159 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[The Christian Tabernacle]

Description: Photograph of the First Christian Church charter members in front of the building known as the "Christian Tabernacle". The Reverend H.M. Polsgrove is sixth from the left on front row. He served the First Christian Church in Port Arthur, 1908-1911. This building was constructed in 1905 at 700 Fifth Street. It was removed in 1912 to make room for the new brick structure which was completed in 1915. Other ministers who served in the Tabernacle were Reverend Tolbert Weaver, and Reverend C.F. Pearce.
Date: 1904
Creator: J.C. Watkins Photography
Partner: First Christian Church of Port Arthur

[Gulf Oil Tennis Club]

Description: Photograph of a large group of people sitting on the porch of a building to watch a tennis match at the Gulf Oil Tennis Club in Port Arthur, Texas. Several more people stand on the court, holding tennis rackets, and the net is visible to the right. F. E. "Gene" Gifford and his wife Florence are seated on the porch, fourth and fifth from the left.
Date: 1908
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Students with Port Arthur Pennants]

Description: Photograph of a group of male and female students, some of whom hold two Port Arthur pennants between them, posing in front of a brick building in Port Arthur, Texas. A handwritten note below the photo reads: "Port Arthur, Texas - High School".
Date: 1902
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast

[Photograph of the First Boat Through a New Canal, January 24,1908]

Description: Photograph of the first boat to move through the new canal in Port Arthur, Texas. The center of the photo shows the lengthy vessel "Sabine" carrying lumber and several men and women in dark formal clothing, a United States flag raised fore and aft. There is a boat behind the "Sabine" and another boat with its nameplate partially hidden is over to the right. To the left is a smaller vessel covered with lumber and tools and a single man in the rear. Land runs across the left side and in the right background. On the reverse side of the photograph is a description of the photo, the date, and an incomplete list of visible people.
Date: July 24, 1908
Partner: Museum of the Gulf Coast