506,988 Matching Results

Search Results

[Boys on Bikes at Town Lake]

Description: Photograph of Auditorium Shores on Town Lake, looking east, with three boys riding bikes on a gravel path. A railroad bridge crosses the river behind them. Crest Inn is visible in the distance.
Date: 1972
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

[Town Lake's First Tree]

Description: Photograph of the planting of Town Lake's first tree by the Women's Architectural League. Two women and a man are gathered around the tree, the man holding a shovel. The state Capitol building, UT tower, and other buildings are visible in the background. The young woman in the photograph is Gail Swallow, President of Women's Architectural League.
Date: February 11, 1966
Creator: Vaughn, Ronald
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Southeast Corner of Denton Square

Description: A view of the business section on the southeast corner of the Denton Square around 1889. All the buildings were constructed of wood, with board sidewalks of even lengths to aid the pedestrian in keeping out of the mud and sand of the unpaved streets. Stores visible from the left to right are Denton Dry Goods Co., S. E. Search Hardware Store, and Craddocks.
Date: 1889
Partner: Denton Public Library

"Hello Dolly" 1972

Description: Photograph of performers on the set of "Hello Dolly" at Zilker Hillside Theater. L-R: Pam Fulton as Ermengarde, Carol Lucius as Dolly, Ben Wear as Ambrose.
Date: 1972
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

Mrs. Mary Anne Joseph at Elisabet Ney Museum

Description: Photograph of Mrs. Mary Anne Joseph looking at a book inscription reading, "Very sincerely bride Nell Taylor, Feb 16, 1929, Elisabet Ney Museum" in front of a classic bust. In 1892, European portrait sculptor Elisabet Ney (1833-1907) purchased property in Austin at 304 East 44th Street, established a studio named Formosa, and resumed her career as a noted sculptor. Ney sculpted and collected portraits of notable Texans and Europeans. Following Ney’s death in 1907, her friends preserved the studio and its contents as the Elisabet Ney Museum and established the Texas Fine Arts Association dedicated to her memory.
Date: February 2, 1968
Creator: Recreation Department, City of Austin
Partner: Austin History Center, Austin Public Library
Back to Top of Screen