18,322 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

"Fat & Lean" LULAC Fundraiser

Description: Photograph of the "Fat and Lean" fundraiser for LULAC (League of United Latin American Citizens). Nash Moreno, wearing a polka dot dress and a hat, is batting. A catcher stands behind her. Others stand in front of a fence and watch.
Date: 194u
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Frank Albrecht in an equipment closet at the Austin Recreation Center]

Description: Photograph of Franch Albrecht putting a volleyball onto a top shelf in an activities closet at the Austin Athletic Club (renamed Austin Recreation Center in 1970). Various other items for activities are on the shelves such as checkers and ping-pong balls, as well as other supplies such as water sprinklers, paint, and electrical supplies. The first organized recreation center in Austin was the privately owned Austin Athletic Club, built in 1923, by William T. Caswell. In 1931. Mr. Caswell sold the club to the City of Austin for "a small remuneration". The name of the center was officially changed to the Austin Recreation Center in 1970. After substantial damage, due to the Memorial Day flood of 1981 that center was closed after the existing center was built and opened in 1986.
Date: 1955
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Pan American Recreation Center's Skating Class

Description: Photograph of the Pan American Recreation Center's skating class in the Zavala Gym. A line of seven boys, aged 9 through 12 hold on to each other's shirts while skating in a line through the gym. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: March 30, 1959
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Soldier and His Mule

Description: Photograph of an American World War I-era soldier standing in the street with a pack mule. There is a street car in the background along with a drug store and other men in the street.
Date: [1915, 1920]
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Abdominal Supporter.

Description: Patent for a new and improved abdominal supporter. This design "consist[s] of the waist-belt, the abdominal sector-shaped pads hung from the waist-belt by elastic straps, the straps buttoned to the belt behind and to the bottom of the abdominal pads in front, the side straps connecting the abdominal pads with the pieces at the back, and the front strap connecting the two abdominal pads together with the shoulder-straps" (lines 70-79).
Date: December 25, 1888
Creator: Gray, Harriet N.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Separable Button or Stud.

Description: Patent for invention that relates to seperable buttons or studs - such as collar and cuff buttons, shirt-studs and the like of that which the article comprises a back or base portion provided with a stem or coupling member and a head provided the means to coact therewith,... (Vrendendurgh, 1902).
Date: September 2, 1902
Creator: Vrendenburgh, J. L.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Ledger.

Description: Patent for improvements in ledgers by giving each column in a ledger sheet a “label” such as customer’s name, daily entry, daily balance, monthly balance and etc… to record daily and monthly transactions of an individual customer's account. Illustration is included.
Date: July 8, 1902
Creator: Winn, Joseph B.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Bale-Tie

Description: Patent for a bale-tie fastener including illustrations.
Date: July 31, 1900
Creator: Cypher, David A. & Dayton, William L.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Churn-Dasher

Description: Patent for an improved churn dasher "to thoroughly agitate the cream at the center of the churn-body and also around the bottom of the walls thereof" (lines 13-15) and "also to cause tangential streams or currents at the bottom of the churn, so as to thoroughly agitate all of the cream and effectively intermingle the air therewith" (lines 18-22), including illustrations.
Date: October 23, 1900
Creator: Franklin, Edward R.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Map of the City of Austin.

Description: Map shows property ownership, location of the University of Texas with index to names of buildings, sororities, and fraternities, and the Texas State Capitol building. Includes index. Scale not given.
Date: 1920?
Partner: University of Texas at Arlington Library

Hitching-Strap.

Description: Patent for a strap to attach an animal to a hitching-post, especially a smooth one, to avoid slipping or accidental loosening by the animal with "an improved slidable catch" (line 18).
Date: December 11, 1900
Creator: Jacobsen, Frederik August
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[Municipal Golf Course clearing fairway number ten]

Description: Photograph of a tree being uprooted at Austin Municipal Golf Course on fairway number ten. The tree is attached to a chain around its trunk and is being uprooted by heavy machinery out of frame. A printed caption at the bottom of the image says, "[E]very body pull hard. Austin Lions club" and one below the photo says "A Hard Pull on Fareway No. 10."
Date: unknown
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Postcard of Governor's Mansion in Austin, Texas]

Description: Postcard of a two story building with large marble columns supporting the overlapping roof. The balcony on the second floor is fenced with a different pattern than the one that fences in the porch. "Governor's Mansion" is written at the bottom edge of the postcard, describing the scene.
Date: unknown
Creator: Jordan
Partner: McFaddin-Ward House Museum

[Postcard of Neill-Cochran House Double Parlor 6]

Description: Postcard of a white walled room with wood floors, lace and red curtains hanging on the windows, the portrait of a woman in a white dress above the mangle above the fireplace. Two rugs with red and dark patterns lay on the floor and a leather couch sits under a window. On the back of the postcard, it is described as follows, "Neill-Cochran House circa 1853 2310 San Gabriel Street, Austin, Texas The lovely double parlors at Neill-Cochran House are beautifully furnished authentically by the owners, the National Society of Colonial Dames of America in Texas. The walls, windows, and fireplaces are the original. Open Friday afternoons to the public."
Date: unknown
Partner: McFaddin-Ward House Museum

[Postcard of Neill-Cochran Library]

Description: Postcard of a white fireplace between two tall windows dressed in white curtains. A portrait of George Washington hangs over the mantle. The back of the postcard adds, "Neill-Cochran House circa 1853 2310 San Gabriel Street, Austin, Texas Library and Archives Room, furnished in authentic antiques. It contains the records of the National Society of Colonial Dames of America in Texas as well as books on Colonial History, Colonial Dame Registers and Texana. Open Friday afternoons to the public!"
Date: unknown
Partner: McFaddin-Ward House Museum