date: October 1988
Location Info:
Partner: Dr. Pepper Museum

Mrs. Mary Anne Joseph at Elisabet Ney Museum

Description: Photograph of Mrs. Mary Anne Joseph looking at a book inscription reading, "Very sincerely bride Nell Taylor, Feb 16, 1929, Elisabet Ney Museum" in front of a classic bust. In 1892, European portrait sculptor Elisabet Ney (1833-1907) purchased property in Austin at 304 East 44th Street, established a studio named Formosa, and resumed her career as a noted sculptor. Ney sculpted and collected portraits of notable Texans and Europeans. Following Ney’s death in 1907, her friends preserved the studio and its contents as the Elisabet Ney Museum and established the Texas Fine Arts Association dedicated to her memory.
Date: February 2, 1968
Creator: Recreation Department, City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Children swimming at Rosewood Park]

Description: Photograph of a group of African-American children swimming and splashing at the Rosewood Park for Negroes swimming pool. Extensive use of swimming pool and facilities demonstrates success of this recreation center.
Date: August 19, 1938
Creator: Ellison Photo Service
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Rosewood Park for Negroes

Description: Photograph of a group of black children watching a youth prepare to dive from the diving board into the public pool at Rosewood Park.
Date: September 8, 1938
Creator: Ellison Photo Service, Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Children around USN sand sculpture at Sandcraft]

Description: Photograph of a group of children around a sandbox with a sand sculpture of an anchor and the initials U.S.N. (United States Navy) imprinted over it at Sandcraft Park.
Date: June 23, 1943
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photography Laboratory
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Rosewood playground pageant, August 1960]

Description: Photograph of the Rosewood Playground Pageant at Rosewood Park. In this performance, two actors sit next to each other on folding chairs before a painted cityscape background. The male actor holds his arms apart and looks at the female actress as if he is showing her something. Lights are strung above the actors in the outdoor stage area. Three boys in the foreground watch the play. A woman sits at a piano on the far right.
Date: August 1960
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Rosewood park bandstand]

Description: Photograph of the empty Rosewood Park bandstand. The bandstand is surrounded by electric light posts, and a large tree offers shade to the left.
Date: August 23, 1939
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Pan American Recreation Center's Skating Class

Description: Photograph of the Pan American Recreation Center's skating class in the Zavala Gym. A line of seven boys, aged 9 through 12 hold on to each other's shirts while skating in a line through the gym. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: March 30, 1959
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Austin Athletic Club at Shoal Creek by House Park

Description: Photograph of rear exterior of the Austin Athletic Club at Shoal Creek by House Park. Visible are: a tennis court; benches for watching matches; two workers changing out screens on the second floor windows. The first organized recreation center in Austin was the privately owned Austin Athletic Club, built in 1923, by William T. Caswell. In 1931. Mr. Caswell sold the club to the City of Austin for "a small remuneration". The name of the center was officially changed to the Austin Recreation Center in 1970. After substantial damage, due to the Memorial Day flood of 1981 that center was closed after the existing center was built and opened in 1986.
Date: October 30, 1942
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab., Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Artifacts on Display at the Dr. Pepper Museum]

Description: Photograph of a variety of items displayed on a wall at the Dr. Pepper Museum in 1988. This display is labelled as "1971 - Present Modern Era."
Date: October 1988
Location Info:
Partner: Dr. Pepper Museum

[Dr. Pepper Street Sign]

Description: Photograph of a street sign celebrating Dr. Pepper for being number 1. The sign reads "Thank You Waco...for making Dr. Pepper #1 again."
Date: July 14, 1988
Location Info:
Partner: Dr. Pepper Museum

[Bathers at Deep Eddy]

Description: Photograph of Deep Eddy swimming pool looking northwest towards the dressing rooms. People swimming, others sitting on the edge of the pool. View from the deep end of the pool. Deep Eddy began as a natural swimming hole in the Colorado River and was expanded into a man-made swimming pool in 1915 by A.J. Eilers, Sr. Deep Eddy pool is the oldest swimming pool in Texas and is operated and maintained by the City of Austin.
Date: 1936
Creator: Austin Police Department Identification Bureau
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Frank Albrecht in an equipment closet at the Austin Recreation Center]

Description: Photograph of Franch Albrecht putting a volleyball onto a top shelf in an activities closet at the Austin Athletic Club (renamed Austin Recreation Center in 1970). Various other items for activities are on the shelves such as checkers and ping-pong balls, as well as other supplies such as water sprinklers, paint, and electrical supplies. The first organized recreation center in Austin was the privately owned Austin Athletic Club, built in 1923, by William T. Caswell. In 1931. Mr. Caswell sold the club to the City of Austin for "a small remuneration". The name of the center was officially changed to the Austin Recreation Center in 1970. After substantial damage, due to the Memorial Day flood of 1981 that center was closed after the existing center was built and opened in 1986.
Date: 1955
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Group of Young African Americans]

Description: Photograph of a group of young African-Americans in front of a brick building. The men have removed their hats for the photo, and several men and women carry books in their hands or laps.
Date: [1860..1890]
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[May Day play at Treaty Oak]

Description: Photograph of children playing on and around the Treaty Oak branches on May Day ca. 1925. Three girls sit and stand on the oak's low branches. A fourth girl looks on with a young boy and their caretaker. Everyone is dressed in white. The lawn is littered with children's chairs and various outdoor equipment.
Date: 1925~
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

The Zilker Zephyr

Description: Photograph of children and parents riding the Zilker Zephyr miniature train through Zilker Park. Downtown Austin and the Capitol building are visible in the background.
Date: [1960,1980]
Creator: Haddon, E.P.
Location Info:
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Women sewing]

Description: Photograph of women sewing in a room in the old Pan American Recreation Center on 3rd and Comal Streets. Most women sit at sewing machines while four women crowd together on a bench and sew or embroider by hand. four women stand at a table in the back for cutting fabric A young boy of a bout five sits on footrest in the foreground. There is Mexican art on the walls and the only door to the room is open. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: November 20, 1946
Creator: Bureau of Identification Photographic Lab, Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Pan American Recreation Center Exterior]

Description: Photograph of exterior view of the Pan American Recreation Center. A car is parked in the parking lot near the entrance. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: 196X
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Pan American Recreation Center, exterior, at opening]

Description: Photograph of the exterior rear of the Pan American Recreation Center at the opening on 2100 East 3rd Street. The ground is not yet seeded and playground equipment is visible behind a fence in the right. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: September 1956
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Opening of the Pan American Recreation Center

Description: Photograph of the interior of the basketball court in the gymnasium at the opening of Pan American Recreation Center at 2100 East 3rd Street. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: September 1956
Creator: Recreation Department, City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Zilker Park Christmas Tree]

Description: Photograph of the "World's Tallest Man-made Christmas Tree" in Zilker Park lit up with a few cars and people in the parking lot.
Date: [1970..1979]
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library