18 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[High School Students in Shop Class at Austin High School]

Description: Photograph of twenty high school students and one teacher at Stephen F. Austin High School in Austin, Texas in some sort of shop class. The co-ed group stands posed, facing the camera, among worktables. Some of the female students wear aprons and hold tools in their hands. A brick wall with large windows is in the background. The image is partially obscured due to deterioration of the original photograph.
Date: 1900~/1920~
Creator: Boone, Alanson D.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Cranes and Machinery]

Description: Photograph of a group of large construction machinery. To the left are several pipe structures raised at different levels. Two men can be seen working inside one of the pipes. To the right is a crane with a man seen walking in front of it. Another crane can be partially seen coming from the right. In the background, three large silo structures of various heights can be seen.
Date: January 1959
Creator: Mears, Dewey G.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Men Working on Machinery]

Description: Photograph of workers with various silos and machinery. Several silo structures can be seen to the left of the photo. A group of men can be seen working under two of the silos near the center. To the right are two cranes being operated next to two pipe structures being built. A man with a wheel barrow can be seen walking in front of these pipes, and in the background to the right, a very tall silo structure can be seen.
Date: January 1959
Creator: Mears, Dewey G.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Burglar Attempting to Enter a Home as a Girl Watches]

Description: Photograph of a burglar attempting to enter a home with a screwdriver as a young girl watches as an advertisement for D. G. B Advertising. The young girl is wearing a light-colored dress, and the man is wearing dark-colored clothing, a light-colored bandana, and a dark-colored hat.
Date: October 29, 1951
Creator: Mears, Dewey G.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Thumb and hand of a founder]

Description: Photograph of the disjointed thumb and rough, callused hand of an ironworker at the Weigl Iron Works. Weigl Iron works was opened in 1922 by German founder and immigrant Fortunat Weigl at Exposition Boulevard, but moved shortly after to its home on 100 Red River. The flood of June 5, 1935 hit the Weigl Iron Works hard. Fortunat was joined in the business by his sons Lee and Herbert, who ran the business after Fortnuat's death in 1973 until their retirement in 1977. In 1978, Iron Works BBQ opened to honor the Weigl family and their industry.
Date: 19uu
Creator: Austin Citizen Photograph
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Arc welder at Weigl Iron Works]

Description: Photograph of a member of the Weigl family using an arc welder on a project. The Weigl Iron Works was founded in 1922 by German immigrant and founder Fortunat Weigl. In 1935 Weigl moved his foundry from its Exposition Boulevard location to 100 Red River location where it remained for several decades. He was joined in business by his sons Lee and Herbert who continued to operate after Fortunat's death in 1973 until their retirement in 1977. In 1978, the location was reopened as Iron Works BBQ in honor of the history at that location.
Date: 19uu
Creator: Austin Citizen Photograph
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Hands working iron with chisel]

Description: Photograph of a man's hands working on an iron project. The hands are cracked, callused, and worn from decades of working with iron. They could belong to Fortunat Weigl or to one of his sons Lee or Herbert. Weigl Iron Works was established on Exposition Boulevard in 1922 by German immigrant and founder Fortunat Weigl and moved shortly afterwards to its location at 100 Red River. Fortunat was joined in business by his sons who operated the business after Fortunat's death in 1973 until their retirement in 1977. In 1978, Iron Works BBQ opened at the 100 Red River location in honor of the building's history.
Date: 197u
Creator: Austin Citizen Photograph
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Pan American Recreation Center Wood Shop

Description: Photograph of an instructor showing a boy how to use a saw on a piece of wood at the Pan Am wood shop. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: March 30, 1959
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library