70 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[First Christian Church Dedication]

Description: Photograph of the new church building dedication for the First Christian Church. The Reverend Claude F. Pierce (dressed in white shirt and pants with dark jacket in front with his hands on his hips) was the minister here 1911-1915.
Date: July 1915
Partner: First Christian Church of Port Arthur

[Queen of Port Arthur]

Description: Photograph of Mary Donaldson sitting on the edge of chair with a painting of a flower on the back. She holds a scepter in her arms and wears a long trailing cloak and a crown. She was crowned the Queen of Port Arthur's Silver Celebration in 1927.
Date: July 4, 1927
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Inaugural Banquet]

Description: Photograph of a group of men standing behind a table at the inaugural banquet of the Port Arthur Junior Chamber of Commerce, held in the Pleasure Pier ballroom in Port Arthur, Texas. The men are identified as Joe Bogel, Wes Brannon, Clint Dunnigan, Lyle Vickers, Forest Collins, Herbert Halliday, Fred Wilson, Tom Faver, and Ross Harris.
Date: July 1944
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Port Commission]

Description: Photograph of five men of the Port Commission sitting around a wooden table in Port Arthur, Texas. A small carving of a ship's wheel hangs on the wall behind the man at the head of the table, and there is a banner on the wall to the left. The men are identified as E. W. McCarthy, Charles Freeman, Capt. W. F. Freeman, Charles Glenwright, and Euclid Hudson.
Date: July 22, 1969
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Photograph of the First Boat Through a New Canal, January 24,1908]

Description: Photograph of the first boat to move through the new canal in Port Arthur, Texas. The center of the photo shows the lengthy vessel "Sabine" carrying lumber and several men and women in dark formal clothing, a United States flag raised fore and aft. There is a boat behind the "Sabine" and another boat with its nameplate partially hidden is over to the right. To the left is a smaller vessel covered with lumber and tools and a single man in the rear. Land runs across the left side and in the right background. On the reverse side of the photograph is a description of the photo, the date, and an incomplete list of visible people.
Date: July 24, 1908
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Central Fire Station]

Description: Postcard of Beaumont Fire Department's Central Fire Station at Mulberry and Walnut streets with horse drawn fire engines, carriages, and fire fighters. On the left side of the building is a sign for "Entrance, City Hall" and two children sitting near the entrance. At that time the fire department shared the building with city hall. On the right side of the building, on the second story, appear to be legs dangling out of the window. Other buildings can be seen in the background. Printed at the top of the postcard is "Central Fire Station, Beaumont, Texas." Printed on the back of the postcard is the following information regarding the postcard's creation: "Published by S.H. Kress & Co. Made in U.S.A." and "A-466." Handwritten on the back of the postcard, "Beaumont Texas July 26, 14 Mrs. M.E. Smith Dear Aunt How are you all Why don't some of you all rite I have written to you all several times and never received any reply All well Hope this will find you all the same We like here fine This is a fine place What is William doing What has gone with them and the boys very well E.F. Scott 470 Buford St Bmt, Tex." The card is addressed to Mrs. M.E. Smith c/o W.M. Beckworth Anderson Texas
Date: July 27, 1914
Creator: S. H. Kress & Co.
Partner: Tyrrell Historical Library

[News Script: Covered wagon]

Description: Script from the WBAP-TV/NBC station in Fort Worth, Texas, covering a news story about a group of Lamar Tech college students travel from Texas to California via a covered wagon pulled by mules.
Date: July 11, 1958
Creator: WBAP-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections