34 Matching Results

Search Results

Beeville 1904 Sheet 2

Description: Sanborn map sheet showing an area of Beeville in Bee County, Texas, including geographic features, buildings, and details related to risk assessment for fire insurance.
Date: 1904
Creator: Sanborn Map Company
Partner: The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

Cotton Hauled by Mules in Oakville

Description: Photograph of James and Lee Crawford Brother's Freight Co. located in Oakville, Texas. In the foreground, loads of cotton are piled onto mule-drawn wagons. F. H. Church stands in front of the mules in the foreground. Three wagons are visible in front of wooden building. The driver of the first wagon is James Crawford. The photograph was taken at or near where Monroe Fink's office is now. If cotton was hauled to the coast for shipment, it came through Beeville.
Date: 1907
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

Hatch/Long Store in Papalote

Description: Photograph of M. Long's grocery and general store in Papalote, Texas. The store's first owner,William B. Hatch, originally from Tennessee and a veteran of the Confederacy, was one of the earlier merchants in Papalote. In 1873, he moved his family to the present townstite of Papolate to take over the management of a branch of the mercantile store he, and a partner, S. G. Borden, owned in Sharpsburg. Later he sold his interest in the Sharpsburg store for full ownership in the Papalote business. For many years his story served as post office and voting place. W. B Hatch operated the store until 1898 when he sold it to L.N. Scofield of Sinton. Mr. Schofield then sold the store to W.M. Long in 1901. Mr. and Mrs. Long operated the store until his death in 1929. Mrs. Long, and her son, W. C. Long, continued to operate the store and service station, which has been added to the business after the advent of the automobile. In 1946 Mr. Long closed the business for about six months after her son went into the cattle business. At the insistence of friends, Mrs. Long reopened the store and operated it until 1951 when it was closed for good.
Date: 1900~
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

A. C. Jones Home

Description: Postcard of the two-story Baroque architecture styled home of Mrs A. C. Jones located at 611 East Jones St. Philanthropist and supporter of local schools, Mrs. A.C. (Jane Field) Jones (1842-1918) built the house on this site after her husband Captain Jones’ death in 1906. Governors and other Texas leaders were welcomed here. Located on the hill where the college stands today, the first and much grander A.C. Jones home was sold to the John Flournoy and moved into town by mule and wagon. It stood facing Flournoy Park until it was razed in 1946.
Date: January 7, 1907
Partner: Bee County Historical Commission

Bee County.

Description: Map shows land patents, block and tract numbers, landowners, towns, and railroads; portions of adjacent counties where property boundaries extend beyond county limits. Scale not given.
Date: 1906
Creator: [Texas]. General Land Office.
Partner: University of Texas at Arlington Library


Description: Patent for a new and useful hub wrench, including instructions and illustrations.
Date: February 27, 1900
Creator: Sauls, Henry
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Measuring Device for Rolled Goods.

Description: Patent for an improved "means for measuring rolled goods while the materials is being unrolled and also to indicate the amount of material remaining in the roll" (lines 10-13).
Date: February 10, 1900
Creator: Sauls, Henry & Cook, George S.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department


Description: Patent for an attachment for lamp burners designed to automatically extinguish the flame of the lamp should it be tilted at an angle. Illustrations included.
Date: February 23, 1909
Creator: Sommerville, Robert A.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department


Description: Patent for improved rail joints that are stronger, more durable, removes the need for "pounding of the rails ends" (lines 14-15) and reducing the loss and displacement of bolts.
Date: January 23, 1906
Creator: Hensley, Joseph B.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Pipe Clamp

Description: Patent for a pipe clamp. Illustration included.
Date: March 12, 1907
Creator: Krueger, Louis; Kinkler, Emil J. & Carmichael, Oscar H.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department


Description: Patent for a trap for bedbugs made of pine wood with many nooks and crannies and springs attached to either side of the wooden block. It can be put on the bed frame and bedbugs hide in its dark recesses during the day, and then the trap can either be hit to close the springs and crush the bugs or put into hot water to drown them.
Date: July 16, 1907
Creator: Mattingly, Benjamin Joseph
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department


Description: Patent for a singe register which maintains a record of each time a barber uses a singeing taper. Illustrations included.
Date: September 15, 1908
Creator: Faris, John W. B.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department


Description: Patent for a harvester. Illustration included.
Date: June 20, 1905
Creator: Lampton, Flavius J. & Thompson, J. H.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department