1,054 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Postcard of Ford's Restaurant in Aberdeen, Maryland]

Description: Postcard of Ford's Restaurant on U.S. Route 40 in Aberdeen, Maryland. A handwritten note addressed to Miss Helen H. Aten from Woodrow W. Aten says "Hello All. The weather is a bit warmer here now. This is the first day & it is quite interesting. We came to Aberdeen tonite. My address here is- Bomb Disposal School, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland. Woodrow."
Date: May 17, 1943
Creator: Aten, Woodrow W.
Partner: The 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum

[Insurrecto Mob in Juarez]

Description: Photograph of an armed mob of insurrectos walking down a commercial street in Juarez, Mexico. Several businesses line both sides of the street. On the left, there is a pharmacy (Farmacia Central), saloon (Los Pinos Saloon), barbershop (barberia), ice cream shop (neveria), shoe repair shop (La Fronteriza Zapateria), and a tailor (sastreria). A sign for the Uncle Sam Cafe can be seen on the right side of the photo. Further down the street, the W. ? Walz Co. is located inside a two-story building.
Date: [1910..1920]
Creator: Aultman, Otis A., 1874-1943
Partner: El Paso Public Library

[Major Generals]

Description: Photograph of Major Generals Hugh L. Scott and Frederick Funston accompanied by Andres Garcia, the Consul General of Mexico in El Paso, as they walk towards the camera. Major General Scott is the third individual from the left, Major General Funston is the fifth individual from the left, and Andres Garcia is the sixth individual, walking next to Major General Funston.
Date: April 28, 1916
Creator: Aultman, Otis A., 1874-1943
Partner: El Paso Public Library

[Cast of Rawhide at a Diner]

Description: Photograph of O. H. Crew with Clint Eastwood, who played Rowdy Yates, and Paul Brinegar, who played Wishbone, on the television series "Rawhide." This photograph was taken in Montgomery, Alabama, 1964. They sit in a booth in front of a window and most of the decor is seafoam green in color.
Date: 1964
Creator: Bankston, Ray
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Letter from Julia A. Barr to the Moore family, December 3, 1888]

Description: This item is from the Charles B. Moore Collection. It is written by Julia A. Barr, Henry and Charles Moore's cousin. In the letter, Julia updates the Moore family on the happenings in Jerseyville, Illinois and the news includes: a dialogue about meeting cousin George Wilson in Eureka Springs, Arkansas while on a trip there, a discussion about the people that accompanied here on the trip and how long she stayed, details concerning the people she meet in Eureka Springs, a conversation about Seella, her two children, and Polly, a dialogue about their helper who was discharged over a year ago and how they are getting along without him, an update on the bountiful crops and how good rain has made it possible for people to get out of debt, a discussion about "Aunt" Sally Smith and Uncle Abner's family, a dialogue about Sottie Knaff's daughter, details about the Goodrich family, an aside about the town of Jerseyville, a dialogue about Mrs. O. P. Powell's children, a discussion about Wilson Cross and Ida Barr Cross, details about Fannie and her love for entertaining, updates on family, a dialogue about Barr's California trip and the places they stopped at along the way, details about the trip and the cities and sites Barr saw in California, a discussion about the trip back home to Illinois and details about their stop in Salt Lake City, an aside on how lovely the topography was from Salt Lake to Denver, a discussion on her return home, and a dialogue about recent plans. She closes the letter by asking how Linnet was doing, asks the Moore family to write soon, and sends her love to all. The envelope is included with the letter.
Date: December 3, 1888
Creator: Barr, Julia A.
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

Brite Building, Marfa

Description: Photograph of the Brite Building, next to Maiya's Restaurant. A white truck is parked in front of the Brite Building. An American flag hangs above the restaurant.
Date: August 4, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

Brownwood Harvey House, Historic Plaque

Description: Photograph of a historic plaque for the Brownwood Harvey House. It says: "Built in 1914 immediately east of Brownwood Sante Fe railroad depot, this was one of a series of restaurants operated along the Santa Fe line by the Fred Harvey Company, products of railroad agent Fred Harvey's idea to provide superior food and lodging for travelers. The Harvey House was popular from its opening day. The restaurant and hotel closed in 1937, but reopened to serve military personnel when Camp Bowie was established in World War II. It closed permanently in 1945 as passenger railroad travel declined in the era of prosperity following the war. Typical of railroad structures built in the southwest during this period by the Atchison, Topeka & Sante Fe Railroad, the structure features elements of Spanish mission revival style with its red tile hipped roof and decorative brackets." There is another plaque above the historic marker, which says: "Santa Fe Railroad Harvey House has been listed in the national register of historic places by the United States Department of the Interior. 1976."
Date: August 1, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

Historic Plaque, Hartfield Building

Description: Photograph of a historic plaque in Albany, Texas. It reads: "Hartfield Building. Charles A. Hartfield purchased the lot on this site in 1881. A noted area cook, he quickly established "Charley's Restaurant," which included a bakery and boardinghouse. Hartfield was so successful that he planned an elegant rock structure in which to house his business. Construction began in March 1884 amid a flurry of development in the area. Scottish stonemason Patrick McDonnell, who was responsible for much of the stonework on the new courthouse, was foreman for the Hartfield worksite. The project's scope proved too grand for Hartfield's finances, however, and in September of 1884 he sold the building to J. C. Lynch. Financially ruined, Hartfield was found dead within the year. Lynch sold his building in 1885 to three Albany businessmen: Max Blach, N. H. Burns and Sam Webb. Charles Hartfield's widow, Lettie Hartfield, joined them as an equal partner and the group completed the structure, probably using Charles Hartfield's original plans. The building was occupied over time by such businesses as a grocery, a general merchandise store, a bowling alley and an auto repair shop. The Albany Masonic Lodge began meeting in the structure as early as 1893, and it became known as "The Masonic Building" to local residents. Real Estate magnate L. H. Hill purchased the building in 1925, and the masonic lodge bought it in 1940. Damage from nesting bats caused part of the buildings limestone front to tumble into the street in 1954. The Masons took down the facade and rebuilt it with yellow brick. Sold again in 1996, the building was renovated and its facade reconstructed to reflect its former grandeur as one of Albany's finest early structures. (2000)"
Date: April 14, 2006
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Partner: UNT Libraries

Smokestack Restaurant, Thurber

Description: Photograph of the Smokestack Restaurant in Thurbur, Texas. The restaurant is red with green trim and the parking lot in front of the building is filled with cars and several people standing around a group of motorcycles. The edge of a field is visible in the foreground of the picture.
Date: August 7, 2005
Creator: Belden, Dreanna L.
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries

[Building on Field Street]

Description: Photograph of a four-story red brick building in Field Street in Dallas, Texas. A restaurant called Lenny's is housed on the first floor, and two cars drive by on the road outside.
Date: unknown
Creator: Bell, Jim
Partner: Private Collection of Jim Bell

C.R. Haynie & Co. Building in Bastrop, Texas

Description: Photograph of 1883 C.R. Haynie & Co. building in Bastrop, Texas. The two story building is comprised of blue painted brick with white and red trim. The current occupant, Anita's Restaurant, has an electric "open" sign placed in the middle arched window on the first floor.
Date: unknown
Creator: Bell, Jim
Partner: Private Collection of Jim Bell

[Cars in Lot]

Description: Photograph of several cars parked in a lot in Centerville, Texas. Several buildings are visible across the street, including a Mexican restaurant.
Date: unknown
Creator: Bell, Jim
Partner: Private Collection of Jim Bell

[Cars on Courthouse Square]

Description: Photograph of several cars parked in spaces around the courthouse square in Hillsboro, Texas. Several stores, including Frenkie's Italian Restaurant, are visible in the background.
Date: August 13, 2010
Creator: Bell, Jim
Location Info:
Partner: Private Collection of Jim Bell

[Cars on Denton Square]

Description: Photograph of cars and a semi-truck on the square in Denton, Texas. The stores in the background include a boutique, a pizza place, and McNeill's Appliance.
Date: unknown
Creator: Bell, Jim
Location Info:
Partner: Private Collection of Jim Bell