6 Matching Results

Search Results

[Postcard to George Pendexter, June 16, 1912]

Description: Postcard addressed to George Pendexter concerning the current situation in Brownwood, Texas, where there had been three fires in a short amount of time. The photograph on the reverse side shows a vehicle being pulled by horses, with four firemen standing near the backside, into a garage. These men and vehicle are apart of the greater fire department in Brownwood, Texas.
Date: June 16, 1912
Partner: Fire Museum of Texas

[Postcard from W. B. Johnston to George Pendexter, July 16, 1912]

Description: Postcard from W. B. Johnston to George Pendexter telling him of a recent fire they had "the 11th and one Sunday morning at 3 a.m." The photograph shows a devastated building with a caption that reads: "Great Fendrich Fire Ruins Main St. Looking West from 2nd St. Evansville, Indiana." The building in the center is almost completely destroyed while the one to its left has most of its walls still standing though its roof is gone.
Date: July 16, 1912
Creator: Johnston, W. B.
Partner: Fire Museum of Texas

[Postcard from W. B. Johnston to George Pendexter, August 16, 1912]

Description: Postcard from W. B. Johnston to George Pendexter saying that he has just returned from his vacation of 25 days. The photograph on the reverse side of the card shows a Quaker Oats Plant having been burned in March 1911; the building is still smoking at the time of this picture. There is also a train in the photograph with the words "Ann Arbor" written on the side.
Date: August 16, 1912
Creator: Johnston, W. B.
Partner: Fire Museum of Texas

[Postcard of a Fire Station, Alexandria, La.]

Description: Postcard of a fire station in Alexandria, Louisiana. The fire department is lined up outside the station in their horse-drawn wagons. A U.S. flag is mounted on top of the station. On the left of the station, there is a cylindrical tower that extends roughly 8 stories high. On the back of the postcard, the sender has left a handwritten message that says, "Have not had a run since I have been here."
Date: August 16, 1912
Partner: Fire Museum of Texas

[Postcard of Yoakum, Texas]

Description: Postcard of Front Street at Yoakum, Texas. A neighborhood is seen in the distance, behind a small row of neatly trimmed trees. An annotation on the left of the image labels a building as a fire hall.
Date: September 16, 1912
Partner: Fire Museum of Texas