48 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Thumb and hand of a founder]

Description: Photograph of the disjointed thumb and rough, callused hand of an ironworker at the Weigl Iron Works. Weigl Iron works was opened in 1922 by German founder and immigrant Fortunat Weigl at Exposition Boulevard, but moved shortly after to its home on 100 Red River. The flood of June 5, 1935 hit the Weigl Iron Works hard. Fortunat was joined in the business by his sons Lee and Herbert, who ran the business after Fortnuat's death in 1973 until their retirement in 1977. In 1978, Iron Works BBQ opened to honor the Weigl family and their industry.
Date: 19uu
Creator: Austin Citizen Photograph
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Arc welder at Weigl Iron Works]

Description: Photograph of a member of the Weigl family using an arc welder on a project. The Weigl Iron Works was founded in 1922 by German immigrant and founder Fortunat Weigl. In 1935 Weigl moved his foundry from its Exposition Boulevard location to 100 Red River location where it remained for several decades. He was joined in business by his sons Lee and Herbert who continued to operate after Fortunat's death in 1973 until their retirement in 1977. In 1978, the location was reopened as Iron Works BBQ in honor of the history at that location.
Date: 19uu
Creator: Austin Citizen Photograph
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Hands working iron with chisel]

Description: Photograph of a man's hands working on an iron project. The hands are cracked, callused, and worn from decades of working with iron. They could belong to Fortunat Weigl or to one of his sons Lee or Herbert. Weigl Iron Works was established on Exposition Boulevard in 1922 by German immigrant and founder Fortunat Weigl and moved shortly afterwards to its location at 100 Red River. Fortunat was joined in business by his sons who operated the business after Fortunat's death in 1973 until their retirement in 1977. In 1978, Iron Works BBQ opened at the 100 Red River location in honor of the building's history.
Date: 197u
Creator: Austin Citizen Photograph
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Pan American Recreation Center Wood Shop

Description: Photograph of an instructor showing a boy how to use a saw on a piece of wood at the Pan Am wood shop. The Pan American Recreation Center was opened in June 1942 as the first Latin American Recreation Center in Austin and run under the auspices of the Federated Latin American Club and directed by the Austin Recreation Department. The name "Pan American Recreation Center" was chosen by the executive committee during a center naming contest. On September 7, 1956, a new Pan American Recreation Center was formally dedicated at 2100 East 3rd Street, just west of the old location and where it currently exists today. The building adjoins Zavala School and was built at a cost of $155,261. The Hillside Theater was later built and completed in June 1958.
Date: March 30, 1959
Creator: Recreation Dept., City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Design for a Staple.

Description: Design for a staple provided with series of barbs or spurs and intervening corrugations arranged in continuous series at the inner and outer edges of the staple.
Date: May 30, 1899
Creator: La Prelle, John
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Vehicle-Jack.

Description: Patent for a vehicle-jack that can raise and lower all of the supporting legs using a single lever, as well as lengthen and shorten the jack at will to adapt it to vehicles of different sizes.
Date: June 16, 1914
Creator: Douglass, John A.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

[Burglar Attempting to Enter a Home as a Girl Watches]

Description: Photograph of a burglar attempting to enter a home with a screwdriver as a young girl watches as an advertisement for D. G. B Advertising. The young girl is wearing a light-colored dress, and the man is wearing dark-colored clothing, a light-colored bandana, and a dark-colored hat.
Date: October 29, 1951
Creator: Mears, Dewey G.
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Four Men Laying Bricks at Shelton Chapel Site]

Description: Photograph of four men laying bricks along the framing of Shelton Chapel. Three of the men are using trowels, and there is a wheelbarrow visible on the scaffolding on the right side of the picture. Some palms and 27th Street can be seen in the background.
Date: 1942
Creator: Foster, William Hague
Location Info:
Partner: Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

[Robert Gribble Speaking Outside Shelton Chapel While Holding Brick]

Description: Photograph of a Austin Seminary professor Robert Gribble speaking in front of Shelton Chapel while holding a large brick or box in his hands. There are five other men behind him, and three of them in addition to the speaker are wearing dark suits. Two are holding books, and other men behind him are not wearing suits. To the right of the speaker, there are two sawhorses and a large slab resting on top of them. A shallow cavity can be seen in the wall of the chapel, roughly the same size as the brick or box being held by the speaker.
Date: 1940~/1949~
Creator: Foster, William Hague
Location Info:
Partner: Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Box-Corner Protector.

Description: Patent for a metal corner protector for boxes. The protector covers both the inner and outer corners of boxes to enhance grip and prevent protruding edges from damaging goods.
Date: February 10, 1914
Creator: Black, Katherine Mary
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Protractor.

Description: Patent for "improvements in drafting instruments and has particular application to a protractor or plotter." (lines 8-10)
Date: December 23, 1913
Creator: Ward, Walter P.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Apparatus for Treating Timber.

Description: Patent for an invention to aid in the treatment of treating timber. The invention is said to "provide a simple, inexpensive, durable, and efficient apparatus by means of which railroad cross-ties, fence-posts, and the like may be expeditiously and economically treated by immersion in a bath of some preserving liquid" (lines 16-22) including illustrations.
Date: July 11, 1905
Creator: Gerhard, Philip H.
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Tongue-Scraper.

Description: Patent for improvements in tongue-scrapers in which it will “not only used for scraping the coating from the tongue, but also for removing the small particles from the papillae which remain after the scraping operation.” (Lines 13-16) Illustration is included.
Date: April 8, 1902
Creator: Hagerty, Ida
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Shears

Description: Patent for shears to be used by metal workers. Illustrations included.
Date: May 30, 1911
Creator: Burkett, Thomas
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

CAR-COUPLING

Description: Patent for a Car-Coupling. "This invention relates to car-couplings of the Janney type..." (lines 9-10) including illustrations.
Date: August 11, 1903
Creator: Yeiser, John Clarke
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department

Brick Truck

Description: Patent for a truck that is designed to make the transportation of bricks easier as well as the transportation of other materials.
Date: September 22, 1905
Creator: Sacks, Martin Kuno
Partner: UNT Libraries Government Documents Department