69 Matching Results

Search Results

[Aerial View of Airport Facilities]

Description: Photograph of an aerial view of Love Field airport facilities. Buildings include an aero repair shop, a dope house, a garage, a rest house, a mechanic shop, the YMCA, a canteen, hangars, barracks, and mess halls.
Date: 1918
Partner: The University of Texas at Dallas

[Airplanes on a Field]

Description: Photograph of men pushing airplanes into position on a race track. People are visible in the foreground, and stables and other buildings are visible in the background.
Date: 1911
Partner: The University of Texas at Dallas

C. P. Schulze, Sr., by His Car

Description: C. P. Schulze, Sr., stands beside his automobile. Schulze purchased one of the first automobiles in the city of Irving, c. 1912.
Date: 1912~
Partner: Irving Archives

C. P. Schulze, Sr., c. 1915

Description: C. P. Schulze, Sr., in yard. Schulze was the brother of J. O. Schulze, who was the co-founder of the city of Irving. Both were members of a Chicago, Rock Island & Gulf Railway survey crew. J. O. remained in Texas to found the town, and C. P. moved on with the crew. When J. O. and his wife had to return to Iowa City, Iowa, C. P. came to Irving and took over the lumber yard started by his brother. C. P. ran the lumber yard from 1905 until his death in 1957.
Date: 1915~
Partner: Irving Archives

C. P. Schulze, Sr., Home in Irving, Texas

Description: House of Charles Percy Schulze. This house was constructed in 1912 in Irving, Texas. Schulze married Virginia Tucker of Dallas that same year. C. P. Schulze was the brother of Irving's co-founder J. O. Schulze. J. O. returned to their hometown of Iowa City, Iowa, in 1905, leaving his business in the hands of his brother. C. P. Schulze remained in Irving and operated Irving Lumber Company from 1905 until his death in 1957. The Schulze family donated this house to the city of Irving in 1975, and today it is a 1910s-period house museum.
Date: 1913~
Partner: Irving Archives

[Central Station Chief Car]

Description: Photograph of a fire engine pulling out of a brick firehouse, the central station at the corner of Main and Harwood.
Date: 1910
Partner: Dallas Firefighters Museum

Charles P. Schulze, Jr., in car, c. 1914

Description: A child in an automobile. C. P. Schulze, Jr. son of Charles Percy and Virginia Schulze, is photographed in his father's car, c. 1914. The Schulze family operated Irving Lumber from the time of the town's founding in 1903 until the 1980s.
Date: 1914~
Partner: Irving Archives

Charles Schulze, Jr., and John Brown as Children

Description: Charles Schulze, Jr., and John Brown as children, c. 1915. Charles Schulze, Jr., was the nephew of town co-founder J. O. Schulze. John Brown was the son of the other town co-founder Otis Brown.
Date: 1915~
Partner: Irving Archives

Children in a Toy Car

Description: Howard and Lorene Lucas play in their early toy automobile, c. 1913. The children's father, Doug Lucas, ran a general merchandise store in Irving from 1906-1931.
Date: 1913~
Partner: Irving Archives

Cotton Gin

Description: Cotton gin, Irving, Texas
Date: 1910~/1915~
Partner: Irving Archives

Couple in Union Bower

Description: An unidentified couple enjoys an afternoon in the Union Bower community, c. 1910. Union Bower was a farming community that today is part of eastern Irving.
Date: 1910~
Partner: Irving Archives

Doug Lucas Family in Surrey

Description: The Doug Lucas family in a surrey. Doug Lucas holds his daughter Lorene while his wife holds their son Howard.
Date: 1910~
Partner: Irving Archives

Dr. and Mrs. John Roberts

Description: Dr. John Roberts and his wife Etta Williams Roberts in their horse-drawn buggy. Dr. Roberts was one of Irving's first physicians. He died at the age of 35 in 1918. The couple had three sons, one of whom became a physician and was instrumental in the development of Irving's first hospital during the 1950s and 1960s.
Date: 1910~
Partner: Irving Archives

Early Irvingites Pose for Photo, c. 1915

Description: A group of early Irvingites pose for a photo, c. 1915. On the back of the photo is written: Kate, Early, Myrtle, and friends. They were Early, Kate, and Myrtle Story, and the photo was taken in front of the Story house at 304 S. Britain Road.
Date: 1915~
Partner: Irving Archives

Essie and Joe Keeling Family

Description: Essie and Joe Keeling were from two early Irving families. They married in 1910. The couple had three children. Here the couple is pictured with two of their children, Helen on the right and Weldon on the left, c. 1911-1912.
Date: [1911..1912]
Partner: Irving Archives

[Excavation Well]

Description: Photograph of men working on excavating a well. The photograph was taken from above. Rock and rubble dominate the landscape.
Date: July 5, 1910
Creator: Dallas (Tex.)
Partner: Dallas Municipal Archives

[Firemen on Steps of Courthouse]

Description: Photograph of seven men standing on the courthouse steps wearing dark firemen uniforms.
Date: 1912
Partner: Dallas Firefighters Museum
Back to Top of Screen