128 Matching Results

Search Results

[H. J. Berndt Children]

Description: Photograph of four children astride a donkey held by a young boy standing in front. This picture was taken at the home of Helvig and Laura Berndt. The donkey belongs to Niels Berndt. The four children of H. J. and Laura Berndt with an unknown boy play with the donkey.
Date: 1925~
Partner: Danish Heritage Preservation Society

[Berkman General Store]

Description: Photograph of a one story with stucco, flat roof, crenelated front facade, metal awning hung from rods across the front facade, and a wooden sidewalk under the awning. Built during the agricultural boom in Simonton in the early 20th century. This was the major commercial strip and contained the post office, the general store, and butcher shop.
Date: 1925
Creator: Liberda, Frank
Partner: Fort Bend County Libraries

[Group of Men on Farmland]

Description: Photograph of a group of five men posing on a dirt road in farmland. One man is standing on a piece of farming equipment. One man is standing on the left side of it, and three men are standing on the right. Barbed-wire fences surround both sides of the road.
Date: July 1925
Creator: Winkelmann's Studio
Partner: The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

[Mai-Fest Airplane Float]

Description: Photograph of a float made to look like an airplane. There are four people sitting in the float, and they are parked on the street in front of a house. Written under the float is "Mai-Fest 1925."
Date: May 1925
Creator: Winkelmann's Studio
Partner: The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

[Ahavath Sholom Sunday School Students]

Description: Photograph of the Ahavath Sholom Congregation Sunday School students. They are standing on the front steps outside the synagogue in the 800 block of Taylor Street in Fort Worth, Texas. From left to right, top to bottom, the students in the photograph are: Row 1: Betty Carshon, Rachel Kruger, Dora Laves, Lena Rovinsky, Udys Weinstein, Lily Dworkin, Joe Ray Schwartzberg. Row 2: Charlie Anton, Milton Mehl, Arthur Rosenbaum, Charlotte Ray, Lily Levine, Molly Finger, Freda Hurwitz, Rae Carshon, Mary Bliss, Sylvia Shosid. Row 3: Alex Victor, William Hurwitz, Irving Kershman, Julius Scolnic, Mary Resnick, Sophia Blum, Mary Herman, Ida Berg, Beatrice Frankrich, Reva Nebrat, Gertrude Ellis, Raymond Dan. Row 4: Sidney Deutch, David Tuck, Rubin Anton, Norma Resnick, Lily Alpert, Rose Chicotsky, Hannah Chicotsky, Anna Gordon, Martha Daiches. Row 5: Nathan Frankel, Abe Goldstein, Abe Shosid, Paul Herman, Johanna Winer, Sadie Rovinsky, Sarah Garston, Irving Rosenthal. Row 6: Sidney Marks, Minnie Snofsky, Esther Klimist, Rebecca Lutsky, David Bernstein, Max Perlman, Sarah Kruger, Rosalie Bliss. Row 7: Morris Schwartz, Grace Dworkin, Lola Bozokofsky, Hyman Jacobson, Cecil Bozokofsky, Helen Kassover, Sonia Gulila, Sam Weisblatt, Florence Kassover, Patricia Jacobson.
Date: 1925
Creator: Jernigan Studios
Partner: Fort Worth Jewish Archives

[Boys' woodworking class at John T. Allan Junior High School]

Description: Photograph of a boys' woodworking class at the Old Red Campus building of the John T. Allan Junior High School, formerly Stephen F. Austin High School. The room is crowded with work stations, where the boys are engaged in making various projects such as wooden stools and picture frames. The rounded masonry wall has arched windows, covered by translucent roller shades for indirect light. There are frames mounted between the windows displaying various tools and examples of metal work. The exposed wood truss ceiling has several belts and pulleys mounted on it. Examples of finished wooden stools stand on a wooden file case to the left in the photograph. Pictured are: Rufus Watterson, Malcolm Williams, Willie Earnest, Durwell Johnson, Sid Colquitt, Vincent Murray, Windom Burke, Louis Blenderman, Ernest Von Rosenberg, Harry Hafer, Henry Murray, Homer Wedig, ____ Yates, Francis Patton, Henry Paggi, ____ Brady. The teacher is Mr. N. S. Hunsdon. The building was completed in 1900 from the plans of Burt McDonald and James Reily. It was used as Austin High School until 1925, when it became the John T. Allan Junior High School. Classes were held here until 1956, when the school was destroyed by fire. A State of Texas Subject Marker was placed on the site in 1981 by the Texas Historical Commission.
Date: 1925/1930
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library