1,225 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Santa Fe Bridge with Mount Franklin]

Description: Photograph of Santa Fe bridge in El Paso with small house-like structure on both ends, and part of a mountain range and power lines seen in the background. Handwriting on the back reads, "Santa Fe Bridge 1800's Mt. Franklin in Background". The name "Stuart" can be seen on the bottom right corner of the photograph.
Date: 1800~
Partner: El Paso Public Library

Improvement in Bridges.

Description: Patent for an improvement in Bridges and Self-Supporting Roofs and Girders. The invention provides instruction for "the construction of truss-bridges and self supporting roofs and girders"..."by nailing or bolting securely together successive layers of plank joined at different points."
Date: May 26, 1873
Creator: Davis, Benjamin F.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Bridge

Description: Patent for the construction of substantial bridges of wood adapted for long spans, and which can be put up where iron bridges would be too expensive.
Date: May 24, 1881
Creator: Brenner, August W.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Wreck of the Don Milo

Description: Photograph of the Lavaca River Bridge after the wreck of the San Antonio and Aransas Pass "Don Milo" freight train. There are pieces of the wreck still in the water, and there are men on what is left of the bridge, on the bank, and in the water. A train engine is on the tracks just before the bridge. There are cows in the background. According to the accompanying article, the wreck happened on Saturday, January 5, 1890 at 5:30 P.M. after heavy rainfall, and three people were killed. On the back is written "Property of Lillie Ahrens Hallettsville, Texas" and there is an explanation of the photograph.
Date: January 15, 1890
Partner: Friench Simpson Memorial Library

Wooden Bridge

Description: Patent for a wooden bridge with a focus on increased durability of the structure and effective drainage for moisture from the timbers and for the free circulation of air between, around, or through the structure.
Date: April 9, 1891
Creator: Ferguson, Benjamin F.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[Photograph of Two Bridges Over Salado Creek]

Description: Photograph of the first iron top bridge and a smaller pedestrian suspension bridge to the right; both bridges span the Salado Creek, and has trees surrounding it on both sides. The back of the photo has a note that says the first iron bridge lasted from 1892 to 1913, while the suspension bridge was "destroyed in 1900."
Date: [1892..1913]
Partner: Salado Public Library

Pontoon Bridge

Description: Photograph of a pontoon bridge. A man is standing on the right side of the bridge. Further to the right is a horse tied to the bridge's post. A small building is visible past the other side of the water. The photograph is a cyanotype.
Date: April 2, 1892
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Breakwater, &c.

Description: Patent for an improved way of constructing piers, jetties, breakwaters, and similar structures. "It can be constructed from boats, barges, or from a trestle, or can be built continuously from a starting-point on shore to the objective point in the lake, bay, gulf, or other body of water" (lines 17-21). This invention is especially useful for places that don't have banks or ledges.
Date: August 9, 1892
Creator: Shannon, Alexander M.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[Construction of the first bridge across the Brazos River]

Description: Photograph of the construction process of the first bridge across the Brazos River. There are men standing on the lumber being use to construct the bridge surface, and a man wearing a dark colored vest, white shirt, and light colored hat in the right corner of photo. An African-American boy walking toward camera in the right corner, and there are trees in background. Photograph is mounted on a gray cardboard matte.
Date: 1893
Partner: Fort Bend Museum

Side Rail for Suspension-Bridges.

Description: Patent for a side rail for suspension bridges that is meant "to provide an improved side railing constituting a truss, which will be light, durable, and of structural simplicity" (lines 20-23).
Date: March 21, 1893
Creator: Runyon, Edwin Elijah
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Caisson-Driver.

Description: Patent for an improved machine that sinks caissons into gravel or mud in order to make a foundation for breakwater, jetty, bridge, or similar purpose. It applies continuous and heavy pressure to the caisson during operation, and "is provided with a jet apparatus to force the sand and mud from within the caisson and cause it to settle around the outer portion of the same, thus holding it firmly in place, and which in general enables a caisson foundation to be laid with great facility and in a substantial manner" (lines 20-26).
Date: April 4, 1893
Creator: Perrenot, Theodore F.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[Opening of the Brazos River Bridge in 1894]

Description: Photograph of the opening of the Brazos River Bridge in 1894. Couple on right (identified on back of copy of this photo) leaning against rail: Mr. And Mrs. J.J. Adams. The man standing to left in dark suit is identified as Buck Flanagan, the prison warden at Sugar Land. There are six people standing on the bridge. There is a dog to the right of the bridge.
Date: 1894
Partner: Fort Bend Museum

Suspension-Bridge.

Description: Patent for a suspension bridge that improves on a previous patent granted to the inventor (No. 411,499). This patent is meant to "decrease the vertical motion in floor of min span of bridge, thereby adding stability thereto; to provide for a new and improved anchorage for the suspension cables of the bridge; and, furthermore, to improve certain details of construction" (lines 15-20).
Date: January 23, 1894
Creator: Greer, William Henry Clay
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[County bridge over Brazos at Richmond]

Description: Photograph of the opening of the "county bridge over Brazos at Richmond, June 20, 1894" as written in pencil on the front of the photo. Back of photo in pen: Joe and Alma Ryon. June 20, 1894. People are standing on the bridge. Seven men are standing/sitting on top beams of bridge and five are standing/sitting on the beam to far right that attaches to the ground structure. Photograph is mounted on tan cardboard substrate. Photo has foxing and stains. Cardboard has stains and is worn at the corners.
Date: June 20, 1894
Partner: Fort Bend Museum