30,476 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Boys on Bikes at Town Lake]

Description: Photograph of Auditorium Shores on Town Lake, looking east, with three boys riding bikes on a gravel path. A railroad bridge crosses the river behind them. Crest Inn is visible in the distance.
Date: 1972
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Town Lake's First Tree]

Description: Photograph of the planting of Town Lake's first tree by the Women's Architectural League. Two women and a man are gathered around the tree, the man holding a shovel. The state Capitol building, UT tower, and other buildings are visible in the background. The young woman in the photograph is Gail Swallow, President of Women's Architectural League.
Date: February 11, 1966
Creator: Vaughn, Ronald
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

"Hello Dolly" 1972

Description: Photograph of performers on the set of "Hello Dolly" at Zilker Hillside Theater. L-R: Pam Fulton as Ermengarde, Carol Lucius as Dolly, Ben Wear as Ambrose.
Date: 1972
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Children swimming at Rosewood Park]

Description: Photograph of a group of African-American children swimming and splashing at the Rosewood Park for Negroes swimming pool. Extensive use of swimming pool and facilities demonstrates success of this recreation center.
Date: August 19, 1938
Creator: Ellison Photo Service
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Rosewood Park for Negroes

Description: Photograph of a group of black children watching a youth prepare to dive from the diving board into the public pool at Rosewood Park.
Date: September 8, 1938
Creator: Ellison Photo Service, Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Pan American Recreation Center's Skating Class

Description: Photograph of the Pan American Recreation Center's skating class in the Zavala Gym. A line of seven boys, aged 9 through 12 hold on to each other's shirts while skating in a line through the gym. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: March 30, 1959
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Oriental Gardens - I. Taniguchi

Description: Photograph of Isamu Taniguchi at the Oriental garden at the Austin Area Garden Center. He is sitting on a stone pathway and working with plants.
Date: February 25, 1968
Creator: Recreation Department, City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Barton Springs After Flood]

Description: Photograph of flooding at Barton Springs. Caption reads: "Picturesque and peaceful Barton Springs was turned into a raging torrent that left debris and destruction after this flood rolled in the morning of June 17, 1958."
Date: June 17, 1958
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library
Back to Top of Screen