3,246 Matching Results

Search Results

[First Christian Church]

Description: On the back of photograph is typed: THIS PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN BY, A. F. WEAVER 1901 N. W. 6TH AVENUE MINERAL WELLS TEXAS DATE JUL 27 1964. The First Christian church occupies the site of the former Gibson Well Park and Pavilion in the 700 block of NW 2nd Avenue (the address on the photograph was A.F. Weaver's home.) Some of the limestone used to build the church was donated by latter-day owners of the historic Rock Pens on Dillingham Prairie, where the first meeting of the Northwest Texas Cattle Raisers' Association was held in 1876. Oliver Loving's son, J.C. Loving, wrote a letter to northwest Texas ranchers after the meeting, inviting them to meet the following February in Graham, where the Association was organized. C.C. Slaughter, once the richest man in Texas, owned the Rock Pens at the time of the Stock Raisers' meeting.
Date: July 27, 1964
Creator: Weaver, A. F.
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

[First Christian Church]

Description: Typed on the back photograph is: THIS PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN BY A.F. WEAVER 1901 N. W. 6TH AVE. MINERAL WELLS, TEXAS DATE JUL 27, 1964. It is a view of the limestone church occupying the site of the former Gibson Well Park and Pavilion. Some of the rock used in this church came from owners of the historic Rock Pens on Dillingham Prairie.
Date: July 27, 1964
Creator: Weaver, A. F.
Partner: Boyce Ditto Public Library

Wedding Cake

Description: Photograph of a three-tiered wedding cake, decorated with roses and sprigs of flowers. A bride-and-groom figurine is on top, beneath an arbor of the flower sprigs. The cake is on a table, sitting on top of decorative tulle; plates, glasses, and forks are also visible on the table.
Date: December 27, 1963
Creator: Douglass, Neal
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Transcript of meeting on HemisFair '68

Description: Transcript of a meeting held August 24, 1965 with Allison Peery, Richard Wilson, and Jim Glass. The meeting discussed the HemisFair project, why it was proposed, how it would be financed, the space planning, what facilities and attractions would be offered, as well as what the fair symbols should be. The transcript is typed, with annotations in hand, on "Culberson, Slaughter, Glass & DuBose, inc." corporate letterhead.
Date: August 27, 1965
Partner: UT San Antonio Libraries Special Collections

Cover letter on HemisFair '68 meeting

Description: Letter to accompany the transcript of a meeting held August 24, 1965 about HemisFair '68. The letter, from Jim Glass, is addressed to one of the fellow meeting attendees, Mr. Allison Peery. Mr. Peery was one of the site planning architects for HemisFair. The letter is written on "Culberson, Slaughter, Glass & DuBose, inc." letterhead.
Date: August 27, 1968
Creator: Glass, Jim
Partner: UT San Antonio Libraries Special Collections