2,710 Matching Results

Search Results

[Bobbie Wygant Promotional Shoot]

Description: Photograph of Bobbie Wygant on set in formal attire for a promotional shoot.
Date: December 31, 1975
Creator: KXAS-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Chip Moody promotional shoot]

Description: Photograph of Chip Moody on set for a promotional shoot.
Date: December 31, 1975
Creator: KXAS-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Train #610 Test Run Schedule Article]

Description: Copy photo of an article detailing the plans for T&P train #610's test run from Fort Worth to Wichita Falls prior to pulling the American Freedom Train. Included in the article are details about the train's specs, water stop, and route.
Date: December 28, 1975
Partner: The Grace Museum

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #1]

Description: Photograph of the 1,000th person to graduate from North Texas State University with a Ph.D. degree; he is wearing a dark colored robe and holding a paper on top of his mortarboard. An unidentified professor next to him (right) is pointing to something on the paper. They are standing in front of wood-paneled walls with a floor-to-ceiling curtain as well as a statue in the right side of the image and artwork partially visible on the left.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #2]

Description: Photograph of the 1,000th student to graduate from North Texas State University with a Ph.D. degree. He is wearing dark-colored robes and a mortarboard, standing in the corner of a wood-paneled room. An unidentified faculty member is standing in front of him and shaking his hand.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #3]

Description: Photograph of a student wearing commencement robes and a mortarboard, shaking hands with an unidentified faculty member (left). The student is the 1,000 person to graduate from North Texas State University with a Ph.D. degree. They are standing in the corner of a wood-paneled room and several framed certificates and plaques are on the wall in the right side of the image.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #4]

Description: Photograph an unidentified faculty member shaking hands with the 1,000th person to graduate from North Texas State University with a Ph.D. degree. The student is wearing dark-colored robes with a mortarboard. They are standing in the corner of a wood-paneled room with floor-to-ceiling curtains to the left.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #5]

Description: Photograph of an unidentified faculty member with the 1,000th recipient of a North Texas State University Ph.D. degree; they are shaking hands, but turned so that both of them can look at the camera. The student is wearing dark-colored graduation robes and a mortarboard. They are standing in the corner of a wood-paneled room.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #6]

Description: Photograph of the 1,000th graduate to receive a Ph.D. from North Texas State University, shaking hands with an unidentified professor, turned so that they can both face the camera. The student is wearing dark-colored graduation robes and a mortarboard; the tassel is partially obscuring his face. They are standing in the corner of a wood-paneled room.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The 1,000th Ph.D. Recipient, #7]

Description: Photograph of a student wearing graduation robes and a mortarboard, standing between two unidentified faculty members, who are facing him. The student is the 1,000 person to graduate from North Texas State University with a Ph.D. degree. They are standing in the corner of a wood-paneled room, in front of a statue on a pedestal that is partially visible in the center of the image.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 1 of 21, Dec. 22, 1975]

Description: A fire destroyed the Damron Hotel, December 22, 1975. The hotel was located at 109 West Hubbard Street, facing north, before the unfortunate conflagration. The fire also destroyed Davidson Hardware, located in the same block.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 2 of 21: View South/Southeast ]

Description: The Colonial Hotel was built in 1906 by Mr. J. T. Holt for his second wife. Mr. Holt also owned a hardware store on S. Oak at the back of the hotel. The name of the hotel was changed to The Damron Hotel around 1917 when Mr. Holt traded it to Agnew and Bessie Damron. A hardware store, hard by, was sold to Mr. Holt's manager, John Davidson. The Damron Hotel, located at 109 W. Hubbbard Street, along with Davidson Hardware, burned completely on December 22, 1975. Please note the Christmas decoration, symbol of the season, on the telephone pole above the fire truck. The main entrance to the hotel is faintly visible through the dense smoke to the rear of the fire truck. The Crazy Hotel can be seen at the lower left edge of the picture.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 3 of 21: Baker Hotel in Background]

Description: The Damron Hotel (very popular in the resort city of Mineral Wells through the periods of the "Roaring Twenties", The Great Depression and World War II) was originally built as The Colonial Hotel in 1906 by J.T. Holt. Mr. Holt also owned a hardware store at the back of the hotel facing S. Oak Avenue, and a one-room buggy showroom between the hardware store and the hotel. The hotel was traded to Agnew and Bessie Damron around 1917 , and the name was changed to reflect the new ownership. Mr. Holt sold the hardware store to his manager, John Davidson. The Damron Hotel and Davidson Hardware burned completely on December 22, 1975. This picture of the fire was taken looking east on Hubbard Street. The Baker Hotel in the left middle of the photograph is to the north of most of the smoke.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 5 of 21: View from the Rear of the Building]

Description: The Damron Hotel was built in 1906 as the Colonial Hotel by J. T. Holt. At one time, both Kiwanis and the Rotary service Clubs met in the dining room that was located on the west side of the main floor. Formerly located at 109 W. Hubbard Street, the hotel burned completely on December 22, 1975 in a spectacular fire that was extensively photographed. Shown here is one of many views of the fire.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 6 of 21: Bystanders Observing the Fire]

Description: The Damron Hotel was destroyed (on December 22, 1975) in a spectacular fire that received extensive photographic coverage. The hotel was located at 109 W. Hubbard. This is another picture of that immense conflagration. All the firemen answered a call that came in at 9:08 on the morning of the fire. The City of Weatherford also sent men and equipment over to help. Volunteers who were not themselves firemen also helped. Other buildings that suffered damage were Pemberton's (an appliance store across the street and west of the hotel), and the hardware store (Bought by Bob Sturtivant) next to the hotel. Note the height of the flames in this picture taken in the later stages of the fire.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 7 of 21: The Parking Lot Behind the Hotel]

Description: This is yet another view of the spectacular fire that consumed the Damron Hotel during the 1975 Christmas Season. The Damron was originally built as the Colonial Hotel in 1906 by rancher J.T. Holt for his second wife. The name was changed in 1917 when the hotel was traded to Agnew and Bessie Damron. The fire was covered extensively by free-lance photographers. The hotel was formerly located on at 109 W. Hubbard Street, on the corner of the block that included SW 1st Avenue and SW 1st Street. Spot fires began on many nearby buildings, but they were extinguished quickly by volunteers atop those same buildings. This picture was taken during the later stages of the fire, and shows the gutted rear of the hotel, with huge flames still burning in the front portion of the building.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 8 of 21: An Early Stage of the Fire, Looking North]

Description: This view of the spectacular holiday [Christmas] fire that consumed the Damron Hotel completely on December 22, 1975, was taken from SW 1st Street at the southwest corner of the block in the early stages of the fire. The Damron Hotel was built as the Colonial Hotel in 1906 by J. T. Holt for his second wife. She adamantly refused to live in the country. The name was changed in 1917 when it was traded to Agnew and Bessie Damron. It was located at 109 W. Hubbard. The fire received extensive photographic coverage.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 9 of 21: Firemen and a Fire Truck Near the North Side of Budiling]

Description: This photograph shows another view of the early response to the holiday conflagration that consumed the Damron Hotel on December 22, 1975. The Damron was built in 1906, during Mineral Wells' heyday as a popular resort city. Originally named the Colonial Hotel by J. T. Holt, and built for his second wife, the name of the hotel was changed in 1917 when Mr. Holt traded the hotel to Agnew and Bessie Damron. The hotel was located at 109 W. Hubbard, and the spectacular fire received extensive photographic coverage.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 10 of 21]

Description: Another in the extensive series of photographs that covered the spectacular holiday fire that completely consumed the Damron Hotel during the 1975 Christmas season is shown here. This picture shows some of the early response to the fire. Note, for example, the electrical utility truck, which has arrived to cut off electrical power to the buildings. The Damron Hotel (which was built during the days when Mineral Wells was a resort) was originally named the Colonial Hotel. It was located at 109 W. Hubbard. The spectacular fire received extensive photographic coverage. The sign "Pemberton Appliance and Plumbing", located across the street west, is visible. Pemberton's also suffered damage in the fire, but by 7:30 the next day, workmen were installing plate glass in it.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 11 of 21: Fighting the Fire on W. Hubbard St.]

Description: Shown here is another picture in the series of photographs of the fire that destroyed the Damron Hotel during the holiday season of 1975. This smoke-shrouded scene of W. Hubbard, shows the front entrance to the hotel in the earlier stages of the fire's progress. The Damron was built in 1906, during the days that Mineral Wells was a popular resort spa. It burned completely on December 22,1975. The hotel's name was changed in 1917 when Mr. Holt (who had built the hotel) traded it to Agnew and Bessie Damron. It was a very popular hotel through the "Roaring Twenties", the Great Depression and World War II.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 12 of 21: Numerous Fire Hoses Lying in Front of the Hotel]

Description: Another view of the front entrance to the Damron Hotel at 109 W. Hubbard during the earlier stages of the fire that completely destroyed it on December 22, 1975. Debris from the burning hotel wafted as far as seven blocks from the burning building. No major injuries were reported. The spectacular Holiday fire that destroyed the hotel received extensive photographic coverage.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 15 of 21: Passenger Cars on a Back Street]

Description: The Damron Hotel, built in 1906 during the days that Mineral Wells was a popular resort spa, burned completely on December 22, 1975. It was located at 109 W. Hubbard Street. This picture shows the dense cloud of smoke that resulted from the holiday catastrophe. Westbound traffic on .S. Highway 180 had to be re-routed in order to avoid the clutter of debris that littered the street.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 16 of 21: Black Smoke Billowing Over Businesses]

Description: This picture illustrates the photograph of the huge column of black smoke accompanying the Damron Hotel fire that completely destroyed the hotel on December 22, 1975 in Mineral Wells. It is viewed from a narrow street or alleyway that has buildings lining either side; a Chevrolet truck is parked on the right side of the image.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[The Damron Hotel Fire, 17 of 21: Two Individuals on the Street Northwest of the Fire]

Description: Shown here is another view of the plume of thick black smoke at the height of the fire that completely destroyed the Damron Hotel December 22, 1975, along with two hard-hatted individuals (presumably fire-fighters) standing in the street. It was a very popular hotel during the mineral water industry's heyday through the "Roaring Twenties", Great Depression and World War II. By the time of the fire, however, an informant remarked--verbally--that no respectable lady permitted herself to be found within a block of the hotel. Sic transit, it would appear, gloria mundi.
Date: December 22, 1975
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library