739 Matching Results

Search Results

[Marshall Downtown Square]

Description: The north area of the Marshall downtown square from the perspective of the E. Houston-Bolivar street intersection. The stores to the right of the image front on Austin street, which runs east-west. Behind the commercial bank sign is a parking lot also known as the McPhail block. The old courhouse is out of view to the left.
Date: 2000~
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Street Scene, Marshall]

Description: West Houston Street, looking west from the downtown square. On the left is a partial view of the new county courthouse. Beyond it is the Arnot House, on both the federal and Texas registers of historic places. In the distance on the right can be seen the red brick bell tower of Trinity Episcopal Church.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Dr. Everett H. Leach, Harrison County Physician]

Description: Dr. Everett H. Leach, African-American physician, was born in Marshall in 1879 or 1881 (tombstone date). He entered Bishop College at age twelve. He received his medical degree from Flynt Medical College in New Orleans. Later he studied at Illinois Post-Graduate School in Chicago. He settled in the rural Leigh community east of Marshall, where he built a practice, erected a drug store and office, and owned two farms. Later he moved to Marshall and commuted to Leigh by automobile. According to his tombstone, he died March 31, 1946. He was buried in the Powder Mill Cemetery on FM 1997 in north Marshall.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Old Tombstone]

Description: An old tombstone in a Harrison County cemetery, unidentified, has the following inscription: "E. B. --------- Born January 7, 1831 Deceased May 5, 1858" The stone lies where it fell amid the vegetation.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Historic House, Marshall]

Description: The Wigfall House in Marshall, Texas has a Texas Medallion designating it as a Texas Historic Landmark. It is located at 510 West Burleson Street. It was constructed between 1854 and 1856 by Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Jordan. During the Civil War it was owned by Louis T. Wigfall, a colorful lawyer and politician whose name endures with the house. It originally had the symmetrical, single-level plan of four rooms and a central hall that is typical of the early East Texas house. Subsequent owners have transformed it into a one-and-one-half story Victorian cottage.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Historic Train Depot, Marshall]

Description: This train depot served the Texas & Pacific passenger traffic in Marshall when the city was a center for east-west transportation through Texas as well as a large railroad yard. Now the several trains which pass daily through the city are either T&P freight or AMTRAK. The depot has been restored by Marshall citizens and contains a museum. It is the centerpiece of the historic train district. The picture gives a side view of the building before its restoration.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Historic Train District, Marshall]

Description: The scene shows part of the historic train district of Marshall. In the right background, some freight cars and the upper story of the train depot appear behind the ticket office, which is in the right center. When passengers bought tickets, they descended into a tunnel which went underneath the tracks to the depot. In the left center is the Ginocchio Hotel, which served rail traffic for many decades. The picture dates from the 1960's. The hotel has been used for a number of venues, including restaurants and a museum, since the heyday of rail service. The All Things Good restaurant figures prominently in the image. The depot was restored during the 1990's and is now a railroad museum. Although the rail yards which made Marshall a rail center are long gone, the T&P railroad and AMTRAK still use the rail route with scheduled stops. The preservation of this historic area has been a highlight of community activity.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Maplecroft House, Marshall]

Description: Maplecroft is also known as the Starr Home, built by James Franklin Starr in the 1870s. The Starr family owned a land agency during the years when Marshall was a center of transportation and communication. The home was deeded to the state of Texas by the last Starr descendant living there. It is now open to the public and maintained by the Texas Historical Commission.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Marshall Hotel, Marshall]

Description: The multi-story Marshall Hotel is a landmark in downtown Marshall. It is located on E. Houston Street. The corner shown is E. Houston and Lafayette. The building to the left of the hotel is the Mahon Building, was an office building at the time of the picture, c1970. After many years of standing empty and neglected, the hotel is currently under restoration.
Date: 1970~
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Pemberton High School Students, Marshall]

Description: A group of students is gathered in front of Pemberton High School in Marshall. The photograph appears to be from the 1960s. This facade shows the new wing which was added to the front of the old building, creating a courtyard between. Steps shown in front lead directly to Rosborough Springs St. Pemberton became a ninth- grade school in 1970 and was finally merged with Marshall High School in 1988. The building was sold to Wiley College, which is located across the street. Pemberton was named for H. B. Pemberton, the noted African-American educator (1867-1944) who was founder of Central School on Border St., the first public school in Marshall for African-American students. In 1925 Central was moved to the Rosborough Springs site, designated a high school, and renamed in 1941 to honor Pemberton, its first principal.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Marshall University, Marshall]

Description: Marshall University was one of Marshall's earliest schools. It was authorized by Sam Houston in 1842. In 1843 Peter Whetstone, founder of Marshall, gave ten acres of land for educational purposes. The plot is located on the corner of W. Houston and College St. where Marshall Junior High School stands today. The building shown in the picture was contracted in 1851. It served the community until 1910, when it closed its doors. The school was never a true university. It served educational needs of more youthful boys and girls. A historical marker on the campus recognizes the school's history and contributions.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library

[Railroad Yards, Marshall]

Description: This newspaper clipping, date unknown, gives a view of the railroad yards which were a major industry in Marshall. The several tracks and necessary buildings for building, repair, and other railroad jobs are in the middle and background. In the center a steam engine puffs along a track, pulling a coal car and boxcars. A light pole and switch mechanisms are also visible.
Date: unknown
Partner: Marshall Public Library
Back to Top of Screen